Comparing Chinese Enrichment (Primary/Preschool)

Scheduled Pinned Locked Moved Chinese
    2.0k Posts 561 Posters 1.5m Views 1 Watching
      cherrygal

hsm:
      if anyone has 'tips' to learn chinese, please share with me.. i like to try different methods and see which suits dd best 🙂

Cheers
      On a personal note, I went for group tuition at a former school teacher's house when I was a kid. The group was as large as >20 students. We would all sit round a huge rectangular table with the teacher seated at one end.

We had to do lots of loud reading, taking turns, stressing on the hanyu pinyin of new words. We also had tingxie, moxie, compo, compre, mock tests etc and would get caned on the hand if we failed any of these tests. We also had to do lots of rote learning of chengyu and their meanings (memorize 20 phrases per week). We'll be verbally tested during the session.

She was super popular as a fierce tuition teacher... and I liked the friendly competition and results I got. I got average results in P1 and P2 as I came from a purely English speaking family (parents can't speak at all), and was in a gantang mission school. After I started tuition in P3, I managed to get \"Best in Chinese\" prizes yearly and scored an A* for Chinese. The foundation she laid also enabled me to sail past my Chinese at O Levels (A1) without any tuition.

If your gal can tahan some serious intense learning like what I described above (twice a week for 2hrs), you can try to teach her yourself or get a similar type of group tutor.

hsm

Thanks for the replies 🙂

yes, i'm concerned if my girl can catchup, but i guess i need to let her have a try and see how it goes... good thing abt Tien Hsia now, the class size is quite alright. 7 students including my girl cos i'm bringing her to the weekday afternoon class...

She has only done 1 lesson so far, and she was happy with it.. the teacher is quite friendly.. hopefully she gets better after a few more lessons 🙂

smurf

Hi Cherrygal,

is the tuition teacher still around? mean does she still teach?

cherrygal

smurf:
            Hi Cherrygal,

is the tuition teacher still around? mean does she still teach?
            Haha, she's already in her late seventies... retired liao
            I'll wait for my boy to start doing badly before I try to intro her style of tough tutoring... He's one stubborn boy who 不见棺材不掉泪。

Pebblesrock

Hib may I ask which centre- Xue Lin or Tien hsia is better for a secondary 2 student for me? I just passes on the dot or Chinese 😞

• Z Offline
                zinx

Hi any mummies got recommendation for good Chinese compo class at amk area?

Tia

smurf

Cherrygal,

Haha…your boy smart lah…

cherrygal

smurf:
                    Cherrygal,

Haha...your boy smart lah...
                    He's ok for now but super lazy... so perhaps when things get more difficult in P3, I will be able to try out this hot-house tutoring style... :nunchuk:

cherrygal

zinx:
                      Hi any mummies got recommendation for good Chinese compo class at amk area?

Tia
                      There's a Busy Bees Learning Centre at Sin Ming Plaza (shunfu rd). They are charging $449 for 12 lessons of chinese compo. Heard it's quite good but I had wanted to enrol in their enrichment class rather (they dun haf). Class size is small.

Jav

My son has been with Jiang since the beginning of the year - P1 -3 hr lesson. Seems his standard is ok & ahead of school work. They have 4 books cater for reading, comprehension, hypy, writing etc. As I don’t know Chinese, he has to depend more on himself for revision. So far so good as initially I am worried how he could stay for 3 hrs and he has never complained so far of the long duration.

Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.

• 162 / 202