rykiel:
i nt too sure if its normal, but my agent frm nation say she can help me get to call the maid to talk to her n i can ask her some questions first. er i din ask leh. i tink they shud b able to get another one for me to 'interview'? but out of so many i only chose oen. actually my first time so i do not know ok or not ok. haha scali they ask any maid to talk to me i also oh okokokok. oops. n there's no cost for the call. included in agency fee liaos.[/quote]Why don't you prepare a list of questions that you wanna ask and then pose them during the interview. You may have some questions that are specific to your household and you can then gauge from how they answer you. Just for your info, I got mine from nation also and from my experience with them, the bio datas of their Indo maids are mostly not accurate even right down to their age. So you really need to know how to ask.
1. Is it normal to place a $200 deposit? what happens to this deposit if you do not like what happens at the \"conference\" interviewHard Truth:
[quote=\"rykiel\"]
doim GOT from yishun nation lehs. hmm just $200 deposit thou. monday gg for a 'conference interview' with the filipino. what to ask her ar? jus nw whn i was there a aunty came in to 'return' maid cos she duno hw to wash toilet for 2mth n has a hp.
the maid still in her hometown nw. agent say she can assist to call her mobile than conference call to me so that i can speak to her n talk to her n ask her some questions.
2. Before thinking about the questions to ask, how do you know that the person whom you are going to talk with is the maid that you are going to hire??
3. Who is going to bear the costs of the \"conference\" call? From your $200 deposit?
And my advise to you is that you can interview as many as you want until you are satisfied with one, but they only allow you to interview 2 candidates at any one time. So unless you are desperate, take your time to choose. I agree with you that if there's no video conf, you wouldn't know for sure if you are speaking to the actual candidate, but I think for phil it is quite safe. -
Seems like this period before May quite hard to get indo maid. After May the fees will be crazy high!!!
Like that only can get Phil maid but need off days… Headache!!! -
Hiaweh:
Why don't you prepare a list of questions that you wanna ask and then pose them during the interview. You may have some questions that are specific to your household and you can then gauge from how they answer you. Just for your info, I got mine from nation also and from my experience with them, the bio datas of their Indo maids are mostly not accurate even right down to their age. So you really need to know how to ask. And my advise to you is that you can interview as many as you want until you are satisfied with one, but they only allow you to interview 2 candidates at any one time. So unless you are desperate, take your time to choose. I agree with you that if there's no video conf, you wouldn't know for sure if you are speaking to the actual candidate, but I think for phil it is quite safe.
u scaring me =\\ i chose one, the rest all 看不上。 got one i saw wrk in sg b4. but 10mth 2hse. but actually is din complete contract n duno is went back or sent back, frm nation also. my boy also like , he say this 'aunty' i like. haha. now change another one he ok la. he say ok also. popi bah. maid is reali on luck hor. hais..
i realli dk wad to ask. mayb ask her how do u prepare a bottle of milk? how u make porridge? can u operate a vacuum/machine/dryer/electric stove? do u coach ur son in his studies?(she has a 6YO), what r the duties at ur x employers hse as a babysitter? i realli DK! wonder if they sound dumb to u all. any advise? -
rykiel:
Ok. The advise I got from the agent was that don't pick those that didn't complete contract. Try to gauge from their tone of voice and you should be able to gauge if they are enthusiastic about coming here to work. If you need her to cook, then ask her if she can cook, what type of dishes she can cook and does she cook for her family. If she say she can cook Chinese food then ask her to name a dish and tell you the ingredients and steps on how to cook it. If she can't means she's just trying to pull a fast one. But those that has no experience here won't be able to cook our local food. However, those with initiative will tell you that she is willing to learn if you teach her.Hiaweh:
Why don't you prepare a list of questions that you wanna ask and then pose them during the interview. You may have some questions that are specific to your household and you can then gauge from how they answer you. Just for your info, I got mine from nation also and from my experience with them, the bio datas of their Indo maids are mostly not accurate even right down to their age. So you really need to know how to ask. And my advise to you is that you can interview as many as you want until you are satisfied with one, but they only allow you to interview 2 candidates at any one time. So unless you are desperate, take your time to choose. I agree with you that if there's no video conf, you wouldn't know for sure if you are speaking to the actual candidate, but I think for phil it is quite safe.
