All About Autism
nugget:
And of cos, we made some investment plans to leave them to my son when we are gone. Hopefully he is independent enough to get by.
good point, must start to think about this.
Nugget ,
Siblings will get married one day too. Their the other half may not think the same as them
I dare not to hav another one too. Scare another shocking news or worst one.
Recently in us they say mother who in poor health or old age mother cuz kids to have ASD or down sdrom -
helplessmum3:
Yup of cos I am not counting on the siblings to look after my son. But at least my son still have siblings around when we are gone. Won't be totally alone.Nugget ,
Siblings will get married one day too. Their the other half may not think the same as them
I dare not to hav another one too. Scare another shocking news or worst one.
Recently in us they say mother who in poor health or old age mother cuz kids to have ASD or down sdrom
Whether the siblings want to keep in contact with him or not, its a totally another matter. At least 3 of them have 2 other siblings in the world after we left.
Ya lor, not only old age, obesity, hypertension, diabetes, mothers who smokes all poses risks. So it boils down to how much risk you want to take.
I have another kid not because I want him/her to look after his elder brother. I have another kids cos I love kids!! But of cos if they want to be around the elder brother, then its even bonus to me. But we wouldnt impose on the siblings to look after him. -
I also love kids.
Hiaz I shd have stay without kid if I know I’m going to brought this to him.
They very poor thing lo come to the world for me to end up suffering …
Very sad la maybe bcos he is my first n only kid la…
Why I can’t hav normal kids as my friends have… So unfair one…
Now still young to behave inappropriate excuse to say he is a toddler once get bigger really cham… Outsiders will see clearly that our child has mental issues …
Now they still accOmdating tat he is just a child to behave this way.
Imagine a older child act up in public .
Heart pain… Now facing it n feel so hurting.
While normal kids are playing at the pool they are w therapist
$ goes to vacation w normal kids but our $ spend on to let them go therapist. Y they can’t derserve the same as normal kid to vacation enjoy the horses , donkeys ,sheep , nice scenic and ocean . And they have to face in a square room w therapist … -
helplessmum3:
I also love kids.
Hiaz I shd have stay without kid if I know I'm going to brought this to him.
They very poor thing lo come to the world for me to end up suffering ..
Very sad la maybe bcos he is my first n only kid la..
Why I can't hav normal kids as my friends have.. So unfair one..
Now still young to behave inappropriate excuse to say he is a toddler once get better really cham... Outsiders will see clearly that our child has mental issues ..
Now they still accOmdating tat he is just a child to behave this way.
Imagine a older child act up in public .
Heart pain.. Now facing it n feel so hurting.
While normal kids are playing at the pool they are w therapist
$ goes to vacation w normal kids but our $ spend on to let them go therapist. Y they can't derserve the same as normal kid to vacation enjoy the horses , donkeys ,sheep , nice scenic and ocean . And they have to face in a square room w therapist ..
Wah lau. U need some shaking to wake up leh.
You say until like you have a severely handicap kid.
My son have been to Thailand, Indonesia, Clubmed, Hong Kong, Japan and no one notice anything wrong with him and we are friends of the zoo and been to zoo many many times and we even sat on elephants before.
They deserve all the things normal child have if you provide them. My son spends time with therapist and weekends we still go swimming, exploring as well. It really depends on how much you want to do for your kid and how you are willing to manage them.
In fact my son does more than normal kids and its all doing him good.
Please do not keep looking at your son through pitiful eyes. If you do that, others will also look down even more on your son!! Their behaviour is different from the normal kids but they are not having mental issues!
There was never once did I ever envy my friend's normal kid. I still very proud of my son being my son and to me, he is the best firstborn I never had!!
Please don't make it sound like you regret that you give birth to your son. If so, you shld really give yourself a tight slap! That's the worst thing a mother can say about her child.
Aiyo you need to pick yourself up before helping your son leh. -
Autistic Like Me: A Father's Perspective
http://www.youtube.com/watch?feature=player_embedded&v=iMHyzsXml50
ONE father day his child has died soon after his child is diagnose w ASD.
oh dear... I'm still in toilet crying,,, how how to go back to work desk...
soooo sad...... -
i have no $ left for vacation all goes to therapies treatments.
zoo seem expensive to me now…
now is work, send him to cc , send him to therapist & home… nothing else…
no time left already. still need to do house chores works… cook & wash & do laundry… no maid… -
helplessmum3:
Kids no need to go holiday / zoo in order to feel happy like a normal child. Bring them to park / playground is sufficient. Kids are easily satisfied. Even a trip down to NTUC to buy a ice cream will make their day.i have no $ left for vacation all goes to therapies treatments.
zoo seem expensive to me now...
now is work, send him to cc , send him to therapist & home..... nothing else...
no time left already. still need to do house chores works.. cook & wash & do laundry.. no maid..
My point is:
1. Stop viewing your child like he is some nut case and stop comparing him to other normal kids.
2. Dont give excuse of him unable to do this and that , go here and there just because he is ASD. If you don't give him the chance to try, he will never be able to do it.
3. Stop whining blaming god, why so unfair, if you have know you would do this and that... blah blah blah.. You have done this on the forum many times! Time and time again we have comforted you but you are still not getting out of it. Even scientist and doctors don't even know why our kids have ASD. Channel your whining energy to do something positive instead.
I am not saying we cannot grieve. but the way you grieve sounded so self centered. Its more about yourself than your kid. -
i really think of my son…
he is suffering , why make him like tat mah… others kids will see him one kind one day… so poor thing mah… recently in playground… he so happily wanted to join in the take turn to slides with those kids in front of him. one kid beside him push him and he knock his head on pole, he felt sooo sad and he give up going to join in the slides. instead…
this is hurting to see… him this way… other kids will jus push back & carry on…or make complaints … but he jus feeling sad and touch touch his own hurt head and walk away… -
Sigh he is already made like that. So no point thinking why why why.
Teach him how to deal with such situations. Even for normal kids, they will tend to meet bullies. ONe good thing for ASD kids is that they are very programmable.
Teach your kid at playground, when someone push him away, teach your kid to say back to them, "My mummy say we must be nice and take turn". Or if your kid too young, then you just say loudly to your son to teach him say "Son, its okay, but we must always remember to be nice and take turn and its wrong to hurt and push other people".
When he grow up, he will repeat this when someone tries to push him away. Drowning yourself in misery is not going to help him. Must equip him with tactics to deal with everyday life, so when one day we are gone, we know he can look after himself!
I know u are in pain and I really see you putting effort already. But please pick yourself up. YOu have a very bright boy and he does have great potential.
Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.