Maid to get weekly rest days
:goodpost:
MOM should just treat maids as working adults. If they want to come to Singapore to work, they have to get their own loan and settle that with the agency. Do not get the employers involved. Employment in Singapore is per contract only. When the maid doesn't want to work for that employer anymore, she has to return to her home country. No transfers permitted. Employers are only responsible for their monthly salary, food and lodging while working in the household. Give them every Sunday off. But the maid is responsible for her own actions. If she gets pregnant, runs away, wants to go home etc, she bears the cost of it.
Employers should not be held responsible if a maid gets pregnant or runs away. We should not be responsible for their loans. It's because the onus is on us that the maids have the upper hand. Treat them like the working adults that they are and hopefully they'll feel responsible for their own actions instead of scheming on how to take advantage of employers and the system. -
You need to keep calling them to chase them for it.
My previous agent gave me back after about one and a half month , i think. After i called and told them off a few times. But of course the agency fee is gone, you can only get back what you paid in advance for the maid, and may be some portion of insurance fee.1amber:
I am now waiting for my refund from the maid agency because my ex maid threw in the towel and the replacement maid didn't turn up after 2 months of futile waiting. I insisted on canceling rather than choose another maid so I'll see what happens. If the agent delays I will have to approach these bodies.LOLMum:
[quote=\"watervapourbaby\"]
It is already very frustrating for employers who have to go through all these but yet when we feedback to MOM, it seems like nothing can be done.
I wonder, who can speak up for us then?
i am not against giving maids day off. but there are many issues which employers have with their maids and have no one to turn to for help.
mom website said employers can approach these agencies for help.
but frankly these agencies are just giving employers the yo-yo treatment. none of them have spoken up for employers or fight for fairer treatment for employers.
Disputes with your Foreign Domestic Worker
Disputes might arise because of misunderstandings and differing expectations.
When these happen, you should first try to resolve them with your FDW. Even if there is suspicion that she might have committed a misdeed or crime, you should not take matters into your own hands by meting out physical or other forms of punishment.
If you need assistance, please contact your employment agency or MOM which offers help to resolve such employment disputes. The conciliation service is provided free-of-charge. Please contact MOM at 6438 5122.
Disputes with your employment agency
If you have found your agency's service unsatisfactory, or if you have a contractual dispute with your employment agency, you may seek mediation services from one of two accreditation bodies in Singapore, the Association of Employment Agencies, and CaseTrust. Complete and send the following form (mailing address inside) to MOM:
Feedback on employment agency
Issues for which you can seek assistance include:
•Delay in application/ cancellation/ placement of Foreign Workers
•Overcharging
•Refund of loan and fees
•Unsatisfactory level of services provided
To identity which accreditation body your agency is accredited with, please look up our employment agency directory. If your employment agency is not accredited with any accreditation body, you may approach CASE for assistance to resolve your disputes.
Contact details of the accreditation bodies:
1) Association of Employment Agencies (Singapore)
a.Contact Details: +65 6836 2618
b.Email: [email protected]
c.Address: Blk 9 Julan Kukoh #03-77 Singapore 160009
2)CaseTrust
a.Contact Details: +65 6461 1800
b.Email: [email protected]
c.Address : Blk 170 Ghim Moh Road #05-01 Ulu Pandan Community Building Singapore 279621
All in all, in the past 2 years I have been so inconvenienced in between changing a few maids. Almost cumulative of 8 months without a maid while all the procedure and application processes required such a long time. I have had to cut back on my own business to take care of my household. This is economic loss to me not to mention having to pay for all the crap that govt wants me to bear for the maids even when they choose to quit or cannot perform the job.[/quote] -
these boys are smart too, such things are not unheard of.[/quote]noticed that most , if not all such cases, involved bangladash men. How come ah ? May be Spore should ban bangladash fw, then we would be more at ease to let our maids go for off.
Really? I thought it was the boys who pay the maids for their services, their handphones etc.jtoh:
[quote=\"LOLMum\"]yeah they are paid instead.
read in papers that some maids were so in love with these boys that they were willing to pay for new phones, clothes and even gave $$ to the boys to send home.
:siao: -
yeah lor, why not pick an angmoh? can marry up right? maybe even can bring whole family to ang moh's country and entitled to all the benefits there. :? no matter what, most angmoh here earns more and definitely wont ask from maids unless he is a pimp.
we do have many pretty maids with nice figures.
i read all those angmohs bashing local employers for treating the maids like slaves, so why not help them one step more by marrying them :? -
anybody did a search who are the owners of those maid agencies ?
tan family?
