What I hate about the current Singapore

650 Posts 81 Posters 150.8k Views 1 Watching
      Imami

I don’t want to sound superficial but after following this thread for days and thinking about it for days, I still come to the same conclusion - I don’t hate anything about Singapore. Maybe I took it very personally…Or literally.

When I thought of the hot, hotter, hottest weather and wanted to say,"I hate the weather!" I thought of those news coverage about India or some parts of europe having heat waves with people dying of heat stroke.

When I thought maybe I could say I hate the stressful education system - the balloting, the pv, the tuition, teachers not teaching enough, textbook not good etc etc - I remembered how my mum told me that she was deprived of the opportunity to go to school some 60 years ago.

When I gripe about the frequent train faults, higher than high Coe, traffic jams, the so packed that a fart can be lethal trains - I start to feel for my ex-counterparts in new Delhi who spend 3 hrs commuting from their homes to office (one way only hor). I also remember watching a documentary programme on to tibetian children who have to walk 2 hours to the nearest school.

Surely I can complain about rising food/cost of living??? Then I remembered watching another documentary programme on africa kids starving to death.

ThIs little island is definitely not perfect, I don’t know why but I love it! My love for the little red dot didn’t blossom until I entered adulthood. National day was a day filled with pride. We would stay at home to watch the n day parade on tv and through our windows, we watch the paratroopers, fighter jets and fireworks performance. While those of you cheered in the stadium/Padang, we cheered at home. I begin to appreciate Singapore more after becoming a parent. Age is also catching up with my parents and parents in laws. All these made me appreciate the fact that high standard of health/medical care is available to the public. My ex-colleague who is from Indonesia said they (Chinese) had to go to the big hospital in the city (a few hour drive away) because there were some discrimination going on.

I am not perfect but my child loves me anyway. Maybe this is also how I feel about my home, Singapore.

fightingmom

Imami:
        I don't want to sound superficial but after following this thread for days and thinking about it for days, I still come to the same conclusion - I don't hate anything about Singapore. Maybe I took it very personally...Or literally.

When I thought of the hot, hotter, hottest weather and wanted to say,\"I hate the weather!\" I thought of those news coverage about India or some parts of europe having heat waves with people dying of heat stroke.

When I thought maybe I could say I hate the stressful education system - the balloting, the pv, the tuition, teachers not teaching enough, textbook not good etc etc - I remembered how my mum told me that she was deprived of the opportunity to go to school some 60 years ago.

When I gripe about the frequent train faults, higher than high Coe, traffic jams, the so packed that a fart can be lethal trains - I start to feel for my ex-counterparts in new Delhi who spend 3 hrs commuting from their homes to office (one way only hor). I also remember watching a documentary programme on to tibetian children who have to walk 2 hours to the nearest school.

Surely I can complain about rising food/cost of living??? Then I remembered watching another documentary programme on africa kids starving to death.

ThIs little island is definitely not perfect, I don't know why but I love it! My love for the little red dot didn't blossom until I entered adulthood. National day was a day filled with pride. We would stay at home to watch the n day parade on tv and through our windows, we watch the paratroopers, fighter jets and fireworks performance. While those of you cheered in the stadium/Padang, we cheered at home. I begin to appreciate Singapore more after becoming a parent. Age is also catching up with my parents and parents in laws. All these made me appreciate the fact that high standard of health/medical care is available to the public. My ex-colleague who is from Indonesia said they (Chinese) had to go to the big hospital in the city (a few hour drive away) because there were some discrimination going on.

I am not perfect but my child loves me anyway. Maybe this is also how I feel about my home, Singapore.
        :goodpost:

toddles

tuition_czar:
          These days I am indifferent. Singapore is just another place to me. People come, people go. People live, people die. Just too numbed to feel the pain and suffering.

Maybe it is a good thing.
          hmm... to me, indifference is worse than hate. one's gotta feel something lah.

those who feel, desire change. numbness questions life. once we cease to care, do we still exist?

ok, just some existential sorta rambling.

toddles

ahkeong:
            kiddo:

[quote=\"ahkeong\"]i am so out of this crap place i once called home if things dun improve in 2016

definitely not the place i wan my children to be given the kinda shit we have now
            wat kinda shit they are gonna have in future

ahkeong dont expect thing to improve so fast in 4 to 5 years

we build this place from 1965 to 2012 = 47 years
            if i am right you only working for 5-8 years??
            Can understand why your gen feel so \"sh...\"about SG...

for us our life have improve
            for your Gen/Era thing have standstill or slide

We went from nothing to something
            You went from having much to having no much...how to be happy??

