Tharman : 1K income can buy HDB??

85 Posts 29 Posters 15.5k Views 1 Watching
      dorisp

vicki:
      On the prudence note, so if the family has an income of $1k, isn't it 'un-prudence' to buy the flat???

So does that mean they can afford it but it's 'unprudent' to do so?

*wondering aloud*
      A roof over our head is a necessity. You either own one or you rent one. Given a choice, it is better for this family (income is $1k) to own one considering such high subsidy being available and possibility of upside capital appreciation is there.

On the flip side, an income of $8k and wanting a million dollar condo....suppose it is no longer just a roof over your head or basic necessity anymore. Hence the notion of \"prudence\" would preferably come into play. πŸ˜„

raysusan

just for laugh

http://a6.sphotos.ak.fbcdn.net/hphotos-ak-ash4/421342_367385766628192_158959720804132_1131260_1944403242_n.jpg\">

kamom

Yes, the thing about this $1K issue is the grant. If you get them, you can afford it but if you can't...then it's back to sq 1!

I think Tharman should have said...there are grants available and if you managed to get them, even with an income of $1K, you can still buy a 2-rm HDB flat.

Be specific, very specific. Yes, there are many grants but how many has qualified for it and how many has successfully received them.

Likewise for $8 bypass. Health insurances are aplenty but not all will insure you. My friend who only has a MVP has never been able to take up any good health insurance...how to get $8 bypass leh 🀷

Daddy D

http://www.straitstimes.com/BreakingNews/Singapore/Story/STIStory_775642.html

\"He earns $850 and owns a two-room flat
            Odd-job worker will save on rent when family moves to new home in Punggol...\"

Now ST goes 1 up... $850... I think they trying too hard to convince us...
            :faint:

soonlee.012396ng.012396resources-sg.012396com

Daddy 😧
              http://www.straitstimes.com/BreakingNews/Singapore/Story/STIStory_775642.html

\"He earns $850 and owns a two-room flat
              Odd-job worker will save on rent when family moves to new home in Punggol...\"

Now ST goes 1 up... $850... I think they trying too hard to convince us...
              :faint:

What about renovation, furnishings, electrical bills, daily meals????

Daddy D

And ST puts this para at the bottom of the report... Well done... :faint:

\"He decided to wait a bit because he wanted to build up his CPF account first. Now that he has bought a home, he feels the pressure of maintaining his CPF account so that the flat can be paid off.

'Some companies are cutting back on manpower and I'm scared that I may lose my job,' he said.\"

MrsSeah

If the calculation in ST is correct. I personally feel it is ok leh. Because if that guy live in a RENTAL flat, he need to pay $50-60 rental in CASH. But now he pay thru his CPF so he indirectly save $50-60 cash to pay for the town council fees (what that call, suddenly forget the name.). As for PUB, no matter you stay rental or purchased flat, you still have to pay. πŸ˜›

As for renovation, I personally feel, got money do more, no money do less. πŸ˜› They can just buy simple furniture and move over those in their rented flat if they don’t have enough money.

soonlee.012396ng.012396resources-sg.012396com

MrsSeah:
                    If the calculation in ST is correct. I personally feel it is ok leh. Because if that guy live in a RENTAL flat, he need to pay $50-60 rental in CASH. But now he pay thru his CPF so he indirectly save $50-60 cash to pay for the town council fees (what that call, suddenly forget the name.). As for PUB, no matter you stay rental or purchased flat, you still have to pay. πŸ˜›

As for renovation, I personally feel, got money do more, no money do less. πŸ˜› They can just buy simple furniture and move over those in their rented flat if they don't have enough money.
                    My point was for someone at that level of income, is probably not having any savings. All the money is used for daily basic needs and maybe not enough. How is he even going to do the most basic reno and furnishings?
                    Then eventually there will be repairs, maintenance, etc etc.

si bei kiasu

think they seriously need to go back to pri sch to learn their maths…

or they think singaporeans r naive?

hokkiengirl

Actually, if the family is determined to make it work, it is possible to afford the cheapest of renovations. For example, for my first flat, we didn’t do any tiling. We bought our own linoleum and I lay it on the floor myself. 25 bucks. No fancy tools needed. Just a sense of geometry and a pair of normal scissors. And there are organisations that help people get second-hand furniture (tables, chairs, etc) and appliances (washing machines, refrigerators, etc) for free. To me, as long as there is gas for cooking and running water, the family is good to go.

Because, what is the alternative? If I were the family with the 1k income, I would still want to try my best to own a flat and have a space of my own for my kids. And I would deal with the possible repairs and maintenance as they come, one day at a time.

Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.

• 6 / 9

aishikA
                        aishik