Real reason behind Singapore’s obsession with tuition

774 Posts 63 Posters 177.3k Views 1 Watching

D*** scary VKS2010

Much nicer VKS2010

:rotflmao: :stompfeet: 🤷 :rotflmao: :stompfeet: :faint:

for text books, it is really a school decision

\"my pals are here\" is hopeless compared with \"iScience\" series

as for CL and HCL, the person involved with the syllabus says that everything the exam papers cover is in the textbook.

(3) lack of clarity into how much tuition plays a part in student performance (just collect the data and gain visibility... are there constraints there too?)
        from MOE point of view, why would they want to be involved in tuition survey ? will parents tell the truth ? you will, but how about the other 99 ? mind you, some parents will undermine the survey by providing fictitious data hoping to skew the result to what they want to see.

Chenonceau

(3) lack of clarity into how much tuition plays a part in student performance (just collect the data and gain visibility... are there constraints there too?)

from MOE point of view, why would they want to be involved in tuition survey ? will parents tell the truth ? you will, but how about the other 99 ? mind you, some parents will undermine the survey by providing fictitious data hoping to skew the result to what they want to see.

There are ways to deal with biases... some are statistical... others are built into the intrument. People well-versed in social science research have a basket of strategies for this. There are people with this expertise in MOE. I know that because I was told. It's not an insurmountable constraint. As long as there is no data, then there is no clarity... and then people can say 90%... and then a bear will get mad.

[quote=\"Chenonceau\"]

There are ways to deal with biases... some are statistical... others are built into the intrument. People well-versed in social science research have a basket of strategies for this. It's not an insurmountable constraint. As long as there is no data, then there is no clarity... and then people can say 90%... and then a bear will get mad.[/quote]yup, but in the first place, why would MOE want to be involved with survey study in out-of-school tuition ? wait for the next enlightened minister lah ....

BeContented

Trying to picture how will it be like without PSLE......to have streaming to be done at 16yo.

Group 1 : kiasu and educated and know-how-to-teach parents
              - will still be busy enriching their children.....cannot relax, must be on your toes, cannot be lazy/bochup, must do your best. With more time now, let's accelerate!!! Must make sure can cover everything.

Group 2 : bo-chup and clueless parents
              - with no timeline (or at least much later) will be more relax. Since school result is good (no difficult paper), no need tuition lah. Also no idea how the child is doing in school or how prepared is the child for the BIG streaming at 16.

Group 3 : somewhat kiasu but may not know what to do parents
              - will start wondering where their kids stand. How to find out? What if the child end up bottom at 16yo? How to make sure they get to good schools when time comes? Start hearing from grapevine the rich & smart are having enrichment, go for IQ test, able to get hold of good resources. Then start enrolling into enrichments to make sure their kids are not left behind.

Eeerrrr....picture still look similar to me except group 2 will really really fall behind now. :scared:

Chenonceau

yup, but in the first place, why would MOE want to be involved with survey study in out-of-school tuition ? wait for the next enlightened minister lah ....
                Waiting. Waiting. Waiting.

Meanwhile... I speak up when I can, and many others do too lor... apologies if it offends you and your sense of contentedness lor...

Chenonceau

BeContented:
                  Trying to picture how will it be like without PSLE......to have streaming to be done at 16yo.

- will still be busy enriching their children.....cannot relax, must be on your toes, cannot be lazy/bochup, must do your best. With more time now, let's accelerate!!! Must make sure can cover everything.

- with no timeline (or at least much later) will be more relax. Since school result is good (no difficult paper), no need tuition lah. Also no idea how the child is doing in school or how prepared is the child for the BIG streaming at 16.

- will start wondering where their kids stand. How to find out? What if the child end up bottom at 16yo? How to make sure they get to good schools when time comes? Start hearing from grapevine the rich & smart are having enrichment, go for IQ test, able to get hold of good resources. Then start enrolling into enrichments to make sure their kids are not left behind.

Eeerrrr....picture still look similar to me except group 2 will really really fall behind now. :scared:
                  No one said to take away the PSLE. At least, I did not. I just paraphrased the logical conclusion of the Ken Robinson video earlier. I just want better textbooks... better consistency amongst schools... better teaching.

Chenonceau

dorisp:
                    The black bear very cute.......... :hugs:

I think so too. Adorable.

Mawar

BeContented:

At least for Group 2 kids, the borrowed down time could be used to pursue other non academic pursuits? Not a bad thing, I say. Some of us don't need our kids to be scholars, just live a balanced and meaningful life.

dorisp:

The black bear very cute.......... :hugs:

I think so too. Adorable.

http://i48.tinypic.com/2912alk.jpg\">

Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.

• 21 / 78