Tharman : 1K income can buy HDB??

85 Posts 29 Posters 15.5k Views 1 Watching
      Lilac66

Daddy 😧
      Those pension scheme civil servants... Dun compare lah... Elite minority...

The 2-rm hdb... How many eligible and benefitted from the subsidies? Also not majority...

The rest who dun qualify one... Must catch up?
      :?

The grant of up to $40k is for any first time buyer of HDB flat qualifies. Not only 2rm , my niece who bought a 3rm new flat had grant of $35K also.

Additional CPF Housing Grant (AHG) Scheme is an additional subsidy over and above the prevailing CPF Housing Grant for Family.

The AHG is meant to provide help for the lower income Singapore citizen families with extra help who:
      Have a steady household income, and
      Need help to buy their first subsidised HDB flat

Eligible first-timers can use the AHG amount (up to $40,000) to offset the price of a resale or new HDB flat, thereby reducing the loan a flat buyer needs

Amount of Additional CPF Housing Grant (AHG)

The amount of AHG you will be eligible for is graded based on your average gross monthly household income as follows:

Average Monthly Gross Household Income up to $5000* eligible for AHG with effect from 6 Feb 2009**

Household income (AHG)
      $1,500 or less ($40,000)
      $1,501 - $2,000 ($35,000 )
      $2,001 - $2,500 ($30,000)
      $2,501 - $3,000 ($25,000)
      $3,001 - $3,500 ($20,000)
      $3,501 - $4,000 ($15,000)
      $4,001 - $4,500 - ($10,000)
      $4,501 - $5,000 - ($ 5,000)

I know the $8 bypass surgery is a joke ..... because the details are missing, not that it does not exist, I agree

same for the $1000 monthly pay and being able to afford a HDB flat....sure, good that there are such grants to make sure the lower income families don't lose out ...... but the news reporting should not just shout the headline as if it is the norm and everyone earning $1000 can afford any HDB flat, eg resale exec apt in Bishan or Queenstown .....

sensational headlines, irresponsible reporting leaving out the other half or 3/4 of the truth.....

see, the government has proven yet another point - all these kiasu education has bred a generation of ksp who knows how to dig out the details and the remaining truth ..... give yourselves a pat on your back, guys .... :evil: :evil: :evil:

limlim

Likewise, this $1k/mth being able to afford a flat may seem like a joke but that does not mean it is not possible. It is being made possible just that most of us here do not fall into that bracket and thus will not experience it.

Why be so quick to call everything that the govt is trying to roll out a joke, or lame or a smoke screen?
          Why even mention it if it is not available to the general population?

The $1k/income can own HDB statement, I have no issues with it, bcoz it is available to the population, depending on the income which is acceptable to most pple.

But the $8 medical bill for surgery only applies to civil servant, why even use it as an example?

Then might as well say healthcare is FOC.. bcoz those who bought insurance plan don't have to pay a cent! Or bcoz some private companies paid everything for their employees.

So, everything in SG is cheap.. bcoz there are pple who don't need to pay a cent or pay very little.. end of story.

dorisp

....Likewise, this $1k/mth being able to afford a flat may seem like a joke but that does not mean it is not possible. It is being made possible just that most of us here do not fall into that bracket and thus will not experience it.

Why be so quick to call everything that the govt is trying to roll out a joke, or lame or a smoke screen?
            I agree with you.

Lilac66

Think we have to be realistic here. If you’re earning $1K/mth, you don’t possibly think about exec apt in Queenstown or other mature estates , do you?

We are saying at least the govt is trying to help the lower income young couples realise their dream of owning their own flats.

Lilac66:
                Think we have to be realistic here. If you're earning $1K/mth, you don't possibly think about exec apt in Queenstown or other mature estates , do you?

We are saying at least the govt is trying to help the lower income young couples realise their dream of owning their own flats.
                no issue with that

my point is about the reporting of the '$1000/mth can buy HDB flat' - many details are left out, and just inviting ridicules as most people know HDB flats are generally a few hundred thousand $$$

Lilac66

Well, then it's ST's problem with the news headlines just like how it claimed DPM asked Gerald Giam to \"catch up\".

