All About Autism
Helplessmum
If your son is like mine, dun need to really teach. Just read to him daily. My boy picked up reading on his own. We just read to him from when he could sit up. Then he just learned to read by himself. For the more difficult parts of reading, he learned in school. I think also because he couldn’t be bothered to interact with other pp, he spent a lot of his time reading and it really increased his knowledge.
He is a visual spatial learner so instead of phonics, he learnt by sight. He rather his teachers read the word that he couldn’t and he could remember how to pronounce it after that. Even when he couldn’t pronounce it, he figured out the meaning of the words from the whole sentence I think. I dun really know how he decipher this. He had just memorized tv scripts of a documentary on the formation of solar systems. I think he more or less understood what those astrophysicists were saying. Frankly, I don’t.
This is so different from my younger one. I have to actually teach her word by word. So like I said, all have their strengths and weaknesses.
From the IQ test, u should be able to find out his strength. Take advantage of that and use it to help him blossom. -
Lavendry
Wow! 2 yrs old! That's very early!
mashy:
cool right, i never read to my son.. as i hate reading myself..Lavendry
Wow! 2 yrs old! That's very early!
lavendery:
Just read more story books to him or watch more educational DVDs. My girl started reading at 2yrs++ old. Slowly when they are expose to more and more words, their reading literacy will start to kick in.
For calculations, so far I only teach simple addition to her. Hmm using things to add up. Eg 1 + 1 = 2
You can use objects (anything) to help let him visualize
any book for recommendation ? or any dvd?
jus read or point words to words to him? -
mashy:
your son is another genius.Helplessmum
If your son is like mine, dun need to really teach. Just read to him daily. My boy picked up reading on his own. We just read to him from when he could sit up. Then he just learned to read by himself. For the more difficult parts of reading, he learned in school. I think also because he couldn't be bothered to interact with other pp, he spent a lot of his time reading and it really increased his knowledge.
He is a visual spatial learner so instead of phonics, he learnt by sight. He rather his teachers read the word that he couldn't and he could remember how to pronounce it after that. Even when he couldn't pronounce it, he figured out the meaning of the words from the whole sentence I think. I dun really know how he decipher this. He had just memorized tv scripts of a documentary on the formation of solar systems. I think he more or less understood what those astrophysicists were saying. Frankly, I don't.
This is so different from my younger one. I have to actually teach her word by word. So like I said, all have their strengths and weaknesses.
From the IQ test, u should be able to find out his strength. Take advantage of that and use it to help him blossom.
anybook for my son? -
He picked up his alphabets from leapfrog letter word factory. We read a great variety of books. Not just a single book so can’t tell u what books are good.
now i try to recall, in my entire life i only read 2books.
nugget:
Not knowing if every choice we made for our kid is right or not........... Experts and therapists giving their opinions which you feel its untrue and unfair due to the short time they spent with your child.
I am facing the same things here, nugget, understand what you are saying. Me too right now have stopped meeting those OTs (KKH OT told me my boy does not need OT and private one I ownself drop due to my boy uncooperative) and if possible don't want to talk \"special needs talk\" if I can help it. So tiring and discouraging to talk to some of the more negative ones or those therapist who work with more severe cases.
For some reason I get very annoyed when one of the more \"negative\" therapist asked me how many times my boy have \"meltdowns\"? Or how \"task avoidance\" he is, and how \"clumsy\" he is, and told me parents should not insist on going mainstream, must be open to special needs schools etc.
My boy does have speech-delay but I don't think he has any social problems nor do I fully believe his \"label\". But once you are on the \"special needs\" track/circuit, all the standard special-needs talk kicks in. Tandrums=meltdowns, stubborn=strong task-avoidance, like to do whatever he likes=very own agenda. Even to the extent some would suggest some talents which I have not observed for eg. one suggest my boy would be very good at art because \"such kids\" are very visual. But the way I see it, my boy does not really like colouring and he has no patient to produce nice colouring works!
To a certain extent in order to follow your own gut-feel, you need to shut out all such noises. Then do your own research to see what you are planning to do is feasible or not.
Anyway, I have a lot to learn from all you mummies and thank you very much for being so open to share your experiences!
:hugs: -
desertwind … ya lor they already fix tat what our child will be like…
the therapist ask , yr son like lining up stuff din he? i say no leh… she look at me like disbelieve!!! my son lining up 3 balls, the she look & stare hard, then later the 4th ball, my son place in group … (NO lining up then, then she write down something on it!!! gosh…
what are these protocol about!!!
why they jump into conclusion?!!
hate talking to these people who are so protocol!!!
ask me does my son like to spin things!!! i say no le. another disbelieve look at me !! gosh… test yrself la. GOSH. -
all in all my son is very flexible , no fix route noting is fix to him…
gosh… then she say, ur son kinda insist on his way type!! gosh… kids at this age normal or special needs child also will act some kind of stubbornness may!!!
actually jus for vaccumm cleaner case for… my son will cry whenever its start… i ask my fern, does her son scare of vacuum cleaner, she say YEs leh. she is a normal kid de…
jus like Temple Mention, sensory issue happen to any single of us, whether ASD or normal…
Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.