All About Autism

Scheduled Pinned Locked Moved Special Needs & Learning Difficulties
    7.9k Posts 414 Posters 2.0m Views 3 Watching
      ImMeeMee

woggles:
      Hi everyone, appreciate if I get advice. Had posted in the other P1 registration thread but thought I may also be able to get help here as well.

My son is born 2006 & was assessed to have developmental delays - very likely to be Asperger's. His kindy teacher's feel that he's ready for P1 next yr (but of cos with more prep work & pushing). While the psychologist & I are more comfortable with him deferring to P1 in 2014 instead.

Thing is his formal/official evaluation is scheduled to take place AFTER July. We had thought of not taking it too early as his symptoms & traits keep \"changing\". So far we've been having regular 1/2yr assesents & observations instead; with the usual OT, ST, other therapies since he was 3. My preference was not to fix a label on him & instead focus on helping him manage any learning difficulties.

MOE had advised to continue taking part in 2013's P1 registration exercise.
      If we do decide to defer my son, would the school spot be held for him for 2014? Can I pay the school fees for 2013 yr to have that spot held?

Thanks v much in advance. We are really in 2 minds about deferring & are worried that he may not obtain a place in 2014, if the spot can't be held. But at same time, he's not ready for P1 & pushing him may backfire..
      If I am not wrong, the school will not reserve the place for you if the number of applications are higher than the number of vacancies. I have been told from one school that their child was transferred to another school by his parents and accepted back again subsequently but this school's profile is such that the vacancies are always more than the applications.

one thing that you may like to think about is what to do with him if you defer for 1 year. some options that I know of are to repeat K2, or to place the child in a P1 prep program eg. at Pathlight. My take is not to repeat K2 but I am currently open to the option of placing my child on a P1 prep program if I were to defer he.

Just curious as to why your official evaluation is after July. As I am told, the psychology assessment for school placement options is when the child is 5 and half years old.

mashy

ImMeeMee

Not really, the psychology assessment is only when the parents send them in for assessment plus the waiting time. So not necessarily 5.5yrs old. My son was officially diagnosed one month before he starts P1 and after his school orientation.

helplessmum3

Start Early for Best Results

You don’t have to wait for a formal diagnosis of autism spectrum disorder to begin speech and language therapy. In fact, early intervention—from birth to 3 years—can increase your child’s odds of communicating functionally. Getting intensive therapy, about 20 hours per week, seems to be the most effective.

However, even if your child is older and hasn’t yet begun speech and language treatment, it’s not too late. A recent research review found that more children with autism than previously thought can acquire language at age 5 or older. In addition, an SLP can teach your child to use symbols or other ways of communication.

Before beginning treatment, the SLP will perform a thorough evaluation of your child’s needs and skills. The therapist will design a treatment program that builds on your child’s strengths; coordinates with other care your child is receiving, such as occupational therapy; and fits into your family system
          ===========

so sucks right, especially KKH always delay & waiting time is long…kow!! especial u know well that intervence as early age as possible right!!!

mashy

Helplessmum

Usually it’s the parents who delay diagnosis lah. Coz they send in late, so diagnose late lor. Many ignore the symptoms becoz others said its alright, they will outgrow etc until one day they couldnt ignore it anymore. Wait for diagnosis is standard. U can also choose to go pte psychologist for diagnosis. It’s not like it’s cancer that if u late by one month can die type.

I think u are full of anger in u leh. I have not seen u react positively so far. Denial will only put u further back. Accept and move on. Life is unfair. That’s the way it is. We cannot choose our parents and neither can they choose us. Same thing, we can’t choose our kids and they can’t choose us. The children who improved the most are those with supportive parents who never give up on their kids. if that’s what u want for your son, move on. Otherwise, the bitterness, anger and denial will just swallow u and your son up. No need to blame the hospitals or the medical staff. They are just doing their job. Being upset with them doesn’t change the diagnosis. It’s like those who are having a cancer diagnosis. No matter what u say, the diagnosis stay. If it disappear, celebrate becoz it’s a miracle. If it doesn’t, u just carry on with the treatments and do everything u can. Be thankful that your son isn’t down with a deadly disease. It’s heart wrenching to see your child slip away. I can’t even imagine the pain.

mashy

Btw, our country is not the only one with long waiting list. Others too. There’s a shortage of staff. We are considered lucky in the sense we can choose where to go. I read that in US, a lot are tied down by their insurance companies. And for them, many have to travel a few hours just to get to the psychologist for the diagnosis. And a few hours to and fro for their therapies. They shift houses to be closer to their therapists!

helplessmum3

mashy,

no, i mean after diagnosedstill long waiting time…i get my son diagnoise immediately after advise de.

helplessmum3

if for some1 like me who dun have much money, so i have to depend on kkh SLT & OT & also Epic mah. but these channels are soo long waiting list… waiti wait, by then tat call early intervence mah?? esp according to tat sentence, is best b4 3yo de… then drag my son will be 3yo plus de, and not because of parent delay diagnoise de…

helplessmum3

i can firmly say that i did not danail at all… im seeking help & hopeful my son will get help & improved.

mashy

Helplessmum

Because there is a higher demand and not enough therapists. It depends on where u go for the therapies too. I’m at kkh rehab and we can get an appt every 3 weeks. Once I even got it at once every week. I think kkh rehab also provides eipic services. Maybe u can check. Kkh CDC and kkh rehab are different units, they don’t even share e same patient file. I think kkh CDC is by HPB coz the address on the appt card is different and they insist I use a different appt card while kkh rehab is under kkh.

mashy

Helplessmum

How long is the wait for your appts?

Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.

• 132 / 794