Maid to get weekly rest days

Scheduled Pinned Locked Moved Domestic Help
    482 Posts 97 Posters 226.5k Views 1 Watching
    • FunzF Offline
      Funz

mgnvr:

I am curious. If I give my maid 4 days off a week, does this mean I get to deduct from her pay? Or currently paying her $430 without day off. After renewal next year, it will be $430 minus $80?

Just trying to understand the new system. Is my calculation wishful thinking? :roll:

I also want to give maid days off to cut cost, but the maid does not want. Who can help employers to enforce this ?

She reasons that when she goes out : she does not earn the extra $20 a day, got to pay for transport (taxi fare if come back late by taxi), eat out $$, etc etc...not only did not have extra income but got to pay out some more ...

A lot of us interpret rest day as the day for the maids to go galivanting. For my helper, told her it's her off day, whether she goes out or stay in, that is her choice. But if she chooses to stay in that does not mean I will pay her the additional amount. And since she is off, she does not have to do the normal chores or prepare meals. When she wants to go out, she lets me know and she needs to be back latest by 9pm.

LOLMum

zmonster1969:
        [

---
        With all maids granted a day off by 2015, industry players said there is a need to ramp up social services for such workers.

Ms Tan explained: \"Foreign workers, when they have a day off, they do not have many places to go. So when they congregate in numbers in certain locations of Singapore, it does cause a lot of concern to the people around.

\"This is where I would like the ministry to address this issue of looking into social amenities, support services, places where foreign workers can go to recreate, learn, places where they can pursue healthy activities during their days off.\"
        ---

And they even want the gahmen to take good care of the maids during their day off so that they stay out of trouble. And this really irks me. :mad:

Build more budget hotels?

jtoh

What about public holidays?

Is that day off or what?
          Good question. It wasn't stated so assume public holiday is not official day off?

Currently I give my maids days off on Christmas and Easter etc as they're Catholic. And I give them some money to go have lunch and fun with their friends. So they get a day off plus money. Wah not bad hor?

• BeansproutB Offline
            Beansprout

Dawnie:
            What is the market rate if domestic helper does not want day off? $20 or $30? My helper is now getting $450 with 1 day off, I just renewed her contract last Dec.

Dawnie- Me too. I have just renewed contract and adjust her mthly pay to $500 with 1 day off. The new policy did not address our issue.

What about public holidays?

Is that day off or what?

Good question. It wasn't stated so assume public holiday is not official day off?

Currently I give my maids days off on Christmas and Easter etc as they're Catholic. And I give them some money to go have lunch and fun with their friends. So they get a day off plus money. Wah not bad hor?

jtoh, can I apply to be your maid ?

I promise not to have hand phone, not to have boy friend, not to bring them back to your house,

I promise to be good good. Can ?

LOLMum

[quote=\"LOLMum\"]What about public holidays?

Is that day off or what?

jtoh, can I apply to be your maid ?

I promise not to have hand phone, not to have boy friend, not to bring them back to your house,

I promise to be good good. Can ?[/quote]
                I would like to work for mgnvr cos she is thinking of giving her maid 4 day off per week 😉 Especiaaly cannot deduct day off pay, this is good.

peapot

Now that everyone is talking about this, I think current maids or maids who just renew their contract will be happy working for me for 1 off day. They will insist to follow market standards which means it doesn’t matter whether this new rule apply to current maid or next year new maid. They will want equal footing much like the salary hike of $450. Cannot get what they want, transfer loh.

nms1

Beansprout:
                    Dawnie:

What is the market rate if domestic helper does not want day off? $20 or $30? My helper is now getting $450 with 1 day off, I just renewed her contract last Dec.

Dawnie- Me too. I have just renewed contract and adjust her mthly pay to $500 with 1 day off. The new policy did not address our issue.

The news last night stated that the pay in lieu for an off-day is based on their salary. So for a maid earning $400 it is $16 i.e. 400/26 (no. of working days in the month) = $15.4 (which somehow is rounded up to 16). It would be $20 for a maid earning $500.

tigger88

Weekend is the busiest at home for families with young kids. If my maid has weekly off on Sunday, I will be totally shagged out by end of the day handling 4 young kids.

If my kids are older, I dun mind letting my maid off weekly but dun think is possible for now. Guess no choice but to compensate her $ and probably let her have 2 off days per mth when she renew her contract next year.

happy to be mum

tigger88:
                        Weekend is the busiest at home for families with young kids. If my maid has weekly off on Sunday, I will be totally shagged out by end of the day handling 4 young kids.

If my kids are older, I dun mind letting my maid off weekly but dun think is possible for now. Guess no choice but to compensate her $ and probably let her have 2 off days per mth when she renew her contract next year.
                        agree with tigger88!! weekend is the busiest at home for families with young kids! i feel like a cab driver during weekend, rushing here and there!! so who think for employers?

I am okay to give every Sundays off as I have given my previous maid that and PH too...but with this new rulings, there will be loopholes when not good maids will be asking for compensation when they \"purposely\" don't want to go out on their days off. To me, days off = not at the place of work, that is your home. You think maid will feel comfortable to have days off at your home, during nothing and you cook and wash up?

Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.

• 4 / 49