All About Autism
Life is so unfair !!
Whenever I go toys shop n see others kids… Yyyyyy so unfair others can hav normal kids y can’t I!!! -
helplessmum3:
Hi helplessmum,Life is so unfair !!
Whenever I go toys shop n see others kids.... Yyyyyy so unfair others can hav normal kids y can't I??!!
How are you? Not a very good day for you too?
Me too today my boi naughty and fussy so I \"bochap\" him very angry don't \"hew\" him for a while. He cried when he saw I bochap him and then he tried to be obedient be quiet because he knew mummy very angry with him.
Quite depressing when things don't really go well in the day and hard to handle our boys ya?
But today I really ta boleh tahan so in the afternoon told my husband I need to pray and then lie down on bed for a couple of hours to rest. My boi came to lie down on the bed beside me and he rested too.
Now he is sleeping nicely already.
You also get a good rest ok? -
Sob! Dersertwind. Thank you. My husband too can’t substain for long …I managing two "boys" now… Hiaz…
Pray ? Hiaz been praying … All this are God plan one mah… Y HE so unfair …
I try to rest, thanks n u rest well too… -
same here. dd3 has been throwing tantrums during this period. everything is ‘no, no, no’. doesnt want to wear clothes she doesnt like, doesnt want to step into the shopping centre, doesnt want to go shower, doesnt want her lunch/dinner, doesnt want to do deskwork … and when she doesnt want something, she shouts and hits her head hard with her hands.
the whole process of getting her to calm down and doing her daily essentials (not even talking about anything additional on top of essentials) can be exhausting … -
ImMeeMee.
Oh nO. What happen? Is she unwell? What did her OT advise in such situation how shd u handle her?
If she shout or yell, u try to ignore her then once she cool down . U try to tell her firmly n calmly of what u want her to do again. -
helplessmum3:
hmm.. did u use it b4?[/quote]I never really do the PECS program cos my child is verbal.nugget:
[quote=\"helplessmum3\"]Mummies , hav u heard of PECS? what do u think of it? U think is good ?
If I am not wrong, PECS is useful for younger kids and for children who are non verbal.
There are useful pictures in PECS website which you can print out, make it into a sequence and tell your kids how to brush teeth, go toilet etc. I find them useful.
However I made use of pictures material (similar to PECS) do to schedule/sequence board for helping my kid to get to bed and potty training.
I got my material from this website.
http://www.do2learn.com/picturecards/printcards/index.htm -
ImMeeMee:
Have you all attended this session conducted by KKH called \"Signpost\"? Its about managing difficult behaviour in children. It can be applied to special needs / NT children.same here. dd3 has been throwing tantrums during this period. everything is 'no, no, no'. doesnt want to wear clothes she doesnt like, doesnt want to step into the shopping centre, doesnt want to go shower, doesnt want her lunch/dinner, doesnt want to do deskwork ... and when she doesnt want something, she shouts and hits her head hard with her hands.
the whole process of getting her to calm down and doing her daily essentials (not even talking about anything additional on top of essentials) can be exhausting ...
I think somehow my kid is better behave after I went through this course. It teaches us how not to give in to the kid when they are behaving badly, only rewarding them on good behaviour, preempting family activities and watch out for ques when they are going to flare tantrums.
Last time, for a while, we dare not even dare to dine out cos my son will just walk out of the restaurant after finishes his meal or will hide under the table. :imdrowning:
These few weeks we managed to dine out successful *phew* without him throwing any tantrums. I am still learning the process. Its not a foolproof method but it somehow helps to minimize the occurrence.
Nugget, at rainbow center they use pecs for both verbal n non verbal.
My son is verbal toO but they say this will help the verbal group too…
Worry n confuse . Rainbow hav structure learning jus for autistic other eipic centre do not have -
nugget:
Hi nugget,Have you all attended this session conducted by KKH called \"Signpost\"? Its about managing difficult behaviour in children. It can be applied to special needs / NT children......
Last time, for a while, we dare not even dare to dine out cos my son will just walk out of the restaurant after finishes his meal or will hide under the table. :imdrowning:
No, have not gone to \"signpost\" although I have heard of it. But I will be attending a workshop on how to handle difficult behaviour conducted by an overseas special needs teacher soon! In a couple of weeks time. Both hubby and I are looking forward to it as we feel the need to attend as I think we are giving in to our boi a little too much. My boi usually behaves well with his kindy teachers and other people (ie. when we are not with him) but with us parents, he behaves really badly whining non-stop! I am beginning to think we must be the problem...jia lat...got to go attend parenting course!
As for dining out, so far my boy OK. Same here, once he finishes, he will just run out of the restaurant! :yikes: So after we know his \"pattern\", we will ensure one of us always eat very quickly, as quickly as him if not faster, then run out together with him! Same thing, after eating he will crawl underneath the table - most times to escape the \"trap\" and recently, although he did not run out, he just stayed underneath the table - yikes! :mad: But overall, OK lah, because he likes to eat and he can eat nicely so it is usually not a problem for us to bring him out.
Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.