u scaring me =\\ i chose one, the rest all 看不上。 got one i saw wrk in sg b4. but 10mth 2hse. but actually is din complete contract n duno is went back or sent back, frm nation also. my boy also like , he say this 'aunty' i like. haha. now change another one he ok la. he say ok also. popi bah. maid is reali on luck hor. hais..
i realli dk wad to ask. mayb ask her how do u prepare a bottle of milk? how u make porridge? can u operate a vacuum/machine/dryer/electric stove? do u coach ur son in his studies?(she has a 6YO), what r the duties at ur x employers hse as a babysitter? i realli DK! wonder if they sound dumb to u all. any advise?
As far as electrical apliances are concerned, you still need to show her when she's here coz different model operates differently, so not quite applicable.
Ask her what is her purpose of coming here to work? Those who have aged parents or children to support may be more reliable as they have commitments. Those with children ask who will be taking care of them when she's away. At least she comes here with peace of mind knowing that her children are in good hands.
Before you conclude, ask her if she has any questions for you. Do not tell her of your expectations of her in the beginning so that it can prompt her to ask you what is expected of her. If she doesn't, then she probably just wanna get out of her country and not much of initiative. -
Hiaweh:
Ok. The advise I got from the agent was that don't pick those that didn't complete contract. Try to gauge from their tone of voice and you should be able to gauge if they are enthusiastic about coming here to work. If you need her to cook, then ask her if she can cook, what type of dishes she can cook and does she cook for her family. If she say she can cook Chinese food then ask her to name a dish and tell you the ingredients and steps on how to cook it. If she can't means she's just trying to pull a fast one. But those that has no experience here won't be able to cook our local food. However, those with initiative will tell you that she is willing to learn if you teach her.rykiel:
[quote=\"Hiaweh\"]Why don't you prepare a list of questions that you wanna ask and then pose them during the interview. You may have some questions that are specific to your household and you can then gauge from how they answer you. Just for your info, I got mine from nation also and from my experience with them, the bio datas of their Indo maids are mostly not accurate even right down to their age. So you really need to know how to ask. And my advise to you is that you can interview as many as you want until you are satisfied with one, but they only allow you to interview 2 candidates at any one time. So unless you are desperate, take your time to choose. I agree with you that if there's no video conf, you wouldn't know for sure if you are speaking to the actual candidate, but I think for phil it is quite safe.
i realli dk wad to ask. mayb ask her how do u prepare a bottle of milk? how u make porridge? can u operate a vacuum/machine/dryer/electric stove? do u coach ur son in his studies?(she has a 6YO), what r the duties at ur x employers hse as a babysitter? i realli DK! wonder if they sound dumb to u all. any advise?
great thanks for the guidelines. tmr i shall rush hm after wrk sit dwn n get ready to ask her all the questions. but nw i still thinking , what if shes not the maid that i wan get. as in, scali the person im talkin to is nt the person im employing. hahaha
As far as electrical apliances are concerned, you still need to show her when she's here coz different model operates differently, so not quite applicable.
Ask her what is her purpose of coming here to work? Those who have aged parents or children to support may be more reliable as they have commitments. Those with children ask who will be taking care of them when she's away. At least she comes here with peace of mind knowing that her children are in good hands.
