All Schools are GOOD Schools
remove..... the parents ???? :yikes: boh parents, boh children lorI am inclined to think that the most obvious solution may not necessarily be the most effective one. The obvious solution to a rat problem is of course to kill the rats. The real solution is to remove the food source. The obvious solution to the tuition problem is to ban tuition. The real solution is to remove the source of revenue - parents.
Limlim, the motive is good, but imho hor, if this avenue ( banning or controlling tuition centre ) is to be pursued strongly by parents/citizens, the most likely scenario to play out would be tuition centres will be controlled. And how so ? Levy lor, surcharge lor, higher taxes on them lor, or COE lor ( certificate to tutor/enrich ), etc etc.the indirect solution is to ban tuition center or tuition advertisement..
w/o convenient tuition centers, they want to be kiasu also difficult.. and \"may\" give up.. :evil: :evil:
I guess, we need to identity the problem first..
A) kiasu parents.. (which is not a problem by itself)
B) Tuition centers (which fuel the problem)
F) Average and above average student suddenly lag behind bcoz they are not as well prepared as those who attended tuition centers
G) Parents became compelled to send their kids to tuition center so as not to fall behind too much..
Remove A & B, and it'll be less of a problem.. but A is inherently impossible to eliminate....
1) Tuition center gone underground? well. so be it.. what we want is to \"keep it in check\", and not promote widespread infection. No need to \"赶尽杀绝\"。。
Like the case for drug peddling.. are you saying bcoz it cannot be eliminated hence we shd not ban it? no right....
What we want to achieve is, tuition is a last resort for needy students, Not a \"standard\" component of the education system for the masses or mainstream students.
The people will suffer lagi jialat, because as usual all these extra cost will be passed down to the consumers.
another way is to cap the fees, or to restrict their entry requirements to those who need tuition only.
I love all the ideas being thrown here, it shows that many parents DO care, for the majority of all Singapore children. :oops: -
Tuition is necessary lah…kids spend 7 hours in school and yet still don’t know how to handle and pass. After school so tired, no choice still have go for tuition. Math teacher, Science teacher all say same thing during parent-teacher meeting, ‘capable of doing better’. I wonder, whose responsibility is it then ? Yours or mine ? What teacher didn’t teach in school, my tutor is doing. My tutors are doing the work for the school teachers.
If my son gets A or A*, I will tell my son to kiss and hug his tutors. -
to restrict the need for tuition to those who need it … easy, ks parents will purposely tell their kids to flung all their test and voila, qualify for tuition.
easier to qualify by failing the test … than to score high high to get prizes … -
how about extend the school hours…then depending on ability, students go for their enrichment, supplementary, remedial class in the afternoon!!
Then surely no more energy for tuition, ya?!! -
This is what I will do to satisfy those who clamour for banning tuition or make it difficult to get tuition :
students who genuinely fail and needs help : 25% discount from my normal rate
students who just pass - pay normal fees without discount
students who obtain between 51 - 75 marks : pay 50% premium above my normal rates
students who obtain between 76 - 85 marks : pay 100% premium above my normal rates
students who obtain 86 - 95 marks : pay 200% premium
students who obtain above 95 marks and still want tuition : pay 300% premium
like that I am will be rich, ks parents happy still get tuition for everyone, and those who genuinely need it gets a discount - I got heart hor, and for those who pay extra premium -- they got bragging rights for expensive tuition -- means their kids are very clever lah ......
:evil: :evil: :evil: :evil: :evil: -
I am quoting the example of my DD1 - P4 this yearhow about extend the school hours...then depending on ability, students go for their enrichment, supplementary, remedial class in the afternoon!!
Then surely no more energy for tuition, ya?!!
Monday - school official hour ends at 1.30pm.
Supplementary for EL/Science (Alternate) starts 2.15pm-3.00pm.
Follows by Maths supplementary from 3.00-3.45pm and this lesson only for her class.
Tuesday - school official hour ends at 1.30pm. CCA starts 2.30pm and ends at 4.30pm.
Wednesday - school ends 1.30pm and thank GOD no other extra things after school!
Thursday - school official hour ends at 3.00pm. CCA extra practise starts 4.00pm and ends at 5.30pm.
Friday - school official hour ends at 1.30pm.
Supplementary for Chinese lesson starts 2.15pm-3.00pm.
And guess what is for supplementary lessons? Teachers continue to teach whatever that can't be completed during curriculum time
Typically, my DD1 is very tired after school everyday so I only arrange tuition for her on Saturday mornings. -
LOL!! I think majority of the tuition will charge the other way round. kekekeke... so that their profile LOOK better with all the student scoring A*.This is what I will do to satisfy those who clamour for banning tuition or make it difficult to get tuition :
students who obtain between 51 - 75 marks : pay 50% premium above my normal rates
students who obtain between 76 - 85 marks : pay 100% premium above my normal rates
like that I am will be rich, ks parents happy still get tuition for everyone, and those who genuinely need it gets a discount - I got heart hor, and for those who pay extra premium -- they got bragging rights for expensive tuition -- means their kids are very clever lah ......
:evil: :evil: :evil: :evil: :evil:
MrsSeah:
I am just being flexible with my business model, to cater to both camps : for and against tuition :rotflmao:
LOL!! I think majority of the tuition will charge the other way round. kekekeke... so that their profile LOOK better with all the student scoring A*.verykiasu2010:
This is what I will do to satisfy those who clamour for banning tuition or make it difficult to get tuition :
:evil: :evil: :evil: :evil: :evil:
beanbear:
:love:ER:
KPI of Principal and teachers should be changed to 'Getting the most number of students scoring above 75%\". This way, they won't set questions beyond the average kids ability.
What about a KPI like frequency of children's raising hands to ask questions? How about number of times a child's eyes light & faces glowing with smiles? How about a KPI of number of Parents' testimonials to school for making my child happy about going to school?
Seriously, if schools talk about raising curious critical thinking children, they need to start recreating their KPIs. What's a KPI for Joy of learning? What's a KPi for curiosity? If we keep defining success by performance at exams, then KPIs set will be along the lines of number of As,Bs Cs or marks. -
kitty2:
Wonder should we ask the reporters to write an article on our world class education? :? Every saturday,there'll be a special article on certain topic.The reporters should be keen of out feedback.I don't think Ah Heng can hear us from hear :rotflmao:janet_lee88:
Our Education Minister has been sent overseas to America to study more policies. He is sitting up there. We are down here sweating and pulling our hair out over the kids' education. Does anyone in education ministry understand what we are going through ?
Kids wake up at 6am to go to school. They are not taught methods to handle tough syllabus. After school, they have to attend tuition in order to pass exams. Should this be the case ?
strparent, munchkukie and caroline3sg... you have PM.
Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.