Scheduled Pinned Locked Moved Domestic Help
    10.3k Posts 915 Posters 3.6m Views 1 Watching
      Peace Charlie

Ice mochi, d get looks like saint angel. But in her mind n heart is not every seconds will be up to something las Dec we evebought her along for holiday she can give us black face throughout d trip say she is tired Wat abt me I still got to keep a lookout 4kids she happy resting

Peace Charlie

HI ice mochi, sorry for the typo mistake was using my hp to type thus so many typo… weekends are my busiest schedule cos bringing kids for their tuitio mind u i normally let the helper stay at home cos weekdays she has been helping me bringing the kids to n back from sch thus dont want to tire her out end up tiring myself up.

what abt u…got any helper to help u out?

icemochi

peace,

i got 1 helper. not fantastic but she only gif me a little trouble compared to urs with a huge attitude. my helper works 6am-8am cleaning/laundry then the rest of the day is with kid/cooking, rest at 9pm.
          She herself say she feels v relaxed and no need to go out every week.
          ur one from Hk, probably used to having a lot of freedom there so not used to ur rules. Again, the agent should had countercheck to make sure she can accept ur rules.

i oso v scare to get such maids and when i ask them lots of qns myself when i interview. dun want to trust the money-face agent.

Power Puff

:faint: Seems that some ex-HK and Taiwan maids have arrogant attitudes and behaviour. My last Fil maid (ex-Taiwan) casually remarked how her employer (elderly lady with lots of free time) used to cook for her, let her watch all those Taiwan variety shows and Korean drama, even bought tickets for her to attend pop concerts. I took everything she said with a pinch of salt coz was thinking, if she had such a good time in Taiwan, why didn't she return, why come to Singapore? Anyway, I had her repatriated, read Tamarind's advice, and screened through countless potential maids and agencies, reading reviews, insisting on ex-Sin maids so that I could check their employment histories using their WP no.

You'll be surprised at how many ex-Sin maids (and agents) lie about their employment and reasons for leaving service (with less than 2 years in each home). Many of them cited \"Ah Gong/ Ah Ma died so no need me anymore\"; \"Sir/ Mam lost job\"; \"my father/ mother passed away\" etc. One potential maid I'd interviewed confessed that she left before contract was up because she decided she wanted a day off every month, after already agreeing to be compensated, then pushed her luck, wanted another day off so employer fired her. She had the cheek to tell me her friends told her to come back to Singapore to work coz can ask for higher pay (from old salary of $300 to $450!) A maid even asked if I had another helper coz she used to work in a home with 2 helpers - the other one did most housework while she focused on taking care of children. She was probably one of the many maids one can see at the playground happily chatting away with other maids while her caucasian employers' children run around like wild monkeys. When I said no, she would handle housework, and mind my kids whenever I'm busy, she said, \"Oh, then maybe I don't want\" !!!! :faint:

Peace Charlie

Hi every1, I would like to know if the helper says she wants togo back to agent n still ve 3-4 mths loan do i get back the loan $$$ n can i cancel the WP if the agent do not get employer for the helper within the 1-2 weeks or do i jus cancel it upon sending her to the agent? i do not want any replacement n do i send d helper back to the agent or wait for the agent to call (believed they will nvr call jus like the previous incident) i had to pester them every two days then action r done, pls advise…really sleepless night for a week liao…

daranic

Peace Charlie:
                Hi every1, I would like to know if the helper says she wants togo back to agent n still ve 3-4 mths loan do i get back the loan $$$ n can i cancel the WP if the agent do not get employer for the helper within the 1-2 weeks or do i jus cancel it upon sending her to the agent? i do not want any replacement n do i send d helper back to the agent or wait for the agent to call (believed they will nvr call jus like the previous incident) i had to pester them every two days then action r done, pls advise...really sleepless night for a week liao...

You will have to check with your agent if a refund is possible if you don't want to get another maid from them. As for cancelling the maid's WP, you can't do it cos after cancelling it, she has to return back to her home country which will definitely result in your losing the rest of the loan.

Peace Charlie

I jus called the $ sucker agent, refused to talk to the helper…called her crazy woman…I talked to my helper told her wat i can do is called the other agent if she really not interested to work in my hse but she claimed she wanted to work but not happy to see my black face on sunday which she did something to make me unhappy told her off to correct her mistake n that she say not happy to see my black face if i jus bring her to agent wat is the consequence will they jus take her back or i need to bring a time bomb home again…very worried…i ve yet told her that i caught her wandering off during the day when my kids are in sch n using my girl’s hp amounting to high bills …wat shd i do v v headache!

Power Puff

Hi Peace Charlie,

What a headache for you and family.

I would first scrutinize the contract/ agreement first, particularly the clauses related to termination of service and loan refund…check if there is a pro-rated loan refund if maid hasn’t paid off the loan during the first 7/8 months, whether you have to pay any food and lodging while maid is out of your house…I’ve never allowed any of my previous maids to be transferred, would rather send them back since they don’t intend to take their jobs seriously. Also didn’t want agent to pocket more fees and let another employer suffer.
                    Once you know exactly where you stand, be firm in your negotiation with the agent.

Is your maid agent accredited? Find out which accredition body it is associated with, get your facts and documents ready and lodge a complaint. Bear in mind the maid can also complain about you abusing her and run to embassy to get sympathy so be careful.

In the meantime, look for part-time local help if necessary, and immediately begin your search for another full-time helper (through a better agent of course) if you feel you really need one. It will take months before maid arrives. My Indo-helper took 4 months to arrive despite starting my search after booking air tic for ex-maid .I recall it was during the Ramadan so no maids wanted to come to Singapore.

Power Puff

Peace Charlie,

Even if you have no choice and have to pay for food and lodging for the maid, do so…After all, she won’t have the mood to work for you and may even run away. Get the maid out of your home first and let agent be responsible for her…think about your family’s safety (if maid doesn’t get her way, may try to hold young kids at ransom) and property (she may feel frustrated and intentionally damage the things at your house). Remember to check all her luggage just before she leaves your home. In the meantime, don’t let her out of your sight or house, and keep vulnerable members away from her. An acquaintance found some of her belongings stashed in a plastic bag inside a bush right outside her house. Apparently, maid had stolen the things and probably arranged for another maid friend living nearby to keep the stuff for her to retrieve on off day.

icemochi

Peace,

their mentality is "work for pay only, feel happy is impt"
                        our mentality working also like that de. if boss face black to me, will affect my face black too.
                        u can keep ur ger’s hp and tell her nicely, u have to pay money for the house too and ur pay is limited. if she dun work, she can’t save money to spend too.
                        Since she is going away when ur girls are in school, i think she is just too used to freedom. My ex-maid used to be like that, but i had her promise every now and then to make sure she do the housework, take care of my kid and value her body, not to let men take advantage of her.

my current maid is more of an introvert, not much friends but face is mostly black black. But she do the housework very fast and well.

Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.

• 682 / 1032