By Election for Hougang

926 Posts 87 Posters 198.4k Views 1 Watching

firefly38:

refreshing viewpoints from Intermezzo and wonderm!

my kids too enjoy schools and they ever went for both cheap skate and not cheap (but mass market) enrichment

比上不足, 比下有余

depends where one is along the bell curve

What do you mean by \"cheap skate\" enrichment? Those which charge lower fees to cater to the needs of average or low income families? I think I know what you meant by the \"not cheap\" mass market enrichment, though..

cannot say lah, wait kena stoned

hokkiengirl

Actually is HG so different from the rest of Spore???? I feel that the singaporeans' concerns are similar regardless where you live in. So it's still a national issue. What is a local issue???? Maybe it doesn't really apply to us as we stay in a private estate. In addition, we are not the type who would go see a MP. So actually does it really matter who wins or who is our MP??? Probably no. So whether it is OYK or DC it doesn't matter. It's just that since they are harping on the \"best candidate\", then to us, OYK being a ministerial quality is obviously a better candidate then DC?????

With our kids in primary school, I am bothered by their future. Eg. education, will more places in university go to sponsored foreigners who are not bonded and leave after a while. While our kids cannot get a place because of that policy and we've to support them through overseas education and for those who cannot afford, this means the kids have to join the workforce earlier ????

I am not against foreign talents but in the last company I worked for, it was 40% Indians, 40% pinoys, 10% msian and 10% Sporeans..... These are not some specialised jobs that can only be performed by foreigners. It was marketing, supply chain, finance jobs that a spore grad can do. Yes, I acknowledge that the pinoys are good in service industry but what happens then to those aunties who used to hold such jobs ????

What about the train systems???? I seldom take the train and yesterday I had to as I had a meeting in town and I wanted to ensure I was not stuck in traffic since I wanted to be home in time for rally. It was packed like sardine and people couldn't get in till the 2nd and 3rd or 4th train.... I was counting my blessings that I don't have to go through that everyday.

In speaking with my boss's boss from US yesterday, she was commenting that things in Singapore are very expensive. Eg. housing, cars and also the retail goods. She is a high income earner but yet she cannot bring herself to shop. She can now understand why people shop like crazy in US.... She even encouraged me to do more shopping when I am there next week.... 😉 Then at the rally... I heard them commenting that singapore is now the 9th most expensive cities to live in. Yes it's true.... how are our kids going to afford even HDB flats in the future???

Also my impression of PAP MPs are people who goes round the estate only during election. The elitest sitting high up in the ivory tower who has forgotten the man on the street. So just imagine how I felt when I saw CSM a couple of times in the last 1 year in the estate by himself and connecting with people. I like it!!!

For me, I feel that it's all about control and checks. We saw how the government start to apologise and listen after the last election. Maybe they seriously do need a wake up call so they don't become complacent.

But I am pro PAP in representing Singapore. Though we need control and checks, we need a stable government as well to attract businesses and investment. I don't think losing 1 seat will cause them much harm since it was never theirs to begin with. As we also do not have sufficient talent in the opposition so it's not really likely for opposition to be stronger than them in the short term.

Just my personal view as a HG voter.
        Maybe it's me. Maybe I'm just quite simple-minded. I am contented that I have trains that work IN GENERAL and at the prices I pay, I usually reach my destinations with few problems. I take it that the crowds are nothing new or choose to go places when it's off-peak.

I don't need to see my MP around the estate frequently. I don't even need or want him to knock on my door to pay me a house-visit. I'd rather he spend time solving problems or with his family. I'm just glad he gets things done.

I also know quite a number of able-bodied Singaporeans who refuse to find jobs because the perfect one hasn't arrived yet (high pay, good environment, lovely colleagues, personal satisfaction, etc). And I also know a number of aunties who choose not to work because they want to be at home with their families. So I also agree- where ARE all the Singaporeans who are supposed to take on these jobs?

I believe my kids will be fine in the future as long as I teach them how to be independent and look for opportunities. Specialisation in the most unglam of fields (like plumbing) can actually bring home quite a bit of bacon. I am thankful that there is a stable environment which encourages investors to set up shop here so that there is the possibility of jobs, rather than unemployment.

I can easily pick out loads of things wrong with Singapore and the government. To me, it is a constant work-in-progress. I am willing to give it time to change and be part of that change in a positive way.

And, personally, IF I were a HG voter, I would be thinking about whether or not the person I choose is someone I want in parliament. So, yup, Singaporeans all over are not so different from the HG voters. It's just that we made our decisions last year while you guys are doing it again.

