MOE Relooking P1 registration - Too much priority to alumni

2.0k Posts 174 Posters 456.1k Views 1 Watching
    • laughingcatL Offline
      laughingcat

IDad:

Not really, clan and church should really be blood ancestors....not distant relative.....direct lineage. Same as alumni IMO.
      Really :siao: lah.

Are we encouraging the society to have school only for \"Tan\"? Mixed blood cannot because not pure? :siao: don't know what is all this driving at 🀷 if that is the case, then might as well self fund your own school then. No need to have government support then. :yikes:

dorisp

So it seems for every argument, there are supporters from both sides.

If the two sides are \"unconditional priority for alumni including >2km\" vs \"priority by distance for others <1km\", then very soon, there will not be two sides anymore. This is because at the rate things are going and if policy makers do not step in soon, there are strong possibilities that only 0 places are left for 2B and 2C after the alumni 2A and all alumni will be balloting based on distance. The school will be totally out of bound for non alimni regardless of how near you stay.

If this is a desirable and acceptable outcome for the authority that unconditional priorities be given to alumni no matter how far they stay and not look after those non alumni staying very near the schools, then there is no point debating anymore because by simply keeping status quo, we do know somehow, it has already been decided that both sides are not equal.

limlim

nlimm:
          Lyddon:

[quote=\"puff\"]
          My view is:
          Alumni is directly link to the school ( like your own children)
          Under 2b u must be first link clan / church n church/ clan is link to sch ( is like distance relative)
          Under 2b PV . U r not related but choose to help out ( is like adopted child)
          Under 2c . <1km ( just like next door neighbour)

About alumni who stay more than 2 km fr sch ( is like your kids who married oversea although cannot visit you often but still deserve your love like the other sibling)

Dun flame me :siam: :siam: :siam:

Brillantly illustrated.
          :goodpost: :goodpost:

Beautiful illustration:)[/quote]yeah.. The more I read it, the more I like it..

It is indisputable that the \"connection\" is there and REAL.. like children.. and alma mater.. as pointed out by puff.

But the issue we're discussing now is.. distance OR \"connection\"....

We're not discussing whether there is \"connection\" or not, but whether connection warrants a priority over other merits (like shorter distance for the welfare of kids.)..

Say, a company. If it is private limited (Like private school), we have no say if the Boss decides to pass the seats to his offspring..

But, if it is listed company (Like Govt School).. Can the retired management team simply pass the vacancies to his offsprings based on \"Connection\" ONLY, or have the successor be evaluated base on other factors?

IDad

laughingcat:
            IDad:

Not really, clan and church should really be blood ancestors....not distant relative.....direct lineage. Same as alumni IMO.

Are we encouraging the society to have school only for \"Tan\"? Mixed blood cannot because not pure? :siao: don't know what is all this driving at 🀷 if that is the case, then might as well self fund your own school then. No need to have government support then. :yikes:

That's my point.... :siao: right? To me, 'Alumni scheme' is exactly propogating the same thing, ie a school only for the `Tans' , only in this case its not Alumni connection but clan and church connection.

My post was directed at those who alluded `Alumni' is akin to `own children', thus is justified to be accorded earlier priority and `clan/ church' are `distant relative'. I disagree: In fact, without clan and church support in the beginning, such schools wouldn't have existed and no way would there be alumni. And furthermore, many clans and churches are still contibuting time,and programes (not just money through donation/ fund raising) to the running of such schools. So no way clan or church memebers are `distant relatives'....they are in fact direct ancestors and applicable to all down the line....

Are we encouraging a society that ignores its roots :roll:

dorisp

yeah.. The more I read it, the more I like it..

It is indisputable that the \"connection\" is there and REAL.. like children.. and alma mater.. as pointed out by puff.

We're not discussing whether there is \"connection\" or not, but whether connection warrants a priority over other merits (like shorter distance for the welfare of kids.)..

Say, a company. If it is private limited (Like private school), we have no say if the Boss decides to pass the seats to his offspring..

