dyh:

I asked my boy about the teacher...he has no particular comment about him.

But he said the teacher would ask the class whether they want him to go thru a certain question or not, if the class says no, then he would skip it. i think becos it is the top class, so he tries to go thru the lessons quickly and dun want to bore the pupils?

Any idea how the P5 M1 class fared in this CA1? Or how many pupils are attending MA enrichment/tuition classes outside the sch?

After speaking to the MA teacher, I somehow got a feeling that he is another Sci HOD.

Like what S6169 said 求人不如求己, we need to depend on ourselves. Seems like I cant join FQW's lovely wife L-F club liao.

This shall be my last ranting post. Continue ranting will only make me more depressed.

Hey Jennifer, you are not ranting. We have our frustrations and should not bottle up. Or else we will go :siao: yes, we cannot depend on school to bring our kids up to mark. We have to take charge ourselves.

pepper spice

Order of the 4 operation - follow the BODMAS rule and you won’t get it wrong

B Brackets first
        O Orders (ie Powers and Square Roots, etc.)
        DM Division and Multiplication (left-to-right)
        AS Addition and Subtraction (left-to-right)
        Divide and Multiply rank equally (and go left to right).
        Add and Subtract rank equally (and go left to right)

Order of Operations
        Do things in Brackets First. Example:

6 × (5 + 3) = 6 × 8 = 48
        6 × (5 + 3) = 30 + 3 = 33 (wrong)

Exponents (Powers, Roots) before Multiply, Divide, Add or Subtract. Example:

5 × 22 = 5 × 4 = 20
        5 × 22 = 102 = 100 (wrong)

Multiply or Divide before you Add or Subtract. Example:

2 + 5 × 3 = 2 + 15 = 17
        2 + 5 × 3 = 7 × 3 = 21 (wrong)

Otherwise just go left to right. Example:

30 ÷ 5 × 3 = 6 × 3 = 18
        30 ÷ 5 × 3 = 30 ÷ 15 = 2 (wrong)

Jennifer, I can sense your frustration. 加油!

• dyhD Offline
          dyh

dyh:

I asked my boy about the teacher...he has no particular comment about him.

But he said the teacher would ask the class whether they want him to go thru a certain question or not, if the class says no, then he would skip it. i think becos it is the top class, so he tries to go thru the lessons quickly and dun want to bore the pupils?

Any idea how the P5 M1 class fared in this CA1? Or how many pupils are attending MA enrichment/tuition classes outside the sch?

The MA teacher expressed disappointment that my boy whose P4 MA scores were very good to get only 80+ for this CA1 and concluded that my boy has not been practising enough. I wonder if he has asked himself what he had not done enough to help my boy maintain his MA grades.

:rant: mode on again.

After speaking to the MA teacher, I somehow got a feeling that he is another Sci HOD.

Like what S6169 said 求人不如求己, we need to depend on ourselves. Seems like I cant join FQW's lovely wife L-F club liao.

This shall be my last ranting post. Continue ranting will only make me more depressed.

I do not know what is the average for the M1 class. Anyone else knows?
          I think quite a few have enrichment classes outside school from what I heard. But then I guess this is normal in SG?

• dyhD Offline
            dyh

pepper spice:
            Order of the 4 operation - follow the BODMAS rule and you won't get it wrong

B Brackets first
            O Orders (ie Powers and Square Roots, etc.)
            DM Division and Multiplication (left-to-right)
            AS Addition and Subtraction (left-to-right)
            Divide and Multiply rank equally (and go left to right).
            Add and Subtract rank equally (and go left to right)

Order of Operations
            Do things in Brackets First. Example:

6 × (5 + 3) = 6 × 8 = 48
            6 × (5 + 3) = 30 + 3 = 33 (wrong)

Exponents (Powers, Roots) before Multiply, Divide, Add or Subtract. Example:

5 × 22 = 5 × 4 = 20
            5 × 22 = 102 = 100 (wrong)

Multiply or Divide before you Add or Subtract. Example:

2 + 5 × 3 = 2 + 15 = 17
            2 + 5 × 3 = 7 × 3 = 21 (wrong)

Otherwise just go left to right. Example:

30 ÷ 5 × 3 = 6 × 3 = 18
            30 ÷ 5 × 3 = 30 ÷ 15 = 2 (wrong)

This is helpful indeed. I never learnt this memory technique in school last time. 😂

pepper spice

dyh:
              This is helpful indeed. I never learnt this memory technique in school last time. 😂

This is the method I used in school (long long ago). When I told my son about this when he was in P5, he went ???? - so I gathered it is not taught in this way in schools anymore. But since he was ok in maths, I did not pursue as to why BODMAS rule is no longer taught. Anyway, glad it helps 😄

pepper spice:
                dyh:

This is the method I used in school (long long ago). When I told my son about this when he was in P5, he went ???? - so I gathered it is not taught in this way in schools anymore. But since he was ok in maths, I did not pursue as to why BODMAS rule is no longer taught. Anyway, glad it helps 😄

Thanks for refreshing my memory. I remember this BODMAS thing. Teacher will remind us to write this at the top of exam paper before we start doing questions. I will ask hubby if he knows this method.

Parents, it's Wed today...back to school next Monday...term 2 and yes, SA1 as well 😓

• JenniferJ Offline
                  Jennifer

pepper spice:
                  Order of the 4 operation - follow the BODMAS rule and you won't get it wrong

I hv never heard of this BODMAS rule :oops: :oops: maybe I was not paying attention to my MA teacher :rotflmao:

Luckily my life involves only very simple mathematical calculations.

• JenniferJ Offline
                    Jennifer

dyh:

I think quite a few have enrichment classes outside school from what I heard. But then I guess this is normal in SG?
                    This year the sch did not distribute the statistics slip - Highest in level/class, Avg in level/class? Or the FT forgot to give out?

When I raised the qn \"how many are attending...\", I want to get a gauge of how much I need to prepare my boy, esp now that I know the MA teacher can ask his class whether to go thru' a qn and will skip when the class answered \"No\" :roll:

dyh:

This year the sch did not distribute the statistics slip - Highest in level/class, Avg in level/class? Or the FT forgot to give out?

Come to think of it, the school did seem to forget to give us the statistics. I think many parents would want to know the level and class average.

S6169

dyh:

This year they didn't distribute the statistics slip but they do have the statistics of each subject for individual class.
                        For Lo9, avg, Eng. 72. Sci 87. For Math M1. 83.6
                        :congrats: dyh's ds to be the highest in Math, right?

Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.

• 1638 / 2049

InfoseekerI
                        Infoseeker