S'poreans to get priority for P1 places during balloting
Chikadilly:
Why so many think that this will trigger a wave of PRs applying for citizenship for their kids? ( well, this is the kiasu forum, maybe that's why :)) . I think it may result in in PRs being forced to enroll into less popular schools. So some will become 'citizen' schools, and other will become 'PR and foreigner' schools. Wonder if MOE thought about this segregation happening. I'm a PR, but my kids are citizens. Anyway was planning to send the kids to aschool next door (no history of balloting), so this does not affect me in any way.
Nope, I am not one of those who think this will trigger a wave of PRs applying for citizenship for their kids in SG. For years PRs have enjoyed benefits without the need to apply for SG citizenship. What now? PRs will just shruck their shoulders and say \"Oh shucks!\" and move on. To where? The world is their oyster I must say. My ex-colleague merrily migrated his whole family to Australia (after years of enjoying all the benefits of SG housing and schooling) so that his boys will not need to do NS.
It is only our government's HOPE by dishing out all these goodies to \"outsiders\" that they will eventually become SG citizens. I will say don't lift your hopes too high. Take care of SG-reans first.
Hi Chikadilly, your kids are SG-reans. They will get full priority. :salute: -
I said it before and I will say it again. Any reference to any animals (or insect) is derogative to me. Offensive comments should be removed.
FQW:
It would be the other way. Not dampen but increase in value for the demand of wanted school.zeemimi:
Maybe more SC will move to these hot properties instead of PR.Tokidoki:
At least, I think it should dampen the rental market along popular schools such as those within the Bukit Timah belt. Guess only, those landlords pls don't humtum me.i doubt so, coz the demand will still be there for SG Citizens.

:heresmyfish: -
Wen1982:
[Such a \"good\" word, I shall use to praise you.
You are like 'cockroach'. Pah Buay Si!
Are you happy?
η§ζιηε
΅οΌζηθ―΄δΈζΈ
γ sai hei (in cantonese).

Does that mean Jim Rogers' kids would not be in NYPS if this was implemented earlier?
Year 2009 report...
http://www.asiaone.com/Business/My+Money/Opinion/Story/A1Story20090119-115740.html
\"A: I've moved to Singapore, my biggest investment is obviously Singapore, my personal investment - we live here, we're permanent residents, my daughter goes to school here...
We've looked at a lot of houses, we're learning more about Singapore. Right now, we have to live within one kilometre of Nanyang Primary, so that our daughter can go to that school...\"
You mean Jim Roger's children are in NYPS? SC found it so difficult but he could made it? Answer is $? -
I feel MOE should implement it in 2-3yrs after they announced to let those PR who have already PV in the school have their chance. I really pity those PR who have PV.
Dawnie:
Ya.. she did mentioned \"Resilience\" which is a positive attribute.. and to learn from them..
Hey, cool down. I believe mrswong used 'cockroach' to describe the 'never dying' spirit of PRs. I don't think she is condeming PRs. No need go personal leh. -
zakashi:
u will know when u are as rich as him...Daddy

Does that mean Jim Rogers' kids would not be in NYPS if this was implemented earlier?
Year 2009 report...
http://www.asiaone.com/Business/My+Money/Opinion/Story/A1Story20090119-115740.html
\"A: I've moved to Singapore, my biggest investment is obviously Singapore, my personal investment - we live here, we're permanent residents, my daughter goes to school here...
We've looked at a lot of houses, we're learning more about Singapore. Right now, we have to live within one kilometre of Nanyang Primary, so that our daughter can go to that school...\"
You mean Jim Roger's children are in NYPS? SC found it so difficult but he could made it? Answer is $?
KSP:
I feel MOE should implement it in 2-3yrs after they announced to let those PR who have already PV in the school have their chance. I really pity those PR who have PV.
The impact is very sudden, true. but then this kind of thing some will be happy and others sad. If they say delayed implementation, can you imagine how many SG parents will be complaining to MOE becos PR kids got into the schools they were balloted out from? -
DesertWind:
I said it before and I will say it again. Any reference to any animals (or insect) is derogative to me. Offensive comments should be removed.
can \"Bees\" be spared....? :evil:
some kids are Hardworking like Bees.... :siam:
Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.