Principal of top school under investigation for hiring prost
Yup, though he did say to the woman at the well \"Go, and sin no more\"...For those of us who are Christians... the bible is kinder to fallen women than we are. I am not saying that prostitution should be an honoured profession. I am just saying that prostitutes also deserve forgiveness. Straying men too...
Rahab was a prostitute. Rahab (Hebrews 11:31 and James 2:25) who married Salmon was singularly honoured in the bible because her lineage produced King David, all the kings of Judah... and Jesus.
Genesis 38:26
Tamar dressed up as a prostitute to seduce her father-in-law in order to get him to honour his responsibilities towards her in a time where without a responsible male to provide for her, she would starve. Judah, her father-in-law, had this to say of her “She is more righteous than I, since I wouldn’t give her to my son Shelah (to look after her).”
Matthew 21:31
Jesus said to them, “Truly I tell you, the tax collectors and the prostitutes are entering the kingdom of God ahead of you.
Luke 7
36 When one of the Pharisees invited Jesus to have dinner with him, he went to the Pharisee’s house and reclined at the table. 37 A woman in that town who lived a sinful life learned that Jesus was eating at the Pharisee’s house, so she came there with an alabaster jar of perfume. 38 As she stood behind him at his feet weeping, she began to wet his feet with her tears. Then she wiped them with her hair, kissed them and poured perfume on them.
44 Then he turned toward the woman and said to Simon, “Do you see this woman? I came into your house. You did not give me any water for my feet, but she wet my feet with her tears and wiped them with her hair. 45 You did not give me a kiss, but this woman, from the time I entered, has not stopped kissing my feet. 46 You did not put oil on my head, but she has poured perfume on my feet. 47 Therefore, I tell you, her many sins have been forgiven—as her great love has shown. But whoever has been forgiven little loves little.” -
toddles:
Then we agree?
Yup, though he did say to the woman at the well \"Go, and sin no more\"...Chenonceau:
For those of us who are Christians... the bible is kinder to fallen women than we are. I am not saying that prostitution should be an honoured profession. I am just saying that prostitutes also deserve forgiveness. Straying men too...
Rahab was a prostitute. Rahab (Hebrews 11:31 and James 2:25) who married Salmon was singularly honoured in the bible because her lineage produced King David, all the kings of Judah... and Jesus.
Tamar dressed up as a prostitute to seduce her father-in-law in order to get him to honour his responsibilities towards her in a time where without a responsible male to provide for her, she would starve. Judah, her father-in-law, had this to say of her “She is more righteous than I, since I wouldn’t give her to my son Shelah (to look after her).”
Jesus said to them, “Truly I tell you, the tax collectors and the prostitutes are entering the kingdom of God ahead of you.
Luke 7
36 When one of the Pharisees invited Jesus to have dinner with him, he went to the Pharisee’s house and reclined at the table. 37 A woman in that town who lived a sinful life learned that Jesus was eating at the Pharisee’s house, so she came there with an alabaster jar of perfume. 38 As she stood behind him at his feet weeping, she began to wet his feet with her tears. Then she wiped them with her hair, kissed them and poured perfume on them.
44 Then he turned toward the woman and said to Simon, “Do you see this woman? I came into your house. You did not give me any water for my feet, but she wet my feet with her tears and wiped them with her hair. 45 You did not give me a kiss, but this woman, from the time I entered, has not stopped kissing my feet. 46 You did not put oil on my head, but she has poured perfume on my feet. 47 Therefore, I tell you, her many sins have been forgiven—as her great love has shown. But whoever has been forgiven little loves little.”
The notion of repentance/forgiveness is also implicit in every one of the other examples quoted above. I don't think the bible condones prostitution nor honours it. The bible acknowledges that such sin is part of the human condition... and provides Grace to deal with it. -
Then we agree?
Yup, though he did say to the woman at the well \"Go, and sin no more\"...toddles:
[quote=\"Chenonceau\"]For those of us who are Christians... the bible is kinder to fallen women than we are. I am not saying that prostitution should be an honoured profession. I am just saying that prostitutes also deserve forgiveness. Straying men too...