Before you conclude, ask her if she has any questions for you. Do not tell her of your expectations of her in the beginning so that it can prompt her to ask you what is expected of her. If she doesn't, then she probably just wanna get out of her country and not much of initiative.[/quote]u scaring me =\\ i chose one, the rest all 看不上。 got one i saw wrk in sg b4. but 10mth 2hse. but actually is din complete contract n duno is went back or sent back, frm nation also. my boy also like , he say this 'aunty' i like. haha. now change another one he ok la. he say ok also. popi bah. maid is reali on luck hor. hais.. -
I need a replacement maid for my mother. Existing one contract expiring in few months’ time and she wants to go home already. If not for the maid changes wef 1 May 2012, I would have taken my time to find a replacement. Now, after calling Nation who supplied me this current maid, agent told me to go down IMMEDIATELY to hire one to come in by end April in order to be under the old contract!
So I rushed down almost same day and asked her to help me source for one replacement maid. For good measure I brought my mother down too so that she can choose her own maid instead of relying on me and then complaining this, that and the other! The agent actually said maids cannot tell one, employer can only choose base on the looks whether they like the type of look or not, that’s all. Bio-data also cannot believe since they are filled up by the maid supplier’s of the home country.
My mum chosed an ex-HK. I asked agent why she does not want to go back to HK want to come here now? Agent said she will call to interview the maid and asked her for me. Turned out maid said in HK too many leave she does not want. Also agent said from her interview the maid seems ok not like those with an attitude type.
Hope this one will turn out OK. Wish me the best!
DesertWind:
Why didn't you interview her yourself? At least you hear it from the horse's mouth otherwise if she dispute what the agent said what you gonna do?I need a replacement maid for my mother. Existing one contract expiring in few months' time and she wants to go home already. If not for the maid changes wef 1 May 2012, I would have taken my time to find a replacement. Now, after calling Nation who supplied me this current maid, agent told me to go down IMMEDIATELY to hire one to come in by end April in order to be under the old contract!
So I rushed down almost same day and asked her to help me source for one replacement maid. For good measure I brought my mother down too so that she can choose her own maid instead of relying on me and then complaining this, that and the other! The agent actually said maids cannot tell one, employer can only choose base on the looks whether they like the type of look or not, that's all. Bio-data also cannot believe since they are filled up by the maid supplier's of the home country.
My mum chosed an ex-HK. I asked agent why she does not want to go back to HK want to come here now? Agent said she will call to interview the maid and asked her for me. Turned out maid said in HK too many leave she does not want. Also agent said from her interview the maid seems ok not like those with an attitude type.
Hi Hiaweh,
Actually I din know we can interview over the phone! Thought we can only do the interview if it is a transfer maid already in SG or in the agent’s office! But anyway, we went during a public holiday so the agent told us the Indon. side is also a holiday and she can only call and interview the next day. I am OK, in fact, we are relying on the agent to help us source out an ok maid since with their experience should be able to tell better than us. Ya…a bit of blind faith here…but then I AM keeping my fingers crossed!
DesertWind:
The agent actually said maids cannot tell one, employer can only choose base on the looks whether they like the type of look or not, that's all. Bio-data also cannot believe since they are filled up by the maid supplier's of the home country.
yes, bio data sometimes not reliable. telephone call also not reliable cos you dont know who you are talking to at the other end.
All the Best !
:xedfingers:
DesertWind:
helloes, the one u chose was a transfer maid har? did u do the interview on ur own or the agent did it for u? i gg do the interview conference tmr=) popi me luck whn i tell her i need her to look after newborn she dun turn me down.I need a replacement maid for my mother. Existing one contract expiring in few months' time and she wants to go home already. If not for the maid changes wef 1 May 2012, I would have taken my time to find a replacement. Now, after calling Nation who supplied me this current maid, agent told me to go down IMMEDIATELY to hire one to come in by end April in order to be under the old contract!
So I rushed down almost same day and asked her to help me source for one replacement maid. For good measure I brought my mother down too so that she can choose her own maid instead of relying on me and then complaining this, that and the other! The agent actually said maids cannot tell one, employer can only choose base on the looks whether they like the type of look or not, that's all. Bio-data also cannot believe since they are filled up by the maid supplier's of the home country.
Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.