S'poreans to get priority for P1 places during balloting
We have always had Malaysians amongst us. Malaysians and Singaporeans share a close ancestry. For decades we have had Malaysians amongst us and we didnโt mind a all. Many Malaysians have stayed here for decades and their children are 2nd generation PRs who are likely to convert to SC because this has become a home they have grown to love.
However, with the influx of PRs from countries somewhat further away, with less emotional attachment to this region, the PR status has become tainted with the notion of "convenient stepping stone". If we wanted to absorb new citizens, Malaysians are closest to us in culture and spirit. They worked alongside us for many decades to build this country.
It is a pity that theyโve been lumped together with every other PR nationality. To me, Malaysians are special. They donโt see Singapore as a stepping stone to USA. -
Too chim? Dun bedek lah... :razz: You are GEP Daddy ok... good genes man! All you need to do is WALK into a school and it'll become good.
The rest too chim for me but this sentence I agree fully!!Chenonceau:
Unless MOE shapes itself up, it doesn't matter which intake goes where.
Forgive... just having some fun. Dun be offended. -
The word absolute does cover the gist of the whole change. If PRs have no chance in Phase 1 by virtue of a sibling, then there is absolutely zero chance for them to get into any of the top primary schools in Singapore as long as there are more SCs than PRs vying for places in any of the subsequent Phases. Even if the PRs live within 1km, they will not get to ballot since even SCs staying beyond 2km will have priority over all PRs. If that is not absolute, I'm not sure what would be considered as absolute
It's a small absolute, within each phrase only.FQW:
[quote=\"blueblue\"]Actually I think the word 'absolute' priority in first paragraph is pretty misleading. At first I thought all singaporeans will get the places first, then followed PRs..regardless of any phase
Still better than nothing..
I just thought of a trickle-down effect, and it's psychological. I think that with this change, in future schools will refrain from accepting PRs as PV as there is little chance of them being successful in registration. Either would PRs be tempted to apply. So that gives more opportunities for us locals to get selected. Same goes for GRL, clans etc.
Actually, I think this change will actually intensify the balloting problem at top schools for this coming exercise, since it will drive more SCs to try for these schools thinking that they have a better chance of getting in now that PRs are \"out of the picture\".
At least there will be less finger pointing at PRs now when people lack the luck to get what they want. The debate will then shift to why alumni should be given priority in Phase 2A. :slapshead:[/quote]Actually I think PRs pupils are less than 10%, meaning one class with 30 pupils only 2~3 Pupils. so competition occurs most likely still between SCs! -
Ooops Chen, now you make me make ds die-die also must qualify for GEP cos I also wan people to say I got good gene ......arghhhhh
Too chim? Dun bedek lah... :razz: You are GEP Daddy ok... good genes man! All you need to do is WALK into a school and it'll become good.
Thank you for giving SG-reans a little bit of dignity back and showed that you have some back-bone. A little bit of priority for SG-reans who gotta send our sons to NS is much appreciated.
Having said that, liow, never before will you see so many SG-reans going for gem-schools from all over SG. Get in first then talk (or shift house!) later. It is still about priority in the various phases. "Sleeping SG-reans" donโt hope to get in, they will fall behind those "active SG-reans" followed by "active PRs". Competition will still be intense, no doubt about it.
Keep an eye on this yearโs P1 registration results, it will give us an inkling of the effects of this change. -
Are those parents able to presurrise the kids for whole six years+6 IP or not? Donโt half way tyre punctured.
Want to go into good school, must show some standard lah. The kids turn out to be the other way will cause some embarrasement to the school, parents and kids as well.
Layman thinking " this school produces this type of student meh?โ sia suay -
mrswongtuition:
Take back your \"cockroach\" and use it on yourself.What type of PRs do we want? We want talented PRs, most importantly those who love Singapore & will stick around. Those who are not happy will leave, which also means, their heart isn't here.
PRs that know that they what they want for their families will appreciate what they have here even with lesser 'opportunities' or with high cost of living.
I have PR friends who do grumble about cost of living. No childcare subsidy for them, they are paying $1.5K for IFC a month!
So, why stick here? Because they know the security here is different. They appreciate the systems in place (which SC often complain about - I'm guilty too). They appreciate the efficiency of the country as a whole (my helper from Philippines was very impressed when I applied & renewed by sons' passports online and when we went to collect the passports, we were only in the building for 10 minutes). While I grumble about CTE jam, they assured me it's nothing compared to what they face back in their home country.
Don't worry about 'losing' talented PRs over this new change. PRs who are really here to stay will simply register their kids in whatever available school, and put in their best efforts to make sure their kids overtake our kids. It's their resilence we should learn from. I'm pretty sure they will be like 'cockroach'. In Hokkien: Pah Buay Si!
I felt sorry for the student who go to your tuition center because they are taught by you, such a rude person, unrespectable to others.
I am pretty sure there are PR students in your tuition center. I wonder how they will feel when they know you call them \"cockroach\" and yet try to make money for them at the same time. -
wah...u still at that?! donch be like that leh!
Forgive... just having some fun. Dun be offended. -
Wen1982:
Hey, cool down. I believe mrswong used 'cockroach' to describe the 'never dying' spirit of PRs. I don't think she is condeming PRs. No need go personal leh.
Take back your \"cockroach\" and use it on yourself.mrswongtuition:
What type of PRs do we want? We want talented PRs, most importantly those who love Singapore & will stick around. Those who are not happy will leave, which also means, their heart isn't here.
PRs that know that they what they want for their families will appreciate what they have here even with lesser 'opportunities' or with high cost of living.
I have PR friends who do grumble about cost of living. No childcare subsidy for them, they are paying $1.5K for IFC a month!
So, why stick here? Because they know the security here is different. They appreciate the systems in place (which SC often complain about - I'm guilty too). They appreciate the efficiency of the country as a whole (my helper from Philippines was very impressed when I applied & renewed by sons' passports online and when we went to collect the passports, we were only in the building for 10 minutes). While I grumble about CTE jam, they assured me it's nothing compared to what they face back in their home country.
Don't worry about 'losing' talented PRs over this new change. PRs who are really here to stay will simply register their kids in whatever available school, and put in their best efforts to make sure their kids overtake our kids. It's their resilence we should learn from. I'm pretty sure they will be like 'cockroach'. In Hokkien: Pah Buay Si!
I felt sorry for the student who go to your tuition center because they are taught by you, such a rude person, unrespectable to others.
I am pretty sure there are PR students in your tuition center. I wonder how they will feel when they know you call them \"cockroach\" and yet try to make money for them at the same time. -
wah...u still at that?! donch be like that leh!Chenonceau:
Forgive... just having some fun. Dun be offended.
Solly!
Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.