Q&A - PSLE Math

Scheduled Pinned Locked Moved Primary 6 & PSLE
    9.3k Posts 673 Posters 4.0m Views 1 Watching
      tianzhu

Michaelia0816:
      As the photo can be only saved in iPad, cannot upload to computer leh!!

Hi

Good Morning.

I am an old man, don’t know about ipad.

Ok, send your email through PM.

I’ll see if I can be of any help.

Best wishes

Michaelia0816

I post in using twitter,

Go to
        pic.twitter.com/rg7SCB5F

Michaelia0816

tianzhu:
          Michaelia0816:

As the photo can be only saved in iPad, cannot upload to computer leh!!

Hi

Good Morning.

I am an old man, don’t know about ipad.

Ok, send your email through PM.

I’ll see if I can be of any help.

Best wishes

No need lah, I have already post another method of finding it.

peggy

Morning Speedmaths,

Thank you.

Michaelia0816

Tianzhu, I had already give u the website to go to the picture to see already, how? Can solve? Do you know what it is referring to actually?

• E Offline
                elenatay

Hi everyone,

This is my first time posting here. Can anyone help to solve this?

Jim bought some chocolates and gave half of it to Ken. Ken bought some sweets and gave half of it to Jim. Jim ate 12 sweets and Ken ate 18 chocolates. The ratio of Jim’s sweets to chocolates became 1:7 and the ratio of Ken’s sweets to chocolates became 1:4. How many sweets did Ken buy?

Thank you.

Michaelia0816

elenatay:
                  Hi everyone,

This is my first time posting here. Can anyone help to solve this?

Jim bought some chocolates and gave half of it to Ken. Ken bought some sweets and gave half of it to Jim. Jim ate 12 sweets and Ken ate 18 chocolates. The ratio of Jim's sweets to chocolates became 1:7 and the ratio of Ken's sweets to chocolates became 1:4. How many sweets did Ken buy?

Thank you.
                  Hi, it would be faster to give you the answer here than going to another pages, I have taken their answer for their posts,

sorry for the copyright, i think it alright as i am doing so for helping.

Suggested solutions
                  Draw a model to show \"after eating\" scenario,

Ratio of Jim's sweets to chocolate (1:7)
                  Sweets []
                  Chocos [][][][][][][]

Ratio of Ken's sweets to chocolate (1:4)
                  Sweets [] +12 (+12 refers to the sweets eaten by Jim)
                  Chocos [][][][] (+12x4) - x 4 times

Both amount of Chocolates are the same,so
                  (7-4) units = (12x4) + 18 (18 chocolates were eaten by Ken)
                  3 units = 66
                  1 unit = 22

Amount of sweets bought by Ken->(unit +12)x2=(22+12) x 2 =68

Or use algebra which is easier.

Assume that sweets that Ken bought was S and chocolates that bought by Jim was C.

Before both of them ate, they had:
                  Ken -> 0.5C + 0.5S
                  Jim -> 0.5C + 0.5S
                  as each of them gave 1/2 to each other.

Jim ate 12 sweets and the ratio of Jim's sweets to chocolates became 1:7.
                  (0.5S-12)/0.5C = 1/7
                  3.5S-84=0.5C

Ken ate 18 chocolates and the ratio of Ken's sweets to chocolates became 1:4.
                  0.5S/(0.5C-18 ) = 1/4
                  (0.5C-18 ) / 0.5S = 4
                  0.5C-18 = 2S

3.5S-84-18=2S
                  3.5S-2S = 84+18
                  1.5S = 102
                  S = 102/1.5 = 68

Amount of sweets bought by Ken-> 68

Michaelia0816

and also welcome elenatay to here!

Michaelia0816

tianzhu:
                      Michaelia0816:

Tianzhu, help!

The figure below is formed by stacking 4 cardboard of equilateral triangles one on top of another. The triangles have sides 3cm,4cm,5cm and 6cm. The 6cm piece is triangle ABC. It is placed at he bottom of the stack followed by the 5cm piece, then the 4cm piece and the 3cm piece is right on top. What faction of the triangle ABC has only 2 layers of cardboard?

I am not sure of the phrase highlighted in red! Do give step by step answer!

Hi

Please post the figure.

Best wishes

REMINDER!!

The picture is could be found at this website,pic.twitter.com/rg7SCB5F

tianzhu

Michaelia0816:
                        REMINDER!!

The picture is could be found at this website,pic.twitter.com/rg7SCB5F
                        Hi girl

Wow, the first reminder I received in KSP.

Better answer, if not later kena “yellow card”.

Unfortunately, the link no longer works.

I saw the question briefly this morning.

Best wishes

Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.

• 605 / 932