S'poreans to get priority for P1 places during balloting

653 Posts 126 Posters 146.8k Views 1 Watching
      limlim

resgmom:
      I also agree with this author, which I suspect from her name, is one of the newly converted Sg Citizen as well. She'd made excellent points. Though her claim \"永久居民就没有任何机会上大家所谓的“名校”或相对较好的学校\" is not true since PR can still enter the earlier phases through PV/alumni/community connections.

http://www.zaobao.com.sg/yl/yl120403_004.shtml
      I disagree with what she posted.

The Govt has sent a message. \"Singaporean First\". Period.

It doesn't matter whether the very small number really have any real impact on the kids entering P1. What is important is the message that it bring across.

PR, in many situation, is already on almost equal standing with citizens.. like resale public housing etc.. Education is a highly prized asset.. citizens have a natural right to have priority to it.

It is true that needs of PRs, including PR have to be looked into. Hence, they are not denied from our education systems, isn't it? They will still get to attend a school. Not that they are deprived of education.

In summary, as long as PRs are not denied of the basic needs such as education, I don't see why citizens shouldn't have priority over them.

Chenonceau

We should be gracious and say thank you... but you know... until there is at least an acknowledgment that there is much else left to do, I can't help but feel that this is not enough.

This is a small scrap compared to what there is still to do (textbooks, e-resources, incentives/disincentives for schools, minimum quantity of handouts from schools if textbooks cannot be re-written) from a Ministry that styles itself world class.

If this is all, then it is not enough. If this is a sign of better things to come, then yes, I will be grateful. Personally though, whilst I have written my support for this move, I am not keen to suddenly start being very grateful/angry until I see more substantive changes.

Or not.

I used to have a great deal of faith. I was 100% sure that the govt would hear and help, and all we needed to do was to dialogue. I have dialogued gently. I have dialogued vigorously. I have dialogued face-to-face and even submitted research proposals, as well as provided names of people who research in Teacher Quality. As a citizen, I have put in time (free of charge) and been very sincere in my dealings and dialogues.

Finally, I have dialogued to the point of online misbehavior (for which I cringe)... only to hear \"All Schools are Good\". I am sorry to say that I no longer have 100% faith and trust in the government I voted for and encouraged everyone I knew to vote for. I no longer have 100% faith and trust in the government that I vigorously defended simply because I was grateful for 50 years of bounty. I am afraid (afraid, not certain) that this government suffers from System Calcification... and it cannot change what needs to be changed... and it has too much pride to admit that textbooks are insufficient.

Through all this, I speak for myself. I can understand your perspective (I used to be there). It speaks well of your character that you would urge \"thankfulness\" and \"gratefulness\". It shows a clean and pure heart with an aversion to violence and evil. But I confess... I cannot bring myself to be very grateful for this, knowing there is much more to do.

I know being grateful is the nice/right thing to do. But I just can't... at the moment.

Heheh.

I don't mean fall over ourselves in gratitude lah. I mean to acknowledge the gesture as it is. A gesture of goodwill to smoothen some ruffled feathers. I won't even call it an effort cos it does not take much to do this.

I am no idealist and no I am not delusional. The govt does not have a perfect score card in my books. This step is not going to solve the P1 registration woes. The way I see it, not at all. And seriously, there will never be a process that will please everyone in this P1 registration process. Look at all the debates going on for and against, alumnis, clan, distance, etc, etc. Can argue until cows come home and out again and still no consensus.

Your beef with MOE is beyond P1 registration. Your efforts to be heard and to effect change is commendable. The tactics you have employed is interesting. From logical and gently persuasive to, being caustic and confrontational and dare I say, irritatingly persistent and event at some point flippant (dun :torchme: ok? :please: ). I admire your conviction and even if MOE moves only that 1 inch in the direction you are trying to shove them into, it will lead to great improvements for teachers, students and parents alike.

100% faith in the govt, nah, my 100% faith is reserved for something else. 😉

Nope, not an idealist, not delusional, just a pragmatist with a fair dose of optimism to keep me going.

You're just a blessing to the forum and (I am guessing) to those around you - kids, hubby and friends. Is all. It ain't easy to have strength, dignity and grace all rolled into one. :please:

Admirable? Kekekeke! I've quite given up though. Henceforth, my energies are poured into lining my own pockets. Working hard on testing out my motivation workshops on volunteers... and quickly editing my book. Hopefully, I can turn both into viable businesses. Working hard with Little Boy too.

