MOE Relooking P1 registration - Too much priority to alumni

2.0k Posts 174 Posters 460.5k Views 1 Watching
      dorisp

absolut_vodka:
      agree - as I've posted before, its only the few popular schools that is causing so much grief... the rest of the schools in SG don't have many places filled up by alumni/old boys/old gals anyway so its people who cannot get their children into these few popular schools that are making so much noise.......

IMHO, this is national education policy which affects all SCs. So even if the numbers might be small, the policy still has to uphold its purpoe of national interest and needs constant review and when necessary, to react in a timely manner by changing the policy if recent progresses caused the situation to deviate from its original intention.

On this same note, even when PRs in our schools were just 10%, I am glad that the Ministry didn't think the figure is too small and brush it off. Instead, I applaued the Ministry's move to allow SCs priority.

Our active discussion allows us to voice our friendly views on this topic. The discussion embraces all forumers whichever side you stand. We must agree to disagree and not term others as \"...making so much noise..\".

limlim

laughingcat:

Mr limlim, it was true. No speculation. I have seen the memo from the MOE but don't know how to upload. However, if you have the time, you can still find it in the MOE website media center bah. Dated 1990. Bear this in mind, what I have shared was 1990 and the policy link that you have shared are not the same as 1990.

If kaypoh enough, can always call NYPS to confirm this. :evil:
        mebbe chief needs to update the website liao...... :evil:

MotherHen

[quote]N if you talk abt tradtion, then why should church n clan (the original roots to the school) be behind 2A - and somemore with a limit imposed?[/quote]
          No, you're right. I wouldn't mind at all if church and clan are put in the same phase as alumni. In fact, I would highly welcome the change.

limlim

MotherHen:

I might be accused of being maudlin for saying this, but while we often mourn the demise of traditional values, of the kampong spirit, etc etc, why are we so eager to discard alumni connection? I just think that there is a place for alumni – even within our public school system.
            But nobody is discarding the alumni connection..

Your kid may still get in even if the alumni priority is removed, rite?

You can still visit your alma mater even if your kids not studying there. It Is your alma mater, not your kid's, rite?

Or just Bcoz your alma mater don't favor your kid, you're going to disown or break r/s with your alma mater???? hereby breaking the \"connection\"?

This topic is on alumni priority for P1 admission, not removing alumni connection from schools..

2 different issue lah..

MotherHen

[quote]Why do i feel that everytime the suggestion to 'limit' 2A somehow becomes 'discard' 2A.[/quote]
              Maybe bcos I've also read quite a few posts calling for it to be removed, such as:
              [quote]Alumni priority is not highly regarded for most/many schools.. why not just remove it?[/quote]

limlim

If your nurturing mother takes in another kids under her charge instead of yours (base on justification of other factors), are you going to disown her bcoz of this?

or will you 帮理不帮亲? (impartial)

blessed777

MotherHen:
                  [quote]N if you talk abt tradtion, then why should church n clan (the original roots to the school) be behind 2A - and somemore with a limit imposed?

No, you're right. I wouldn't mind at all if church and clan are put in the same phase as alumni. In fact, I would highly welcome the change.[/quote]Fair enough 😉

limlim

MotherHen:
                    [quote]Why do i feel that everytime the suggestion to 'limit' 2A somehow becomes 'discard' 2A.

Maybe bcos I've also read quite a few posts calling for it to be removed, such as:
                    [quote]Alumni priority is not highly regarded for most/many schools.. why not just remove it?[/quote][/quote]That was a response to someone saying that alumni problem is not big nationwide problem..

Anyway.. again, note that the topic is whether alumni kids shd be given priority, not whether alumni shd be banned from entering the school..! so the talk about removing \"alumni connection\" is quite irrelevant.. really..

No priority doesn't mean Not welcomed..

It is just serving the greater needs of the masses..

• Laura02L Offline
                      Laura02

Actually I don’t think its that great to stay next to a school. The convenience of walking to school is certainly a plus point. But everyday at the start and end of the school day, there’ll be a queue of cars blocking your driveway. And it gets much worse when it rains. Then cars start honking. And when there’s school events there’ll be cars parked indiscriminately, sometimes ruining the plants planted at the kerb side just outside the house. And it can be quite noisy. And sometimes parents make sudden stops/ turns/ just block the whole road when they are looking for thier kids or picking up or dropping their kids. And some parents drive the kids to school even its its only a 5 min walk away.

MotherHen

MotherHen:

I might be accused of being maudlin for saying this, but while we often mourn the demise of traditional values, of the kampong spirit, etc etc, why are we so eager to discard alumni connection? I just think that there is a place for alumni – even within our public school system.

But nobody is discarding the alumni connection..

Your kid may still get in even if the alumni priority is removed, rite?

You can still visit your alma mater even if your kids not studying there. It Is your alma mater, not your kid's, rite?

Or just Bcoz your alma mater don't favor your kid, you're going to disown or break r/s with your alma mater???? hereby breaking the \"connection\"?

This topic is on alumni priority for P1 admission, not removing alumni connection from schools..

2 different issue lah..

No need to get so heated...

It never even cross my mind to \"disown\" my alma mater if it does not \"favour\" my kid.

I value and appreciate the alumni priority for the chance that it gives my dds to have a connection to the school too.

Any changes in the registration process will not have any impact on me anymore. However, should any changes be implemented that make it no longer possible for my DDs' children to attend their alma mater, I am sure that they will not disown their alma maters too. Simply because 饮水思源。

But like me, they would have loved the opportunity to give back to the school. First as a student, then as a mom. In fact, my younger dd once mentioned to me that she would want to have daughters too so that she could send them to her alma mater.

Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.

• 114 / 197