By Election for Hougang
hmm, seems like duck paddling eh? from the top, seem like PEH not doing anything much. but from bottom, the feet furiously paddling away?hquek:
HMMMM..although I initially refrain from talking about this election, now I can't refrain from saying this GRC thing irks me. Really, it is not just about HG anymore. It is a NATIONAL ISSUE.Anyway, I can't vote and can only kaypoh from the sidelines. no matter what DC say, i think if hougang falls, it'll be welcome to the grc. Maybe they can also add PP also. Scarly become EC GRC - or maybe TP GRC. ya think?
Yes… but they kept saying it’s a local issue. What local issue??? I am going to vote and I really don’t know what local issues they are talking about. Maybe it’s limited to certain group of population but can that appeal to the 24k+ voters??? I don’t know.
We are "speculating" that both parties rally turnout should be alot since the non-voters would be curious too and free entertainment over the weekends. But it really depends on who is more engaging… I still recall the Singapore pledge that was said at last day of WP’s rally at Serangoon stadium… -
I believe HG will still be retained by WP. LTK should be preparing something for the rally along that line that he had made a mistake on YSL and asked for HG residents to give him a chance to set things right with Png. Those hardcore WP supporters will not waiver but there are bound to be some who might have swung because of the YSL fiasco. LTK needs to try to get them back onto his side and I believe he should still have the appeal.
Can’t vote but certainly will try to attend the WP rally. -
AC_Power:
Wonder what is the demographics of the voters. Read that those young voters + private estate will mostly vote for WP as they want an alternative voice. So far what DC is targetting for is really for the old, those lower income family as well as those who need help. Really wonder how many % is this group of people out of the 24k+. On the other hand, these people might already have been in touch with WP all these while??? So might have some loyalty.I believe HG will still be retained by WP. LTK should be preparing something for the rally along that line that he had made a mistake on YSL and asked for HG residents to give him a chance to set things right with Png. Those hardcore WP supporters will not waiver but there are bound to be some who might have swung because of the YSL fiasco. LTK needs to try to get them back onto his side and I believe he should still have the appeal.
Can't vote but certainly will try to attend the WP rally.
Just wondering if HG is really a run down place as compared to other neighbourhood as what some are suggesting in the last election??? I am confused where this 24k voters come from after they draw the lines here and there. Wonder who is \"in scope\". But there are alot of those mansionates?/ bigger HDB flats in that area. It's only a couple of old HDB blocks that probably house those from the lower income level. I don't see any issue from a infrastructure, there are many bus choices and NE line. -
Will Hougang SMC be absorbed into a GRC once PAP wins it ?
That is the rumours right???? Thought I heard DC making some comments on news like it will be kept independent.... But... I don't think he call the shots in such decisions.
Actually... I dun mind being part of Aljunied GRC. -
My guess is YES! Most probably segment into AMK and Marine Parade where the heavy weight is (you know who la) -
If it is, they will definitely put in a 'safe' GRC. My friend who was staying near NEX was once upon a time under East Coast GRC (I think). I remember asking where's the beach. :evil:
So yes, they probably try their darndest to put under MP. wonder if can stretch to put under Tanjong Pagar. :siam: -
if PAP wins it, it won't be in Aljunied GRC ..... may be in some super strong PAP GRC ...... bye bye WP in HG forever ....verykiasu2010:
That is the rumours right???? Thought I heard DC making some comments on news like it will be kept independent.... But... I don't think he call the shots in such decisions.
Actually... I dun mind being part of Aljunied GRC. -
These years of lowest priority in upgrading queue has certainly made it more run down than the rest. However, the more they impose such unfair treatment, the more united the HG residents. That's why I always have the utmost respect for them. They have what I call 骨气.
Wonder what is the demographics of the voters. Read that those young voters + private estate will mostly vote for WP as they want an alternative voice. So far what DC is targetting for is really for the old, those lower income family as well as those who need help. Really wonder how many % is this group of people out of the 24k+. On the other hand, these people might already have been in touch with WP all these while??? So might have some loyalty.
Just wondering if HG is really a run down place as compared to other neighbourhood as what some are suggesting in the last election??? I am confused where this 24k voters come from after they draw the lines here and there. Wonder who is \"in scope\". But there are alot of those mansionates?/ bigger HDB flats in that area. It's only a couple of old HDB blocks that probably house those from the lower income level. I don't see any issue from a infrastructure, there are many bus choices and NE line.
Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.