All Schools are GOOD Schools
Your dd must be doing well in class, so the teacher saw no need to meet you.
4) at PTA last year, this teacher said she has no idea why I need to see her about my dd and I was like :siao: teacher. -
Don't stop lah... I a little bit agree but scared kena humtum by limlim wor...[/quote]Wow! chen ur singlish improved a lot
Sorry Chen, this thing really irks me enough to move my fat fingers and type.FQW:
[quote=\"Chenonceau\"]
Huh oh... we're back to the banning tuition again... I want no part in it. :siam:
Sorry sorry. I stop now.
smartmummy:
Wow! chen ur singlish improved a lot

:please: -
chamonix:
My son weak in MT,though T doesn't find anything to tell me to improve. :? She just asked me to send tuition. :yikes:
Your dd must be doing well in class, so the teacher saw no need to meet you.LOLMum:
4) at PTA last year, this teacher said she has no idea why I need to see her about my dd and I was like :siao: teacher. -
never in our experiencejanet_lee88:
Educators will not willingly accept comments/feedback from parents.
They feel they are always right...and if we parents really voice out our unhappiness, our kids will suffer repercussions after that. Do we want our kids to be black marked by the teachers ?
Attend PTMs and listen to what teachers tell me...don't volunteer any info. Just smile and get it over.
Never in your experience does not mean such cases don't exist. But I sincerely hope instances like my experience are very rare. On the whole, (despite my share of some not-so-good teachers) I think most of the teachers I encountered have done a relatively good job. -
mum_sugoku:
For the benefit of the students in general, perhaps you can consider writing to MOE to inform them your DS's English teacher's incompetency problem (without mentioning names), so that MOE could do something about it?[/quote]I emailed the HOD... that should work?Chenonceau:
[quote=\"beanbear\"]Hi Chen, some questions i cd offer for ur thinking: what's your desired outcome from the action u take? Teacher to become aware of her incompetency, then do something abt improving her competency? School become aware of problem? Do u believe teacher can change in the short term? What can be changed & what cannot? What's really a system issue or individual issue here? Of its lack of clear marking rubrics & counter-checking of marking, then it's system issue.
These are lovely questions... helps me focus. Draws down the emotional response a lot. -
smartmummy:
My son weak in MT,though T doesn't find anything to tell me to improve. :? She just asked me to send tuition. :yikes:[/quote]Ask her if she is paying for it. No money, how to?
Your dd must be doing well in class, so the teacher saw no need to meet you.chamonix:
[quote=\"LOLMum\"]
Just to be fair, I believe there are still many good teachers in schools. For instance, my sil’s dd has one such good teacher. Knowing that the child has a higher learning ability than her current class, she fights to move her into one of the best classes. She recognises the child’s strength in maths and suggested to my sil to let her dd skip supplementary classes. Instead of the classes, she would give her more higher level work to do at home.
The problem is my son doesn’t like to go to tuition.I can afford a cheap tuition.
He said learn from his T and Teach him.But no MT PTM in my school and they put their email id in their website,only HOD’s id there.My son refused to bring the school diary to T. -
Sorry, I mean, MOE should check that the teacher is truely competent in English before he/she's allowed to teach English in school. Ditto for other subjects.
I emailed the HOD... that should work?mum_sugoku:
For the benefit of the students in general, perhaps you can consider writing to MOE to inform them your DS's English teacher's incompetency problem (without mentioning names), so that MOE could do something about it?
Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.