Luke 7
44 Then he turned toward the woman and said to Simon, “Do you see this woman? I came into your house. You did not give me any water for my feet, but she wet my feet with her tears and wiped them with her hair. 45 You did not give me a kiss, but this woman, from the time I entered, has not stopped kissing my feet. 46 You did not put oil on my head, but she has poured perfume on my feet. 47 Therefore, I tell you, her many sins have been forgiven—as her great love has shown. But whoever has been forgiven little loves little.”
The notion of repentance/forgiveness is also implicit in every one of the other examples quoted above. I don't think the bible condones prostitution nor honours it. The bible acknowledges that such sin is part of the human condition... and provides Grace to deal with it.[/quote]Yup agree. The texts above hit out at the hypocrisy of the Pharisees as white-washed tombs. They neither glamourise prostitution or create a special niche in heaven for prostitutes by virtue (pun not intended) of their profession (but profession of faith is another thing). Texts illustrate how those who have sinned much are forgiven much when they repent.
All sin is sin, big sin not greater than small sin in God's eyes, though we shall all have to give an account specifically etc etc. I've mentioned before in the forum, who of us has not told a lie? cheated with parking coupons? done things that we're ashamed of, and resolved not to do again? So why throw stones?
At the same time, it's clear that scripture deems prostitution as sin. Whilst we don't vilify those involved, it's deemed wrong, clear and simple. It's something to be repented of, not to be perpetuated as morally neutral. -
toddles:
Yes dear... you've got me there. I concede the point and shift from my initial position. I was just disturbed by how people were just vilifying the girl and the men... and took a position slightly more extreme than was correct.
Yup agree. The texts above hit out at the hypocrisy of the Pharisees as white-washed tombs. They neither glamourise prostitution or create a special niche in heaven for prostitutes by virtue (pun not intended) of their profession (but profession of faith is another thing). Texts illustrate how those who have sinned much are forgiven much when they repent.
All sin is sin, big sin not greater than small sin in God's eyes, though we shall all have to give an account specifically etc etc. I've mentioned before in the forum, who of us has not told a lie? cheated with parking coupons? done things that we're ashamed of, and resolved not to do again? So why throw stones?
At the same time, it's clear that scripture deems prostitution as sin. Whilst we don't vilify those involved, it's deemed wrong, clear and simple. It's something to be repented of, not to be perpetuated as morally neutral.
I concede the point. :imsorry: It is sin. Clear and simple. Thank you for holding me to accountability for my words because words have power. -
toddles:
:goodpost:
Yup agree. The texts above hit out at the hypocrisy of the Pharisees as white-washed tombs. They neither glamourise prostitution or create a special niche in heaven for prostitutes by virtue (pun not intended) of their profession (but profession of faith is another thing). Texts illustrate how those who have sinned much are forgiven much when they repent.
At the same time, it's clear that scripture deems prostitution as sin. Whilst we don't vilify those involved, it's deemed wrong, clear and simple. It's something to be repented of, not to be perpetuated as morally neutral. -
:hugs: no prob, sista. Just got a bit concerned there - had visions of the line of thought careening off a cliff... I need to remind myself all the time too, tend to speak too quickly (need to be 'quick to listen, slow to speak, slow to become angry'...)
Yes dear... you've got me there. I concede the point and shift from my initial position. I was just disturbed by how people were just vilifying the girl and the men... and took a position slightly more extreme than was correct.toddles:
At the same time, it's clear that scripture deems prostitution as sin. Whilst we don't vilify those involved, it's deemed wrong, clear and simple. It's something to be repented of, not to be perpetuated as morally neutral.
I concede the point. :imsorry: It is sin. Clear and simple. Thank you for holding me to accountability for my words because words have power. -
Yup felt that too.I was just disturbed by how people were just vilifying the girl and the men... and took a position slightly more extreme than was correct.
:udawoman:
Yes dear... you've got me there. I concede the point and shift from my initial position. I was just disturbed by how people were just vilifying the girl and the men... and took a position slightly more extreme than was correct.toddles:
toddles:
your exchanges very the chim leh!! :scratchhead:
:hugs: no prob, sista. I need to remind myself all the time too. -
blessed777:
:whut:
:udawoman:
Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.