Real reason behind Singapore’s obsession with tuition

774 Posts 63 Posters 178.1k Views 1 Watching
      SAHM_TAN

I couldn’t find out why MOE allow teachers to give private tuition. I’m interested to know why.

With or without tuition centres, teachers still have the choice to provide private tuition. I really do not see tuition centres as competitors.

I really don’t know if providing tuition will cause the teachers’ students to suffer. It seems the logical conclusion but I would like to hear from teachers who give pte tuition.

autumnbronze

I am trying to get a sense of logic in this discussion thread. Forgive me if I come across as daft.

On one hand, I get the impression that teachers are paid well.

On the other hand, they are not.

But it is the curse of the moonlighting bug that is deterring them from doing their real job in school and compelling them to quit because they are paid tons more ....

So teachers should not be allowed to moonlight as tutors??

Are you kidding me?

This discussion is detracting from the REAL reasons why teachers quit.

1. Weekends wasted from 9am to 6pm accompanying kids to NDP parade practice for weeks on end when they can better spend the time preparing for lessons. Newbie teachers are especially targeted for this kind of extra
        curricular activities, so in effect, these teacher's 'bubble' of wanting to make a significant change in their pupils' lives are shattered within the first year of stepping into the schools they are posted to.

2. Attending rubbish meetings from 2pm to as long as 7pm, or in house
        sharing sessions or courses when information can easily be disseminated
        online.

3. The 100hr quota that they must fulfill attending courses.

4. Taking on additional duties outside of curriculum hrs or holidays eg accompanying kids for CCA if it is out of school, competitions, preparing pupils for inter-school seminars or presentations or school events. The grander the better.

5. Having your proposals to improve the in house curriculum structure
        turned down time and again by superiors because they are comfortably ensconced in their comfort zone.

6. Holidays taken up due to exam prep for kids eg 'O' level or overseas field trips due to competitions etc.

7. Marking, marking and more marking of course.

8. Fulfilling of rubbish KPIs.

9. Other roles they have to take on for instance mentorship to kids which means scheduling meetings after curriculum time to discuss issues.

And more lah ... can add on, need to think somemore .....

If teachers should be banned from moonlighting, then so should all others in various other line of jobs or profession. Why should teachers' personal life
        be impinged upon just because of a few bad apples? Yes, I want to qualify that there are some wet blankets in this profession, just like in any other profession, and cringe when I hear of them being given credit when it is NOT due to them.

:idea: Perhaps there are teachers who took loans to study and had to, not
        want to, moonlight in order to pay off the loans? That is just one example. There could be many other valid reasons.

And anyone, I am very sure of this, who is in the civil service and not a
        scholar or have good honors degree, will attest to the fact that the pay increment and promotional prospects can be marginal, for obvious reasons.

You want good teachers? Then interview sessions should be even more stringent. Course contents/curriculum or disciplinary advice towards students to trainees can be re-vamped/re-structured.

One has to move with the times :imcool:

Ok, just some of my thoughts here. My boys are sleeping, so log in here
        lor ....

Am I :offtopic: now :?

Or maybe I am treading on dangerous waters here ....

Better :siam: before I kena :torchme:

SAHM_TAN

Org like CDAC, MENDAKI and SINDA have tuition prog too I wonder do they use school teachers?

:torchme: you?

Naah.. upz you..

For coming outright and saying IT as IT truly is.

A lotta people like to blanket sweep cos they ARE not teachers themselves, so they do not know....... So they cannot understand the tribulences at the other end... where it seems is forever the chopping board. :roll:

For parents who teach for their rice bowl, it's even worse off. They may not even have much quality time to spend with their families.

SAHM_TAN

:offtopic:

Hello dear, long time no see, sexy mama with the whip

SAHM_TAN… there are also schools that offer the stAr programme after curriculum hours are over. ie. evenings. These programmes are taught by current school teachers for students at subsidized costs twice weekly.

My eldest DD.. buds_chubs and my dragon boi are down with the flu. It's depressing to come in here only to read the saaaammmme ol' thing discussed abt teachers.. the teaching profession.. even though on different \"new\" formed threads. :roll:

Here we go. Agaaaainn..

limlim

If teachers should be banned from moonlighting, then so should all others in various other line of jobs or profession.
                    I doubt engineers from, say, Shell are allowed to moonlight at, say, Esso? In fact, for most industries, there's a clause that states that they are not even allowed to work in the same industry for 1 or 2 years after they quit from their job!

I believe IRs employ the same clause.

IT industry should be similar too.

so why are teachers different?

schweppes

I am trying to get a sense of logic in this discussion thread. Forgive me if I come across as daft.

You are NEVER daft, Autumnbronze. Thank you for being honest and candid in your sharing. You speak from the heart and telling it as it is.

You have ventured where angels fear to tread. Especially such threads. :ugogirl: :salute:

autumnbronze

If teachers should be banned from moonlighting, then so should all others in various other line of jobs or profession.

I doubt engineers from, say, Shell are allowed to moonlight at, say, Esso? In fact, for most industries, there's a clause that states that they are not even allowed to work in the same industry for 1 or 2 years after they quit from their job!

I believe IRs employ the same clause.

IT industry should be similar too.

so why are teachers different?

You have a point there in your first statement and you are right.

I should clarify that perhaps there may be engineers, customer service officers, clerks etc .... who moonlight as tutors, despatch riders etc ...

Moonlight here on the basis of earning additional income, not so much moonlighting in/within the same profession.

Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.

• 34 / 78