But, if it is listed company (Like Govt School).. Can the retired management team simply pass the vacancies to his offsprings based on \"Connection\" ONLY, or have the successor be evaluated base on other factors?
              :goodpost:

Another brilliant way to put it.....simple and clear. πŸ†’

puff

IDad:
                laughingcat:

[quote=\"IDad\"]

That's my point.... :siao: right? To me, 'Alumni scheme' is exactly propogating the same thing, ie a school only for the `Tans' , only in this case its not Alumni connection but clan and church connection.

My post was directed at those who alluded `Alumni' is akin to `own children', thus is justified to be accorded earlier priority and `clan/ church' are `distant relative'. I disagree: In fact, without clan and church support in the beginning, such schools wouldn't have existed and no way would there be alumni. And furthermore, many clans and churches are still contibuting time,and programes (not just money through donation/ fund raising) to the running of such schools. So no way clan or church memebers are `distant relatives'....they are in fact direct ancestors and applicable to all down the line....

Are we encouraging a society that ignores its roots :roll:[/quote]
                church/clan members is like distant relative coz u r not the founder himself but only related to the founder.

• laughingcatL Offline
                  laughingcat

IDad:

ζœ‰ζ²‘ζœ‰ζžι”™ eh. In this era, still looking at ones roots?

Our President Tan don't even visit his grandparents grave leh. We are a society of doing it for oneself. Gone are those days leh.

puff

yeah.. The more I read it, the more I like it..

If a govt sch is like listed company ... The next successor will be most likely base on capability n not connection . Base on the child capability on p1 enrollment is that wat you wish for?

Who has priority in p1 registration?
                    Phase 1 = your children who r still dependent on u
                    Phase 2a = your children all grown up
                    Phase 2b (church/clan)= distant relative like cousins/nephews
                    Phase 2b (PV)= not adopted more like godchildren (they already have their own parents but also like to be your child)
                    Phase 2c ( >1km)= next door neighbour

Now if you know that you r dying n writing a will who will have priority over your $? For me, I will first give to my children who r still dependent (phase 1) next then will be for my grown up children(phase2a) , after tat for my relative n godchildren (phase 2b) ... If still got more to spare then maybe my next door neighbour ( phase 2c)who has always help me watch my hse n water my plant when I go on holiday :evil: So I see no flaws in current system :siam: :siam: :siam:

Of course if this system stay your next door neighbour will be unhappy n feels that θΏœδΊ²δΈε¦‚θΏ‘ι‚». πŸ˜†

dorisp

puff:

Now if you know that you r dying n writing a will who will have priority over your $? For me, I will first give to my children who r still dependent (phase 1) next then will be for my grown up children(phase2a) , after tat for my relative n godchildren (phase 2b) ... If still got more to spare then maybe my next door neighbour ( phase 2c)who has always help me watch my hse n water my plant when I go on holiday :evil: So I see no flaws in current system :siam: :siam: :siam:

Of course if this system stay your next door neighbour will be unhappy n feels that θΏœδΊ²δΈε¦‚θΏ‘ι‚». πŸ˜†
                      True and correct if the above dying person lives by his own right. If he is an individual and anwers to no one, then it is true that you could decide your own destiny and whichever way you want to distribute your inheritance.

On the other hand, I agree with the notion that our primary schools (not privately owned ones) are more like public listed companies and not \"sole proprietorship\" where you conveniently use \"mine\", \"me\", and \"I\". πŸ˜‰

IDad

laughingcat:
                        IDad:

ζœ‰ζ²‘ζœ‰ζžι”™ eh. In this era, still looking at ones roots?

Our President Tan don't even visit his grandparents grave leh. We are a society of doing it for oneself. Gone are those days leh.

ζ²‘ζœ‰ζžι”™. Just because you want to ignore your roots doesn't mean I want to follow in your suit. And do I care if President Tan doesn't visit his grandpa's grave (do state your source just for reference sake)? No, I dun really care if an individual chooses to forget his/ her roots

However, if it is the society or institution that I'm living in, yes, I will care.

Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.

• 97 / 197