All About Autism
helplessmum3:
No la. My no 2 is just normal kid. Maybe he is a bit faster than his peers. I dun believe he is way advanced.
yr 2yo is sooo clever..
my son know 1-100 and he know how to counts already,
jus duno how to add or abract or mathetics.
A-Z , small & big oso know, spelling a few words. read in setence duno yet.
i worry he lack behind...
His kor kor (the one with ASD) at this age already read in sentences. That time I thought I have a gifted child, who knows he turned out to be ASD. Every child got their strength.. yours can count to 100 and can spell already. Even better than my 4 year old.
Keep talking to your doctors and the therapist to find out his strengths and weakness. Help him to focus on his strength and lessen his weaknesses. Your kid is only 2.5 year old, early intervention will really help him a lot if u start early. -
Helplessmum
I think your kid is about same age as my NT gal. My gal so far knows her a-z. Count 1-10. Can read only those sight words that I taught her repeatedly like up, is, am.
So your boy is rather advanced acad already. Don’t worry. U should be more concerned about his social skills. When my boy was this age, I sent him to school not to learn acad stuff but to pick up social skills which he lacked. At 2.5, u shouldn’t be worried about acad work. even for a normal kid, it should be in the lower priority. It’s the time to teach about sharing, social skills, listening to instructions etc.
Nugget
My gal is also behind my boy in terms of acad stuff but she can converse better with me than what he is doing now! -
mashy:
Ya ya. Same here. And no 2 is also helping his kor kor a lot either through playing or through fighting lol.. Now sometimes kor kor cannot stand the didi and will start scolding him as well and will say \"mummy, you see didi, naughty boy!\".Helplessmum
Nugget
My gal is also behind my boy in terms of acad stuff but she can converse better with me than what he is doing now! -
hi all
to side track abit, can i know where to buy leapfrog dvds and books?
i can only find it online tho.i want to get it for my ds2, who is turning 16 months soon.
he is only interested in watching drama series. :siao:
keep laughing and gluing himself tightly to the sofa when my mum is watching it .
Oh ya. I hav stopped tv n such already.
I worry if I introduce DVD to my son, he will not progress on personal response , will he? DVD will not helpful to ASD right? -
Chibi
I got mine from overseas. But u can also buy from popular. It’s slightly more ex there though. -
mashy:
Helplessmum
I think your kid is about same age as my NT gal. My gal so far knows her a-z. Count 1-10. Can read only those sight words that I taught her repeatedly like up, is, am.
So your boy is rather advanced acad already. Don't worry. U should be more concerned about his social skills. When my boy was this age, I sent him to school not to learn acad stuff but to pick up social skills which he lacked. At 2.5, u shouldn't be worried about acad work. even for a normal kid, it should be in the lower priority. It's the time to teach about sharing, social skills, listening to instructions etc.
Nugget
My gal is also behind my boy in terms of acad stuff but she can converse better with me than what he is doing now!
Ok understand now. Recently I find out tat go school is bad for my son ESP full day. -
Kids at child care already know how to manipulate teachers n situation whereas our child cannot.
For example kids there throw or hitting my son, my son just SIAM it. Only until he can’t bear anymore he will go act on that bad kids. But when my son react these kids know how to complaints to teacher. In return my son seems to be misbehave child. As prior scene teachers are unaware what happen cuz the class size are so big.
My son being victimize . -
And in NURSERy 1, alot Of time is free n easy kids are playing their own toys n such.
Now tat a issue . ESP they duno how to socialize n imaginary play. End up ASD will go
Into their own world … Worse esp bullies come
And teacher there will not guide ASD child what does it means by these instructions . No response they just give up n leave them cuz the class is big -
Heart pain!! I need to work full time . Total helpless
Teachers are stereotype and think ASD are always hav attitude or meltdown problem.
So if my son react to bullies teacher will say ASD attitude :’ (
Total helpless and we can’t complaint as school already accommodating our ASD child to be in school
Worst still my son will get the wrong idea tat he shouldn’t react to bullies arghhhhh
Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.