Tharman : 1K income can buy HDB??

85 Posts 29 Posters 15.5k Views 1 Watching
      LOLMum

it seems all very rosy now. couldnt help but wonder what it is gonna be like few years down the road.

should the owner default inpayment, i hope hdb would work something out with him and not forcefully take the flat back and yet unable to let him rent a flat.

• Z Offline
        znzyzyzx

I am just wondering aloud , dont meant to be sarcastic or mean. I see that guy quite young and well built leh , how come can only be an odd job worker that make $850 only ? I think even mcdonald delivery man will earn more than that , no ?

kiddo

znzyzyzx:
          I am just wondering aloud , dont meant to be sarcastic or mean. I see that guy quite young and well built leh , how come can only be an odd job worker that make $850 only ? I think even mcdonald delivery man will earn more than that , no ?

There are employer who will pay this kind of salary and on the other hand
          there are employee who are willing to take this pay,
          1] maybe they have no skill
          2] they donno their worth
          3] quite content with a paid job
          4] such job because of low pay - less stress too, mundane
          and maybe the chap is happy.

Decent job decent pay to him , no qualms about what future holds ........

HDB has proven to us that earning less than $1k per month can still own a HDB flat and there is potential for this to appreciate in value…why are we still so cynical ?

Mdm Koh

The story on the CPF website has more information.

http://www.cpf.gov.sg/imsavvy/infohub_article.asp?readid=%7B197507858-11990-1669427752%7D

I think that the statement the Minister made rests on a number of assumptions, such as that the house-owner would be able to work until he is more than 60 years old and that he and his family members would never require money for emergencies. :yikes:

I thought that the leaders should discuss the factors which could make or break the flat-owning plans of Singaporeans, instead of paint a rosy picture and gloss over the possible pitfalls.

Mdm Koh

there is potential for this to appreciate in value.....

That is also an assumption. πŸ˜‰

Singaporeans are buying now when the prices are high. We do not know for sure that prices will go up further in future.

Mdm Koh:

Singaporeans are buying now when the prices are high. We do not know for sure that prices will go up further in future.

yes yes, and that is the beauty of CPF .... if there is a negative equity for the HDB flat, HDB cannot like commercial bank enforce a top up or foreclose the mortgage because CPF has first charge, and even in case of bankruptcy, HDB flat cannot be repossessed ...

hokkiengirl

UncleLim:
                    hokkiengirl:

Actually, if the family is determined to make it work, it is possible to afford the cheapest of renovations. For example, for my first flat, we didn't do any tiling. We bought our own linoleum and I lay it on the floor myself. 25 bucks. No fancy tools needed. Just a sense of geometry and a pair of normal scissors. And there are organisations that help people get second-hand furniture (tables, chairs, etc) and appliances (washing machines, refrigerators, etc) for free. To me, as long as there is gas for cooking and running water, the family is good to go.

Because, what is the alternative? If I were the family with the 1k income, I would still want to try my best to own a flat and have a space of my own for my kids. And I would deal with the possible repairs and maintenance as they come, one day at a time.

Hokkiengirl, I have personally seen homes like that. Some are even more extreme. No linoleum - plain cement floor. No beds, only mattresses. No TV. No gas - still using charcoal stove. Save water bills by getting water from void deck or multi storey car park. Unfortunately if people have to get by in that state, they usually have some other problems as well like having a chronic sick or mentally ill person at home.

Yes, there are actually more cases like that in Singapore than we are aware of. That's where it irks me when people complain that they are 'poor' cos they don't go on holidays every year and can't take cabs often anymore. Hello?? As a society, we should start counting our blessings and looking at how to help our community instead of constantly griping. And doing good doesn't always have to start with the government. Sorry ah, didn't mean to sound preachy.

hokkiengirl

kiddo:
                      hokkiengirl:

Actually, if the family is determined to make it work, it is possible to afford the cheapest of renovations. For example, for my first flat, we didn't do any tiling. We bought our own linoleum and I lay it on the floor myself. 25 bucks. No fancy tools needed. Just a sense of geometry and a pair of normal scissors. And there are organisations that help people get second-hand furniture (tables, chairs, etc) and appliances (washing machines, refrigerators, etc) for free. To me, as long as there is gas for cooking and running water, the family is good to go.

Because, what is the alternative? If I were the family with the 1k income, I would still want to try my best to own a flat and have a space of my own for my kids. And I would deal with the possible repairs and maintenance as they come, one day at a time.

hokkiengirl:
                      More cheap reno info: yup, we had a painting party for the first flat. Had friends over and we painted my little home in a day. Sourced second-hand furniture from relatives and friends. Was not shy about accepting stuff. Had no curtains. Used plastic boxes to store things. We didn't install a cooking hob. Used tank gas with one of those portable cooker tops (don't know the proper term).We were still ok, and the reno was very cheap. Can't remember how much, but terribly affordable by anyone's standard.

It's about making the best with what you have. And there is actually a lot of cheap furniture to be found in the neighbourhood shops. I maintain that creating a decent home can be done even on a very tight budget. It's all about expectations.
                      Kapo mode :oops: here which Era are you in ... if the XY generation,
                      you very very rare and I have to \"Ta- pei\" :salute:
                      your 'never say die\" Attitude :snuggles:
                      Way to go hokkiengirl :boogie:

Thank you you!! πŸ˜„

I am a Gen X-er. My friends and I kid ourselves that we are a dying breed in Singapore; the 'suck-up-whatever-life-throws-at you' type. Heh heh I suspect it is because of my hardy peasant stock. We grew up on our elderly relatives' stories about how they survived WW2, etc. The classic eat-sweet-potatoes stories. It's kinda hard to be princessy in that kind of environment. If I try to act atas, my mudder would probably smack me on the head! πŸ˜‚

Lilac66

Mdm Koh:

It is not an assumption cos we are talking about buying a susidised flat from HDB. Some resale 2 rm flats in central areas are fetching $200+K.

Anyway, these people do not need to service the loan for 30 years as they can sell the flats after 5 years, cash out. Then buy another subsidised flat as every Singaporean has 2 opportunities to buy direct from HDB .

Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.

• 8 / 9