Joyfulhands

Scary,

There's yearly eye checkup for pri sch pupils too. DD has done hers earlier this year & the eye report is inserted in her health booklet.

HPB health screening for primary school:
      http://www.hpb.gov.sg/HOPPortal/health-article/632?_afrLoop=2278623040540373&_afrWindowMode=0&_afrWindowId=goa4t2qv3_6#%40%3F_afrWindowId%3Dgoa4t2qv3_6%26_afrLoop%3D2278623040540373%26_afrWindowMode%3D0%26_adf.ctrl-state%3Dgoa4t2qv3_14

taz:
        IJJ:

It is okay to wear transition lenses in PH. Mine started to wear since P3. I know Taz's dd already was wearing since P2 (now P5).

She wore transition lenses from P2-4. In P5, she's back to normal lenses.
        Will be getting transition lenses for her soon.
        Personally, I like transition lenses v much, comfy for my eyes esp w glaring sunlight.

I love my pair of transition lenses...very comfortable on a hot day with sun glaring into the eyes. Since I cannot wear contact lenses, best option is transition.

cheerie

FQW:
          cheerie:

I'm not as lucky as u... Brought my DD for eye review checkup last week and she was diagnoised with myopia of 100 degree (left) and 50 degree (right).... :slapshead: All this while, she was diagnosed with only astigmatism and her degree was well-controlled too during K2.

... such a high degree shoot-up in 3 mths time is not normal definitely... :scared: :nailbite:

My son's myopia still 50-75 degrees, same as during mid-P1. But he had perfect eyesight during K2 which goes to show how fast kids' eyesight can deteriorate. If your dd's increasing by more than 100 degrees yearly, then perhaps it's time to get those Zeiss-type lens which is supposed to slow than the deterioration.

Of course as we found out (better late than never), regular outdoor activities helps a lot.

My DD has been using Zeiss-type lens all this while.. that's why her specs costs a bomb and only last a year the most... :sick:

• JenniferJ Offline
            Jennifer

cheerie:
            only last a year the most... :sick:

That is unusual.

I noticed that many children do not wear their spectacles correctly on their nose bridge.

Or sometimes, the spectacles are too loose and slip down the nose bridge and the child does not push it up. As a result, the alignment of vision is not correct. The child ends up squirting which makes the eyesight deteriorates.

Sometimes, the spectacles frame are slightly bended or the nose pads are misaligned due to knocks or accidents. If we do not adjust it to the correct angle, the line of vision is again distorted.

Check your child's spectacles and where it is positioned again a few hours.

As a guide, do a 1/2 yearly checkup at the optician.

If you are very familiar with the optician, you can go back every 3 mths to do a check up of the frame to make sure the alignment is not out. Afterall, we paid a bomb for the frame.

If the frame is still in good condition and the child has not outgrown the size of the frame but the lens need to be changed, you can opt to reuse the frame.

• iRabbitI Offline
              iRabbit

I love my pair of transition lenses...very comfortable on a hot day with sun glaring into the eyes.

Yours not progressive meh? πŸ¦† :siam:
              cheerie:
              My DD has been using Zeiss-type lens all this while.. that's why her specs costs a bomb and only last a year the most... :sick:
              Whoa, for next year's PH donation drive, I know who to ask my son to give the card to liao. :evil:
              If you are very familiar with the optician, you can go back every 3 mths to do a check up of the frame to make sure the alignment is not out. Afterall, we paid a bomb for the frame.
              Mee Mee quoted me 25 bucks for eye-check without any purchase.

But fee waived if there's purchase.

cheerie

cheerie:

only last a year the most... :sick:

That is unusual.

I noticed that many children do not wear their spectacles correctly on their nose bridge.

Or sometimes, the spectacles are too loose and slip down the nose bridge and the child does not push it up. As a result, the alignment of vision is not correct. The child ends up squirting which makes the eyesight deteriorates.

Sometimes, the spectacles frame are slightly bended or the nose pads are misaligned due to knocks or accidents. If we do not adjust it to the correct angle, the line of vision is again distorted.

Check your child's spectacles and where it is positioned again a few hours.

As a guide, do a 1/2 yearly checkup at the optician.

If the frame is still in good condition and the child has not outgrown the size of the frame but the lens need to be changed, you can opt to reuse the frame.

Hi Jennifer,

Thanks for ur suggestions... :salute:

I agree with you that most likely my DD did not adjust back her spec when it slips down. At times, I was the one that reminded her to do so. Will constantly remind and ensure she wears it properly. :pokeeye:

Her review is once every 4months so we'll see her optometrist thrice a year. Seriously we can't save much on her lens cos her astigmatism is slightly above 200 so had no choice but to go for better ones, since can't really save much too... :slapshead:

cheerie

Hey Bro Mark,

Pls don't do so... cos already broke after this spec replacement... plus if ur DS has donation card means my DD also has too! :nailbite: :sick: :scared:

• JenniferJ Offline
                    Jennifer

FQW:
                    Mee Mee quoted me 25 bucks for eye-check without any purchase.

But fee waived if there's purchase.
                    My hubby made his sunglasses at Sincere some years ago. I guess the uncles recognise me so they did not charge me when I brought my children to do a checkup.

Of course, when we really need to replace the lens or frames, we patronise them.

Loyal customers do not pay for eye checkup πŸ˜„

Hi FQW,

I do not need progressive lenses. Btw, do you still want me to vote for your son's compo :evil: if yes, then be nice to me πŸ˜‰

• iRabbitI Offline
                        iRabbit

Hi FQW,

I do not need progressive lenses. Btw, do you still want me to vote for your son's compo :evil: if yes, then be nice to me πŸ˜‰
                        Aiyoh, of course I want lah. Did I tell you, you look like my Sec sch classmate? I mean you look like a 16-yr old lady.

Btw, voting starts liao. πŸ˜‰

Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.

• 1698 / 2049

ilovemychildrens89I
                        ilovemychildrens89