BOOK Fairs

Scheduled Pinned Locked Moved Happenings
    1.5k Posts 181 Posters 663.4k Views 1 Watching
      hquek

Quick...hide the evidence...else if you add more packs of books, just say they were already there. must collect some dust in advance to sprinkle on top.

hquek, are you sharing from experience ? šŸ˜†

no lah. I'm very in your face type. Lucky I'm working, else dunno how to explain why my house is fast becoming a fire hazard. My money, my way. :evil:

hquek

laughingcat:

[quote=\"autumnbronze\"]Spent a bomb already ....... study room still filled with unpacked bags of books

your child may not have time to read / practise all the story books / Assessment books you had purchased. Consume those you'd already bought, before you attempt buying new ones ... else end up white elephant on the book shelves.

No no no. :yikes: Must encourage the child to read ALOT of books. All the more the child must read alot before starting primary school otherwise got no time to read during primary school years.

Should not encourage doing so many assessment books as that will not help much in compo or compre section.[/quote]depends on the kids actually. DS reads voraciously and his english is alright. Still, I've put him in an enrichment centre for english. Read alot dun mean good writer (this skill need practice and our friend dun like to do).

That said, both my kids got no problem with spelling/dictation (got mistakes but usually it's becos they can hear the word wrongly). Also it helps in general knowledge becos they like nonfiction - it better count for something when it comes to science next time.

• laughingcatL Offline
          laughingcat

Read alot dun mean good writer (this skill need practice and our friend dun like to do).

Actually that is because many children and even adults skim through the books for the storyline. How many of us as an adult actually copy down the beautiful phrases or words for the writing? How many of us as an adult actually take the time and enjoy and savour the beautiful phrases of description and note it down? None actually. So you are right that reading alot does not mean a good writer. BUT loving reading, takes time to enjoy and savour the beautiful phrases while reading do make a good writer. That is why out there in the market, there are loads of assessment books that sells composition phrases.

If as a parent does know how to do that, then perhaps send the child to the creative writing classes. If wanting to save the $, then parents go for creative writing workshop and train the child. It is actually quite \"easy\" but only need parents to persevere and consistent.

My DS has been doing that almost everynight and he loves writing. Almost every month, my DS1 will submit a composition in the Usborne monthly prize draw through his cousin in UK. So that really motivates him when his compo was recommended.

Enjoy.
          http://writetodone.com/2008/01/31/how-to-use-reading-to-become-a-better-writer/

• laughingcatL Offline
            laughingcat

Laughingcat:

should not encourage doing so many assessment books as that will not help much in compo or compre section.
            /quote]
            Imami:

My preschooler is very free. Everyday read about 6 to 10 books. It's more of mummy no time to buy books, not he no time to read.

On the assessment books - is it? Doing assessments won't help in compre?

Notice that I used the term \"will not help much\". To further up the notch, reading comprehension is still the way to go for lower primary school.

Since your preschooler is very free, you can start by doing reading comprehension. It is true that this work very well for up to lower primary school. Well I can say that for both my DS1 and DS2 and my nieces.

Enjoy
            http://www.ehow.com/how_5609473_teach-reading-comprehension-strategies.html

You solve 3 goals while reading - Loving to read, Picking out beautiful phrase for compo and Reading Comprehension. Whoala :please:

autumnbronze

laughingcat:

[quote=\"autumnbronze\"]Spent a bomb already ....... study room still filled with unpacked bags of books

your child may not have time to read / practise all the story books / Assessment books you had purchased. Consume those you'd already bought, before you attempt buying new ones ... else end up white elephant on the book shelves.

No no no. :yikes: Must encourage the child to read ALOT of books. All the more the child must read alot before starting primary school otherwise got no time to read during primary school years.

Should not encourage doing so many assessment books as that will not help much in compo or compre section.[/quote]
              I usually buy books for reading. Not assessment books. It's so baaaaad that I can own 2 or 3 versions of one story eg The Jungle Book :oops: :oops: and :siao:

fightingmom

I think KSP daddies and mommies can set up KSP library together to benefit all KSP kiddos šŸ˜‰

autumnbronze

Pen88n:

Quick...hide the evidence...else if you add more packs of books, just say they were already there. must collect some dust in advance to sprinkle on top.

Heehee :oops: .....I started by putting in books into bags half-full, then top up the half-pack to full pack after another round of sales :evil: . DH is none the wiser as the number of bags remain the same šŸ˜‰ Can apply to carton boxes as well :rotflmao:

:hugs: :hugs: and :hugs: Pen88n

Thank you for the brilliant idea :evil:

autumnbronze

laughingcat:

Should not encourage doing so many assessment books as that will not help much in compo or compre section.
                    Yes, agree with ya :hi5:

I never had problems with EL cuz I picked up reading since young.

I would lie next to my sis, as young as 5 or 6 and read alongside with her. She was the one who introduced me to classics like Little Women etc ... and
                    of course Mills and Boon :evil: though I was never a fan of those series.

I picked up interesting phrases and vocab words from reading. I learnt to 'play' with those phrases and come up with my own. My DH says I am a repository of general knowledge (errrrr, this is like more than 10 yrs ago, now suffering from memory lapse after delivering 2 kids).

My compositions used to be read out in class as due to my voracious reading habit, I had an imaginative mind. At the expense of neglecting my studies, sometimes i would continuously 'devour' a book. Happened when I read Life of Pi by Yann Martell. Brilliant book, next to The Alchemist by Paulo Coelho. Another favorite is Borrowed Time by Paul Monet, a beautifully and evocatively written biography. These are some of my perennial favorites. I can re-read them over and over again.

I am trying to instill this habit in my son. He can read pretty well. But he is sooooo lazy when it comes to reading. He must have ME reading to him
                    :roll: But I guess it's better than nothing. So as punishment for not wanting to read independently, I will, as I am reading, ask him inferential questions
                    based on the book. Get his brain cells working a bit .... šŸ˜†

autumnbronze

Imami:

My preschooler is very free. Everyday read about 6 to 10 books. It's more of mummy no time to buy books, not he no time to read.
                      Hi Imami,

Think you mentioned somewhere that you have a son???

Oh you are so fortunate that he wants to read independently :rahrah:

Any tips to share???

• laughingcatL Offline
                        laughingcat

autumnbronze :hi5:

Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.

• 120 / 151