:evil: -
That's why some maids prefer to work for ang mo families. More freedom plus the opportunity to hook up with the employer and his friends. My ang mo friend who has an ang mo husband was so upset with her maid when she paraded herself in skimpy clothes when they were having a party with their angmo friends.yeah lor, why not pick an angmoh? can marry up right? maybe even can bring whole family to ang moh's country and entitled to all the benefits there. :? no matter what, most angmoh here earns more and definitely wont ask from maids unless he is a pimp.
we do have many pretty maids with nice figures.
i read all those angmohs bashing local employers for treating the maids like slaves, so why not help them one step more by marrying them :? -
i agree to the idea of having maids coming into our house to work from Monday to Friday at fixed hours, like 8 to 5 or 9 to 6pm. Then we won’t have to see their face much. They can stay outside in hostels provided by the most wonderful maid agencies or the gov’t bodies. On Sat and Sun it’s up to them whether they want to work part time or continue with the same employer again. This way we have our privacy and they can have their off day. Since maid agencies make so much money from employers, they should be responsible for providing the accomodation.
And what happen to them over the weekends will not be employer’s problem as the maid will now be consider only as our "part time" maid. The agencies will be responsible for them. Turn the table around. Ha…Yahoo!!!
Don’t think my plan will ever come true! -
peapot:
in this case, there is hope for my business proposal to set up a household services company \"Maids on Wheels\"....you be the first customer okay ?i agree to the idea of having maids coming into our house to work from Monday to Friday at fixed hours, like 8 to 5 or 9 to 6pm. Then we won't have to see their face much. They can stay outside in hostels provided by the most wonderful maid agencies or the gov't bodies. On Sat and Sun it's up to them whether they want to work part time or continue with the same employer again. This way we have our privacy and they can have their off day. Since maid agencies make so much money from employers, they should be responsible for providing the accomodation.
And what happen to them over the weekends will not be employer's problem as the maid will now be consider only as our \"part time\" maid. The agencies will be responsible for them. Turn the table around. Ha....Yahoo!!!
Don't think my plan will ever come true! -
Every month, on average, a Singapore maid will get:
- Basic salary: SGD400-500/month; (Now the bar may be raised again soon.)
- Free decent accommodation: SGD700/month (one HDB room rental market rate)
- Free Food: SGD300.00/months
- Free toilette supplies, free utilities: SGD100/month
- Free medical checkup regularly, free doctor seeing/medicine, free insurance: SGD50/month?
- Salary increment every one or two years guaranteed; (in recent few years, the salary hike was unheard of before.)
- Bonus at end of service contract at most cases;
- Free return tickets and paid home leave at least every two years;
- Not to mention the free gifts, birthday/new year hong bao, family trips/outings we brought our maid along...
- the list goes on ... (additions are welcome)
Who says maid is earning \"tiny teeny peanuts\" here in Signapore?? Please do the calculation above again! Look at the PACKAGE as a whole!! Does our new poly grads boys get all of the above? Do our poor old aunties/uncles working at food courts have these?? are all your own people well taken care of? Who will pity those FTWM or FTHM who work around the clock with no helping hands, Monday to Sunday without enough rest themselves??? MINISTRY OF MAID????!!!!
Maids are overworked, ha! All maids? Are you sure? Everyday when I came home from work late at night with no OT pay, my maid (Thank God, that's my ex-maid) greeted me wearing facial mask she made for herself and looked far more energetic than me. (She took afternoon naps after kids goes to school in the afternoon.) Example, when mopping floors, she was taking her own sweet time and singing while mopping. Excuse me, can I sing while I am working in the office please? The tensity and flexibility of being a homemaker, got it?
So, who is toiling here??? What about our human right as a worker? We make sure my maid gets enough rest (and most of them did), bonus, salary increment.... and who is there to care about our welfare?
Someone argues our boss never gives a dxxx of what we do over after work. Hellooooooo~~~~ If I live in with my boss's family, she/he will surely start to care. Please understand that for live-in maids and bosses, the employment relationship is so special where employers shoulder huge responsibility (Security bond, repatriation cost....) which does not exist else where.... please do not do the apple-and-pear comparison any more. Policy of uniformity is so unjustified here. Please note my boss is not \"held ransom\" for my wrong doings outside office hours, right?
I am not against letting maid having enough rest at all, don't get me wrong. But your Noble Highness'es, please do a better homework and try come out better policy package which is more sensible and well-balanced.
Please do NOT pass all the potential problems to us and force it down our throats, while you successfully saved your \"face\" (congratulations!) and happily collecting levies and doing almost nothing to help us!
A big thank you indeed! :gloomy:
Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.