drickymummy

FQW:

[quote=\"Happy Mama\"] See! Now he siam already. :rotflmao:

But fear not. After the first one, I've devised a way to make milk in the wee hours of the morning using my leg. How? I just kick my wife and say 'Oei, baby is crying, go and make milk leh.' Muahahaha :rotflmao:

FQW,
      Did you say 'make milk'? I thought human machine is 24/7? :rotflmao:
      Sorry everyone :offtopic:

Whether it's newborn or 8 years old, kids will still cry and 'manja'.
      My daughter here kept me up all night for the past 2 nights...high fever.
      Pray hard the education minister keeps Phase 2A2, and you now, try for #2. :evil:[/quote]Yah, Janet is right....my 9 yr old has been sick with high fever so often these past 8 mths.. He just keeps me away every night with the help of the tiny one inside who keeps me awake every night now anyway... πŸ˜“

Saw the news last night abt changes to P1 registration ...so worried they will change phrase 2a2 .. Hopefully that ruling stays till my this one goes to P1... If not maybe I might be getting a place in pasir Ris or Punggol in future...dragon yr too much competitions... :frustrated:

drickymummy

FQW:

During my elder boy's time, the EL teacher made it compulsory to write a journal every week, for the topics brought up by the school during assembly, any special celebration events, etc.

Last year, my younger boy only wrote 1 journal - about myself. The exercise book was not used at all after that.

This year, the EL teacher printed out a list of what-to-do to improve EL standard and journal writing was one of the recommendations. Again, the task of enforcing, monitoring, discussing what is written is passed back to parents :stompfeet:

The MA teacher is also a disappointment. He believed my boy is capable to do more, but is not willing to do more. So? He does not push? I was so angry, I sort of told him off that it is the sch responsibility to assign work & to push the pupils. Why else shld I leave my child in sch for 8 hours doing the minimal, then go back home to do more worksheets to be given by parents becos the sch does not give in the sch?

Sorry for the ranting. I am really very disappointed.

Jennifer,

You know that your willingness to share the good stuff here made me hold your posts with high regard. Like IJJ, I'm also very sorry to hear of your disappointment. From the way you wrote this post, your disappointment seems almost palpable to me.

Many parents have expressed similar adverse feelings towards PH during this period. All this talk is getting me worried as I don't revise any school work with ds (except for spelling and the occasional presentation), preferring instead to spend the time to do other stuff with him. :gloomy:

Just to make everyone feel 'better' in a tiny way, not only PH parents r going thru all these frustrations... I have friends with kids in other schools, some r also top schs too, complaining like siao... πŸ˜“ so we just have to accept that it is the system that is problematic n just have to clear the hurdles with our kids one at a time while still giving them more room to be resilience... In future, work life might be just as frustrating for them unless they know how to handle these issues fr young ...

FQW,

Phase 2A will stay. Certainly hope it does, don't you ?
          So while you are still very young and healthy, no harm considering #2. :evil:
          Kids will get sick, be it 2 or 12, and keep you awake at night to give panadol every 4 hours. My daughter had stomach flu during the March hols. We actually booked a room at Sentosa but she was so sick then. So all plans were ruined.

The syllabus is getting tougher. It's impossible not to revise everyday. Damn sian and frustrating, but what choice do we have ?

drickymummy

Trapwithin:

[quote=\"FQW\"]Will my ds be tasked with P4 level qns in the year-end exams? Maybe. Will it hit us like a train? Definitely. Is there anything we can do about this? Not much.

The P3 CA EL paper is shocking but should be a one time thing.
            The school get bombarbed by parents a lot.
            I still think it is the setter and vetter being inexperience in setting papers and EL HOD do not have a good process to oversee the paper setting process. Having about 50-60% of the cohort failing EL (my prediction) in this year P3 EL CA1 is bad enough for them ... it has backfired on them and they will review their process.

So ... I do not think you will get a P4 question in their first major exam in P2 SA2. The school will have a hard time to justify MOE's policy of removing the P1/2 exams.

The school doesn't need to set a P4 question for P2 SA2...the setter just has to open the math assessment book, find the challenging ones, modify a little and the kids will suffer.

My son scored 63 for his Eng CA1. Heard half the class failed section B. I dread to think of SA1 now. He is lucky to be considered the average student. Next heart attack coming soon.[/quote]First of all, not a big shock that many teachers dun use textbooks much especially for math n sci.. Just read it yourself n u will noticed that those textbooks r pretty much waste of money n time.. I never touched Ds math textbook at all since P1 till now.. Now lagi best, they dun even bring math n sci textbooks to sch at all.. So all sitting nicely wrapped n clean on his shelf.. :moneyflies:

