miffy_ang:
Hi WTS,
I actually have more than 3 weeks to think, as my girl is a 09 kid. I am just being kiasu
I will prefer RGPS. Will you consider shifting nearer to the school?
Hi Miffy_ang,
So you have 3 more years and I only have 3 weeks. I also prefer RGPS, but houses there are too x. I have check with SSTA, estimated total time spend on the road( to and fro )is about 1hr30min to 2 hrs daily depend on traffic, so most likely I will registered her at Horizon Pri which is just 100m away from my block. -
Hi miffy,
As an ex student, I feel you shouldn't give up your phase 2A. RGPS is a good girls school. However, the morning traffic along Dunearn Rd is no joke with construction of DTL2 and many schools along the road down to ACS and SCGS.
Hi Janet,
I think it will be wasted too if I don't put my gal at RGPS, but the distance is no joke and you are talking about a 7 years old who need to spend about 90 mins to 120 mins on the road everyday. -
As an ex student, I feel you shouldn't give up your phase 2A. RGPS is a good girls school. However, the morning traffic along Dunearn Rd is no joke with construction of DTL2 and many schools along the road down to ACS and SCGS.
Whoa janet, you ex-student of RGPS har. Why never put your dd there? :scratchhead:
Oh I know liao. You IJ TPY, then GEP to RPGS. Steady pom-pee-pee leh. :boogie: -
Hi all,
Getting excited with the coming registration for my kid. I need advise which school to go for as my first choice:
1) Keming Primary School (< 1km)
2) Princess Elizabeth Primary School (1km - 2km)
3) St Margaret Primary School (> 2km but have affiliation)
4) Bukit Timah Primary School (1km - 2km)
This is the first time registration and I have a son. Actually we would prefer St Margaret Primary School however we are considering the distance as well plus we have a son to register very soon. Princess Elizabeth is another good one which we are aiming as it’s a mixed school. However we are out of 1km. What do you all think? -
miffy_ang:
Just to share, I live in Punggol. dd1 attends RGPS while dd2 attends St Nicks. Hubby and I both work full time. Each morning, we drop dd1 off at RGPS before we zip to St Nicks to drop dd2 off. After school/CCA, etc, depending on the time, hubby picks the girls up or we enlist the help of grandpa. Sometimes, we get the girls to stay back in the school library to do their work until someone is free to pick them up. We have tried the school bus, but the journey is incredibly long, so we decided to do the chauffering ourselves.Hi WTS,
I actually have more than 3 weeks to think, as my girl is a 09 kid. I am just being kiasu
I will prefer RGPS. Will you consider shifting nearer to the school?
I have to admit, it is not easy. Thankfully, our girls are very very happy in their respective schools.
Sending your child to a school far away from your home requires commitment from everyone. You know your child best. If you think the school is a good fit for your child, and you know that he/she will thrive there, I personally think it is worth it. -
XEK3:
If I were you, take SMPS first. You will soon realise how good it is to have a good affiliated sec school. It is always a good fallback if the child does not get into the hot IP school later, not every one die die must get into IP in sec school.Hi all,
Getting excited with the coming registration for my kid. I need advise which school to go for as my first choice:
1) Keming Primary School (< 1km)
2) Princess Elizabeth Primary School (1km - 2km)
3) St Margaret Primary School (> 2km but have affiliation)
4) Bukit Timah Primary School (1km - 2km)
This is the first time registration and I have a son. Actually we would prefer St Margaret Primary School however we are considering the distance as well plus we have a son to register very soon. Princess Elizabeth is another good one which we are aiming as it's a mixed school. However we are out of 1km. What do you all think?
Distance ? Is your home a permanent one that you will stay in forever ? There is no need to move immediately but nothing is forever.
Worry about the son later. Or work on a solution for the son later. -
Hi All, I stay in Bedok. Fengshan Pri is my mother school so my daughter get direct entry. I am also staying just beside the school. But, I prefer Red swastika Pri. Troubling which school to choose. Any advice. Thanks
smurth:
Hi All, I stay in Bedok. Fengshan Pri is my mother school so my daughter get direct entry. I am also staying just beside the school. But, I prefer Red swastika Pri. Troubling which school to choose. Any advice. Thanks
Your child will be able to get into Fengshan Pri School via Phase 2A(2) -- For a child whose parent or sibling who has studied in the primary school of choice. Registration Date: 12 & 13 July 2012, Announcement of Result: By Tues 17 July 2012.
Red Swastika Pri -- U will fall under Phase 2C. From past year history record, there is Risk of balloting only for those staying within 1km. Anyone staying beyond 1km may not even get a chance to ballot at all.
http://www.kiasuparents.com/kiasu/event/p1-registration-2012-phase-2c -
VeryKiasu2010, Thanks for the advise!! I received quite a number of feeback with the same opinion as you. My boys are holding me back now.
Anyone can provide feedback on the BASC in St Margaret?
I realised that not all Affiliated Secondary falls under the top few banding. Eg of St Margaret Secondary School falls under Band5. My DD actually likes St Margaret. I am not sure how well she will adapt to the long journey.
Anyway, given I stay beyond >2km, how high is my chances with St margaret comparing to Keming and Bukit View which is <1km?
Siblings going to a different school will be more troublesome with the future logistic and arrangement correct? The thought of going through again for my son seems like a another nightmare coming…hahaha
We have not thought of moving out from the west yet. But probably will have to give it a thought now. -
XEK3:
I thought you said you have affiliation for SMPS ? Otherwise Keming is the logical choiceVeryKiasu2010, Thanks for the advise!! I received quite a number of feeback with the same opinion as you. My boys are holding me back now.
Anyone can provide feedback on the BASC in St Margaret?
I realised that not all Affiliated Secondary falls under the top few banding. Eg of St Margaret Secondary School falls under Band5. My DD actually likes St Margaret. I am not sure how well she will adapt to the long journey.
Anyway, given I stay beyond >2km, how high is my chances with St margaret comparing to Keming and Bukit View which is <1km?
Siblings going to a different school will be more troublesome with the future logistic and arrangement correct? The thought of going through again for my son seems like a another nightmare coming....hahaha
We have not thought of moving out from the west yet. But probably will have to give it a thought now.
Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.