All About Autism
Helplessmum,
Dun be so stress. My kid is only diagnose at 3yrs 8months, even much later.
Its never too late unless you refuse to help your child. Always have faith and you boy really sounds smart to me.
I also bo pian sent him for private speech therapy. Cos his EIPIC dun have a in house SLT and KKH dun give any slots of their KKH Speech therapy cos they say he is already in EIPIC. I have no choice but pay through the nose
Mine was diagnosed only just before 6 yrs old. He started therapies at 4+β¦
U all therapist first then get diagnose? Why ah?
Hiaz I never ever see kids the same way anymore β¦ -
nugget:
the therapists and teachers will never commit to an answer, though one therapist did comment that dd3 is high functioning ASD. but until we do the psychological assessment, we will never know the answer. then again, even with the psychological assessment, it is dependent on a lot of external factors, so i have come to stop challenging the system. we just do what we can to help our child.ImMeeMee,
Not kiasu lar. I even sign up for Parent Volunteer leh
I even more kiasu and I dont even know if my kid is ready for P1 or not. All my efforts might goes into drain.
Did you ask your EIPIC teachers if they think your dd3 will be ready by then? Can I ask which EIPIC center you are in?
I have asked my pte SLT and EIPIC teachers if my boy will be ready or not. However, they did not give me concrete answers. I think they are afraid that I held them accountable if they say yes. Anyway, based on my own judgement, I think I will proceed to give my boy a chance to enroll in P1 next year. Some mummies in this forum saw tremendous improvement after their child goes P1. My kid already hates going to his mainstream CC everyday. I really hate to defer him one more year. I think somehow in his mind, he already program to dislike going to CC even though I saw him enjoying himself at CC sometimes.
Hopefully he will like his Primary School in 2 years time. If he really cannot adjust then I will queue up again to get him into pathlight. At least I feel I give him a chance for a normal environment for him to strive! In fact we are coaching him to do those nursery and K1 worksheets we bought from popular. So far he needs a lot of prompting and time to get him to do those worksheets.
Sometimes I feel I am quite \"evil\", expecting him to be normal. I also dunno if I am pushing him too much or am i moving in right direction or not? But we felt we need to give him a chance, if he failed to strive, I know i can go to those sped schools knowing that he cannot cope in NT environment.
Sorry for writing so much. Hope u understand what i am talking about. Heh heh.
i know what you mean by the 'evil' thoughts thing. just to share, i used to harbour high hopes for dd3 to go p1 by 7yo, but i have come to realize that there is no point in pushing her (and pushing myself and everyone around me) if she is not ready.
each ASD child is different with different potential, and there are different perspectives to take in this matter. Acutually i also can understand what you mean by giving your child a chance to try mainstream first. you know, even with my plan to defer, i do sometimes wonder whether i am going in the right direction and whether i am taking away the chances that dd3 deserves.
:sad: -
helplessmum3:
it takes longer to make an appointment to do a psychological assessment to confirm the diagnosis, while therapy appintments can be made almost immediately.U all therapist first then get diagnose? Why ah?
Hiaz I never ever see kids the same way anymore ...
that was our experience in the private setting, so we went with therapy first while we waited for the psychology assessment. -
There is a forum end of may and one end June by moe and kkh for those children going p1 next year. Hv u received the letter? Maybe u can attend to see.
mashy:
There is a forum end of may and one end June by moe and kkh for those children going p1 next year. Hv u received the letter? Maybe u can attend to see.
Mashy,
ImMeeMee and my kid are born in 2007, our enrollment is only next year. But we KS lar. Already start seeing now. But the schools near me all are quite lousy in terms of supporting special needs kids. I visited the school, asked how they support ASD kids and if they have ASD kids in their school. The P and VP like dunno like that and give very vague answers :shock:
I really worry my kid will be left all alone if I enroll him/her. And my friend who is a teacher told me some schools their Allied Educators will not help but just route these kids to Pathlight without helping them at all. Makes me even more worry.
Therefore I am already starting to look around schools in my area. THere is one school which support ASD children but unfortunately it is a quite popular school as well. Hence that's why I need to do PV in order to get my son into phase 2B. Else there is no chance for him to enter as I live >1km away.
Anyway I feel my son has the potential to enroll into P1. I still have 1.5 years to prep him... -
ImMeeMee:
Yup I am as unsure as you. :hugs: But I decided to take the plunge and give him a push as we have seen improvement in him. The most if he really cannot cope, then enroll him into pathlight again.
each ASD child is different with different potential, and there are different perspectives to take in this matter. Actually i also can understand what you mean by giving your child a chance to try mainstream first. you know, even with my plan to defer, i do sometimes wonder whether i am going in the right direction and whether i am taking away the chances that dd3 deserves.
:sad:
I dunno how much I can trust the psychological assessment. Sometimes it also depends on the mood on my son. Certain things I know he can do. but if he is uncooperative, he might just \"Switch off\" during the assessment and I would feel so unjust to just mark off my kid like that.
Anyway, I just let him try mainstream first. Hopefully the teachers there will be kind enough to help him *cross fingers* :xedfingers: :xedfingers: :xedfingers: -
Nugget
Oic. I super ks. Lol. My son had a choice to enrol this yr or next yr p1. But we opted earlier. We started his kindy earlier by a yr already so if I decided to enrol in the next yr, he will hv to repeat k2. He seems to be coping well despite the earlier enrolment. Not the best in class but also not the worst. Maybe if I delayed, he might top the class but I find this is not challenging his mind. Itβs tougher now since he is youngest in class, HFA and need to constantly push him. To me, I just take the plunge and deal with the issues one at a time. I feel a kidβs potential is as much as we allow them to grow. If we keep them in a shell, he will just grow within the shell. If u put him in a bigger tank, they will grow bigger. Hard for us, but better for them in the future. -
nugget:
Totally agree with you, nugget and ImMeeMee!
Yup I am as unsure as you. :hugs: But I decided to take the plunge and give him a push as we have seen improvement in him. The most if he really cannot cope, then enroll him into pathlight again.ImMeeMee:
each ASD child is different with different potential, and there are different perspectives to take in this matter. Actually i also can understand what you mean by giving your child a chance to try mainstream first. you know, even with my plan to defer, i do sometimes wonder whether i am going in the right direction and whether i am taking away the chances that dd3 deserves.
:sad:
I dunno how much I can trust the psychological assessment. Sometimes it also depends on the mood on my son. Certain things I know he can do. but if he is uncooperative, he might just \"Switch off\" during the assessment and I would feel so unjust to just mark off my kid like that.
Anyway, I just let him try mainstream first. Hopefully the teachers there will be kind enough to help him *cross fingers* :xedfingers: :xedfingers: :xedfingers:
My boy 2007 too and that is also my game plan. Go into mainstream P1, no deferment,
hope that by then he would have improved and developed enough be ready for P1. Meanwhile now, he goes mainstream kindy, has individual tuition once a week, does homework at home and his mummy trying her best to teach him something so his learning does not get left behind.....
All the best to us, jia you!
Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.