Just my two cents' worth. I hope I won't have to duck for cover. 🙂

concern2

On the topic of voting for those who "helped", my uncle once told me that he was operating this shop (many years back), wanted to apply for high power for outdoor sales, couldn’t get town council (I can’t remember if it was town council he said cos he told me before election last year, anyway, it was an every-year event for him) to approve, in fact, there was no reply from them. Then, they heard certain MP was coming. Someone suggested to him to pass the MP his letter. He did. He got approval soon after that. Soon after that, there was an election. "Naturally", my uncle said, "I voted for the MP who help me lah!"

To me, it is the wrong reason.

Pris.011283tang

The one who helped me alot at a period of time when there was no election going on he step in to really help, i even contacted him via email. once things were on track for me he emailed me again 2weeks later to see how i was holding up this is truly 1 person who cares about his ward.

concern2

Pris.tang:
              The one who helped me alot at a period of time when there was no election going on he step in to really help, i even contacted him via email. once things were on track for me he emailed me again 2weeks later to see how i was holding up this is truly 1 person who cares

Yes, I'd agree that when help comes in this form, it is indeed special. Um...how long ago was that har?

well said hokkiengirl! some more hokkiengirl can write very well … thought may be you only write in hokkien

one thing that pisses off lots of people is the vengeful setbacks given to HG voters when they first voted in the opposition

c’mon, are’t they fellow citizens ? don’t they pay income tax and gst ? don’t they contribute to the economy ? so why victimize them ? even the rain rains on both the righteous and the wicked, and so does the sun shines.

no upgrading for HDB flats ? withdrawal of bus services, remember ? now, who own the HDB or the bus company ? are they owned by a political party ? stat boards are supposed to be separate from politics, right ? likewise civil servants are clearly not political party based

I think PAP despite having done a good job running the country VERY well since self government (even before being kicked out from M’sia)…but has been very stupid.

If they have put HG first in the priority in upgrading and with more convenient services (buses and everything else) introduced, they could have won back HG long ago…but then they played their card wrongly, always rubbed the wrong way, being reactive rather than accommodating and looking out for their welfare. Giving LTK great amount of ammunition for 20 years and built up so much resentment among citizens over 20 years. Now people can always judge the PAP to be very vindictive. Even sorry could be too late.

Sometime politicians need to have paradigm shift too and think out of the box, including ballot boxes, and do some unconventional things.

Chenonceau

Intermezzo:

Of course, there's nothing wrong with wanting better textbooks and better resources.
                  This is all I need to know... that even detractors acknowledge this is good.

Strparent

well said hokkiengirl! some more hokkiengirl can write very well .... thought may be you only write in hokkien

one thing that pisses off lots of people is the vengeful setbacks given to HG voters when they first voted in the opposition

c'mon, are't they fellow citizens ? don't they pay income tax and gst ? don't they contribute to the economy ? so why victimize them ? even the rain rains on both the righteous and the wicked, and so does the sun shines.

no upgrading for HDB flats ? withdrawal of bus services, remember ? now, who own the HDB or the bus company ? are they owned by a political party ? stat boards are supposed to be separate from politics, right ? likewise civil servants are clearly not political party based

I think PAP despite having done a good job running the country VERY well since self government (even before being kicked out from M'sia)....but has been very stupid.

If they have put HG first in the priority in upgrading and with more convenient services (buses and everything else) introduced, they could have won back HG long ago....but then they played their card wrongly, always rubbed the wrong way, being reactive rather than accommodating and looking out for their welfare. Giving LTK great amount of ammunition for 20 years and built up so much resentment among citizens over 20 years. Now people can always judge the PAP to be very vindictive. Even sorry could be too late.

Sometime politicians need to have paradigm shift too and think out of the box, including ballot boxes, and do some unconventional things.
                    :goodpost:

precisely what Pritam and Sylvia from WP has been saying the past few days. These tactics are outdated and should no longer be used to punish or threaten people exercising their right to choose their choice of MP.

We are all Singaporeans :hugs:

Chenonceau

well said hokkiengirl! some more hokkiengirl can write very well .... thought may be you only write in hokkien

c'mon, are't they fellow citizens ? don't they pay income tax and gst ? don't they contribute to the economy ? so why victimize them ? even the rain rains on both the righteous and the wicked, and so does the sun shines.

I think PAP despite having done a good job running the country VERY well since self government (even before being kicked out from M'sia)....but has been very stupid.

If they have put HG first in the priority in upgrading and with more convenient services (buses and everything else) introduced, they could have won back HG long ago....but then they played their card wrongly, always rubbed the wrong way, being reactive rather than accommodating and looking out for their welfare. Giving LTK great amount of ammunition for 20 years and built up so much resentment among citizens over 20 years. Now people can always judge the PAP to be very vindictive. Even sorry could be too late.

:goodpost:

alamak, please note, I have NO political affiliation or leaning.

Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.

• 65 / 93

bylawB
                        bylaw
                        Lumiore_SupportL
                        Lumiore_Support
                        Lynn239L
                        Lynn239
                        thebottomsupblogT
                        thebottomsupblog