Real reason behind Singapore’s obsession with tuition
Sadly, dd is in a school that belongs to category 3. When I queried about this, I was given the impression that this is common practice in other schools. However, I am not overly disturbed by this. If the purpose of seeing the paper is to learn from mistakes, can do so with practice compo during lesson time lor. If it is to fight for marks, then it is a different story lah.
However, if the parent feel very strongly about the issue, the school/P/teacher should be prepared to release the paper for review. I believe most parents are reasonable people.
Category 1 is the ideal.
JMHO -
Just wondering, shouldn’t MOE make it compulsory for ALL schools to reveal all the marks for P6? This way, we parents will know where the weak areas are and how to work from there. Prob is I cannot compose an email to convince the minister. Can anyone help if he/she agrees to my suggestion?
BeContented:
Just wondering, do you know the components marks that make up English marks? If you know how much is Oral, Written paper, Listening Compre, is it not possible to compute the compo marks?Actually my DD also do not know her score. All I am told is below average & I dun know what is the average score even. However, after the whole PTM, I learnt from another mother she pushed hard & managed to find out her dd score.
Maybe I never try hard enough. -
tuition_czar:
It was the Chinese compo result I do not know. I hope schools can be forthcoming to inform us of marks.janet_lee88:
Just wondering, shouldn't MOE make it compulsory for ALL schools to reveal all the marks for P6? This way, we parents will know where the weak areas are and how to work from there. Prob is I cannot compose an email to convince the minister. Can anyone help if he/she agrees to my suggestion?
You will need more than just a well drafted e-mail. Much much more.
I need someone has great persuasive power to draft an email, so that none will be left behind (if possible). -
lydia_chin:
I Was telling myself I will not post anymore after seeing some tasteless remarks but for your post I must show my full support before I eventually sign off.
Hi Chen,
:goodpost: I remember I read in another thread that 'he' claim himself to be a civil person :roll:
Chen, I appreciate your effort to write these posts, providing opinions and very good suggestions to improve our education system. please please please continue to do so :please:
There are parents here who are very lucky to have good partnership with their children's school, have supportive and competent teachers /principals. Good for them! For those who do not, and are still going through the pain together with their children, shall find ways to help the precious ones. At the same time, parents who support systemic change to our education, please do write, post, feedback to MOE. And if these still fall on deaf ears, the next GE is definitely worth waiting for.
Let's help the precious ones out there. -
It was the Chinese compo result I do not know. I hope schools can be forthcoming to inform us of marks.tuition_czar:
[quote=\"janet_lee88\"]Just wondering, shouldn't MOE make it compulsory for ALL schools to reveal all the marks for P6? This way, we parents will know where the weak areas are and how to work from there. Prob is I cannot compose an email to convince the minister. Can anyone help if he/she agrees to my suggestion?
You will need more than just a well drafted e-mail. Much much more.
I need someone has great persuasive power to draft an email, so that none will be left behind (if possible).[/quote]In that case, you have a stronger case Janet in your school. If English compo can be released, why not Chinese compo? :? -
on having specialisation teaching:
For P3, there are 3 best classes for my dd's level. The best class have different teachers for all subjects, while 2 of the 'normal' classes have form teacher teaching EMS. The 3 best classes are introduced to Onsponge while the rest are not. However, they sat for the same Maths paper for SA1 and more than half of the 'normal' classes failed. Did the school shortchanged these poor students who might not have a chance to try out / be exposed to those high order thinking problem sums? no? Is it the parents' fault for not sending their children to onsponge tuition since the school do not provide it in the first place. This is a valid example of school test beyond what they teach.
On school not returning compo papers/ disclose marks for oral & LC:
At least some of you still have banding, my dd's teacher just replied: we are not allowed to disclose the marks - period. I have to pester him and ask: do you think oral is the weakest component among all the UNKNOWN , if not was it compo? and after that fix them up like pizzles to identify her weak areas :slapshead: -
Hi cherryc,
It’s very sad we would need GE to get things done…thought ministers have pledged to serve citizens. I am sure our newly minted Education minister or senior ones can look into matters on the ground level. Waiting for next GE is too late.
If Singaporean kids can enjoy priority in this coming P1 registration with immediate effect, why can’t parents get to know children’s results for compo even if we cannot see the paper. -
For EL compo, I kinda guessed the mark since I have results for some papers. But all I am requesting now is transparency. Must things go viral before right person/people be pressurized to work on it?
If marks are not revealed, don’t tell me school has some miracle to feed the kids to improve for next exam ie prelims ?
I do not like to harass…and I am not very good in doing so, not very pushy I guess. It’s a torture to be kept in the dark. -
Hi ksi,
Just wondering, do you know the components marks that make up English marks? If you know how much is Oral, Written paper, Listening Compre, is it not possible to compute the compo marks?BeContented:
Actually my DD also do not know her score. All I am told is below average & I dun know what is the average score even. However, after the whole PTM, I learnt from another mother she pushed hard & managed to find out her dd score.
Maybe I never try hard enough.
Sadly I could not figure out cos all I have is the written score for Paper 2 for both EL & CL.
Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.