But it wasn't as perceived. There was no belittling on DPM's part. As for Vikram, that's another story and another thread :evil:

HVR

Lilac66:

Think we have to be realistic here. If you're earning $1K/mth, you don't possibly think about exec apt in Queenstown or other mature estates , do you?

no issue with that

my point is about the reporting of the '$1000/mth can buy HDB flat' - many details are left out, and just inviting ridicules as most people know HDB flats are generally a few hundred thousand $$$

When the debate was on helping the poor and the 1k thingy came up shouldn't we already know it was referring to helping the poor? And not referring to general population.

Lilac66

raysusan:
                      What Minister Khaw didn’t say when clarifying Tharman’s “buying HDB flat on $1K pay”

http://www.tremeritus.com/2012/03/03/what-minister-khaw-didnt-say-when-clarifying-tharmans-buying-hdb-flat-on-1k-pay/
                      [quote]The mortgage payment, said Mr Khaw, can be fully paid through the applicant’s CPF, without incurring any additional monthly cash payments. Based on recent BTO launches, Mr Khaw noted that the median income for this group is about $1,400.

There are, of course, other conditions imposed by HDB for buying a two-room BTO flat. For example:

• You or your spouse must be in continuous employment for one year before the flat application
                      • You can only apply for this once
                      • You can only buy a 2 room flat direct from the HDB and your flat must be situated in a non-mature estate.

In the case of temporary workers, it may be hard to show to HDB that they have continuous employment for one year since they may be hopping from odd job to odd job in a one year period.

However, even if they have a permanent job paying $1,000 a month and, like what Mr Khaw said, their mortgage payment can be fully paid through CPF, without the need tor additional cash payments, what Mr Khaw didn’t say is the person must ensure continuous employment for the next 30 years. The monthly mortgage payment of about $150-200, which is covered entirely by CPF, necessitates that the HDB applicant takes a 30-year mortgage loan.

Should they be retrenched or should something untoward happen and they lose their jobs because of health reasons for example, these people will be particularly vulnerable and will find keeping up with payments difficult. And these group of people are indeed more vulnerable because they have a harder time competing with cheaper foreign workers at the lower end job market.

One reply in tremeritus echoes my sentiments..

Wolverine_X:
                      March 3, 2012 at 4:05 pm Wolverine_X(Quote)
                      I see no difference in the terms and conditions between a poor employee earning $1000 per month and a wealthier one earning $5000 per month. The former may buy a 2-room flat and sign a repayment contract of 30 years. The latter may buy a 5-room flat and likewise sign a 30 year repayment contract. If the former can lose his job, so can the latter. Both persons will be in trouble with HDB just the same, considering there is no savings for both persons. In fact, it’s easier to find employment paying $1000 per month than $5000 per month. End of the day, live within your means. As much as I pity poorer people, I’ve also seen them splurge their hard earned money on 4d, cigarettes and hookers. In fact, the casinos are frequently frequented by taxi drivers. A cabby himself told me this and said many of his friends have the membership card, costing $2000 per annum. So, who is really poor?

Like or Dislike: 5

Daddy D

I know the grants are for any first time buyer of HDB flat qualifies...

Actually more for 2-room hdbs.. from hdb infoweb... with Additional CPF Housing Grant (AHG) of $40,000 and Special CPF Housing Grant (SHG) of $20,000... That's $60K... very impressive.

The Non-Constituency MP was talking about younger Singaporeans from low-income households...
                        (he's also confused lah... is he saying younger SG with low-income parents, will also be low-income? Is he trying to speak for the poor younger SG? Or the younger SG's poor parents? :? )

How many of this group is eligible for 2-room hdb, with average gross monthly household income not exceed $2,000?

If it's younger SG, earn less than $2K... ask them buy 2-room hdb for what? Have more kids? Or stay with parents? Or both?

No-logic question with no-logic answer...
                        They just smoking one another in the debate?
                        🦆 :siam:

Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.

• 4 / 9