I rather do more books which have challenging qns .... I will look thru the books especially on certain topics specifically for tougher qns n let Ds try on those rather than doing the whole book.. We oly touch on easier, routine qns when we r super free.. So most of my Ds's assessment books r empty n unused. As I worked n looked thru the books that I bought my Ds especially math, I had noticed that especially from P3 onwards, some questions are too easy for maybe p5 which I would considered a p3 qn cos Ds had one it before but some P4 can be p5/6 kind of level which I had done before... So it does helps if u can work a little harder by going thr assessment books on your child's weak topics n pick n choose qns for them to work on specifically ... I never repeat a same qn much bu will choose similar format or level qns of the same topic to work on to make sure Ds gets the reason why n how such qns are solved... Most math topics comes with a rule or formula behind it.. Just have to guide them to under these rules or formulaes.. This makes their learning much easier.. Ds's math in sch is now considered fun math to me to help them learn techniques to faster calculations. Eg.. How many no. R there between 23-63? A child can use the traditional method of listing down all the numbers which I was shocked when I see him doing that! He knows better a faster method which I knew he was taught by out tutor .. ( advantage of learning under the same tutor! πŸ˜‰ ) I had to spend like 5 mins to go thru this qn with the faster method n we did a trial n error on some examples to let him see the reason for this quick shortcut n I helped him indentify the situation like qn was changed from between x to x to FROM X to X ...

Maybe some of these suggestions might help some of u a tiny bit ?

Willow

Thanks php & Mrsbongz !!!

Sounds real interesting , will get my hubby to quickly email in then, dun want him to miss out any part of our kids' growing up experiences in school πŸ™‚

• iRabbitI Offline
                iRabbit

drickymummy:

Dun scare me leh! My no. 2 monster arriving soon ...fast n furious sometime.. New trying to keep this ganchiong spider in me till a more matured due date..so u probably see me online more often now since I had kinda MIA for a little tiny period... πŸ˜‰
                At least my hubby dun seems to get scared of by my terrible morning sickness this time round..so u can maybe convinced yourself that it is normal.. πŸ˜‚
                You mean soon you'll have to deal with 2 mini-monsters plus many monkeys outside your house. πŸ˜‰

If I have a 2nd, can guarantee 'chomp stamp' she'll be a girl and smarter and more obedient and less careless and less whiny and ..... xxxx ..... than my son ornot? If yes, then I consider. :evil:
                drickymummy:
                Sometimes, it could be due to stress that a child is not performing to her standard .. Exams n tests r stressed full..imagine u have to ate a test now yourself, u will feel stressed n scared too n not to mentioned a young child.. I have seen kids who even feel stressed out during regular classes over weak topics.. Cannot imagine what breakdown such kids will have if tested...
                My son just had his first taste of exam proper a few weeks ago. He sat for his piano theory exam and I warned (more like threatened) him not to submit until the full 1.5 hrs is up. It must have been torturous for him to stick his butt to the seat for so long (he scribbles thru all the mock papers within 15 min without checking and sometimes even without reading the instructions).

He told me afterwards since he can't leave early, he played with his mechanical pencil trying to kill time. :roll:
                drickymummy:
                While I will prepare Ds for test n exams with the book knowledge, I will prepare him with techniques to do self checking ..if all have been done but results was mostly due to tricky qns which r beyond their knowledge then we just have to let it go but encourage them that it is still not the end of the world yet... Just try harder next time n focus on their weakness..
                That's a good suggestion. Nevertheless, I reserve my right to scold if ds makes the same mistake 3 times in a row. :slapshead:

Hey FQW,

There is no guarantee getting a boy or girl...but some doctors seem to have written articles for couples who want a boy or girl...perhaps you may want to check them up :evil: all the best in your attempt to get a daughter.
                  Btw, my daughter is more whiny and equally careless like my son. She also has her moods.

drickymummy

FQW, why must be a gal leh? Are all man the same? Must have a daughter or wat? Btw, from the years of dealing with kids, I still find boys easier to handle cos they r more direct... Not to say gals r no good...daughters are great company to mummies as they grow... I m just the v impatient kind who might have difficulty dealing with gal's emotional part...

Yah, 1 big n 1 mini monsters to deal with is gg to be my new to be mission impossible ! πŸ˜“

As for the monkeys outside my house.. Mmm.. So far we have been pretty good neighbors lah... Though I would appreciate no house visits from them. πŸ˜‰

MyMooMoo

Hi drickymummy,

I have send you a pm. I would be very grateful if you can help me.

Thanks in advance.

drickymummy:
                        FQW, why must be a gal leh? Are all man the same? Must have a daughter or wat? Btw, from the years of dealing with kids, I still find boys easier to handle cos they r more direct... Not to say gals r no good...daughters are great company to mummies as they grow... I m just the v impatient kind who might have difficulty dealing with gal's emotional part...
                        Gals have the emotional part which is hard to handle.
                        On the whole, son doesn't have problem getting work done all these years...but with daughter, I am tired trying to get her to do anything especially if she is in a foul mood...she is only in P2 :imdrowning: girls are great company for mummies...mine knows what I want most of the time without me expressing.

Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.

• 1644 / 2049