Argue till the cows come home? Yeah lor... that's why I dun much post there unless it's just for a lark. Need to laugh sometimes. I don't laugh enough. Have too little sense of humour.

resgmom:

I also agree with this author, which I suspect from her name, is one of the newly converted Sg Citizen as well. She'd made excellent points. Though her claim \"永久居民就没有任何机会上大家所谓的“名校”或相对较好的学校\" is not true since PR can still enter the earlier phases through PV/alumni/community connections.

PR, in many situation, is already on almost equal standing with citizens.. like resale public housing etc.. Education is a highly prized asset.. citizens have a natural right to have priority to it.

It is true that needs of PRs, including PR have to be looked into. Hence, they are not denied from our education systems, isn't it? They will still get to attend a school. Not that they are deprived of education.

In summary, as long as PRs are not denied of the basic needs such as education, I don't see why citizens shouldn't have priority over them.

:goodpost:
          If Singaporeans and PRs are given the same benefits, what is the meaning of being a citizen of Singapore ? Here, we value education as a prized asset. Most of the PRs I know do not really see Singapore as a place they will stay for long. Some are here to enjoy salary. Some have been here for many years and turn down citizenship even when offered. Of course, it is not fair to say all PRs have same mentality.

PRs are not deprived of education here...they can still buy flat and send their kids to schools here. Just that they don't get to vote. So as such, Singaporeans should have priority to education.

why lock up the thread ?

let the purist talk, and we shall see who are more pure, and let all the true colour come out lah

no wonder some people say there are more dog in SG ? talking about pedigree and purity ....

okay ..... :siam: :siam: 🦆 🦆

why lock up the thread ?

let the purist talk, and we shall see who are more pure, and let all the true colour come out lah

no wonder some people say there are more dog in SG ? talking about pedigree and purity.
              Sometimes, it's really not 'the more the merrier'. When there is talk on who are pure, it does look ugly. Even if Sir Stamford Raffles settles in Singapore, his descendants are not pure. Their country of origin is not Singapore but England.

blessed777

why lock up the thread ?

no wonder some people say there are more dog in SG ? talking about pedigree and purity.

Sometimes, it's really not 'the more the merrier'. When there is talk on who are pure, it does look ugly. Even if Sir Stamford Raffles settles in Singapore, his descendants are not pure. Their country of origin is not Singapore but England.

errr.. Perhaps Parameswaran decendants as Chen suggested.. or Abraham's according to verykiasu2010 .. :evil: :siam:

why lock up the thread ?

just let them reveal how ugly they are or how narrow they wish to be, as long as it is not you ...... everyone is entitled to their own thoughts.....and in these great sharing of mind and thoughts, who knows, by your own generosity and open mindedness, you may have made a positive impact on the other poster's mind / mental process, and you could have changed life by your positive sharings ....

if you censor it, the opposing views may not get aired and could have resulted in tangible negative actions being taken by them based on the narrow thinking ?

• iRabbitI Offline
                    iRabbit

I believe goatee is right in asking us to reflect. The things that I am reading these days make me feel that we are an ugly intolerant a bunch of bigots.
                    I don't want to appear to be vindictive and I'm certainly not harping on old points here.

Just wanna know who's goatee? The only goatee I know is on the chin. :?

Chenonceau

FQW:

I believe goatee is right in asking us to reflect. The things that I am reading these days make me feel that we are an ugly intolerant a bunch of bigots.

I don't want to appear to be vindictive and I'm certainly not harping on old points here.

Just wanna know who's goatee? The only goatee I know is on the chin. :?

Girl talk. 😉

Hint 1: Horse
                      Hint 2: Pin-up MP
                      Hint 3: Chin

• iRabbitI Offline
                        iRabbit

Girl talk. 😉

Hint 1: Horse
                        Hint 2: Pin-up MP
                        Hint 3: Chin
                        Orh, the very photogenic boyish looking MP issit?

So desu ne (whoa, I'm inadvertently revealing my multi-language linguistic skills here). 😆

Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.

• 60 / 66

Amber2018A
                        Amber2018