Hope thing improveforyou in the future ahkeong :celebrate:

That why My motto as a parent dont over indulge in our children
            the disillusion that life should alway be good will come later in life
            for them if life get tough :hugs:

heehee thanks thanks!!! i actually went from nothing to having wat i have now, though i do feel that things are slowly going away from me now..

i have been in the workforce since 1997.. so i am not xiao didi liao

maybe i think too much but seeing myself how i am struggling at times, i fear for my children.. we wont know for sure wats gonna happen for sure but if things do not improve, very soon the saying that we are the minority in our own country does indeed looks real..[/quote]haha, the line in red made me laff!

anyway none of us here are young, all lao peh lao bu already....

but i guess once we are parents, somehow we care more about what Singapore is, what Singapore becomes? suddenly the stakes are higher, and life is not just about ourselves?

perhaps also cos there are very specific policies and costs that affect us as parents. I think July's gonna be a real stressful month for those with firstborns entering pri sch... 😓

• E Offline
              Emelyn

Imami:
              I don't want to sound superficial but after following this thread for days and thinking about it for days, I still come to the same conclusion - I don't hate anything about Singapore. Maybe I took it very personally...Or literally.

When I thought of the hot, hotter, hottest weather and wanted to say,\"I hate the weather!\" I thought of those news coverage about India or some parts of europe having heat waves with people dying of heat stroke.

ThIs little island is definitely not perfect, I don't know why but I love it! My love for the little red dot didn't blossom until I entered adulthood. National day was a day filled with pride. We would stay at home to watch the n day parade on tv and through our windows, we watch the paratroopers, fighter jets and fireworks performance. While those of you cheered in the stadium/Padang, we cheered at home. I begin to appreciate Singapore more after becoming a parent. Age is also catching up with my parents and parents in laws. All these made me appreciate the fact that high standard of health/medical care is available to the public. My ex-colleague who is from Indonesia said they (Chinese) had to go to the big hospital in the city (a few hour drive away) because there were some discrimination going on.

:goodpost:
              Same sentiments...
              That's why I get very frustrated whenever I am at my PIL's house... and my SILs and BILs complain abt everything abt SG.

limlim

Imami:

I speculate that your household income is above national median.. :evil: :evil:

toddles

Imami:

yeah, i think singaporeans just enjoy complaining la. it's a national pasttime! if it helps some people feel better after they get the rant off their chest, then why not?

but surely it's better to stave off the keyboard warrioring, and be a part of the solution.

my key gripe is that it reflects terribly on our nation's soul to have our elderly in the lowest menial tasks, not out of choice but of circumstance. something has to be done about that, and civil society has a part to play. so contributing to a solution to that, raising awareness steadily and campaigning towards changing that is what I've been trying to do...

toddles:

my key gripe is that it reflects terribly on our nation's soul to have our elderly in the lowest menial tasks, not out of choice but of circumstance. something has to be done about that, and civil society has a part to play. so contributing to a solution to that, raising awareness steadily and campaigning towards changing that is what I've been trying to do...
                    I agree with this point in bold but I dare not highlight it in case the old people who truly need a job are \"banned\" from being hired just to drop this perception of SG... :nailbite: However, on the other hand, I also hope something is done to remind the children to take care of the old.

toddles

toddles:

I agree with this point in bold but I dare not highlight it in case the old people who truly need a job are \"banned\" from being hired just to drop this perception of SG... :nailbite: However, on the other hand, I also hope something is done to remind the children to take care of the old.

i think it's not just the children who should take care of their old. some genuinely would like to, but are really struggling with their own families. in future, more elderly will not even have children to fall back on. some children might be overseas, others who have children might have even more problems managing their own immediate families.

employment wise, this has to be handled with good common sense. there are some strong healthy elderly who really don't mind working. but maybe we should create other jobs that are suitable for them, that are less back-breaking. there is no shame in clearing plates or mopping loos, but i feel VERY UNCOMFORTABLE with someone my grandpa / grandma's age doing that for me/my children. We don't even let our parents do such things right?!

our leaders are very against hand-outs. but perhaps if the elderly can show that they have contributed to the nation, whether it is from working in the past, or from bringing up a family / being care-givers to their elderly parents, they should deserve some small monthly payout such that they can survive decently without having to stand for long hours clearing plates/ mopping loos for the younger generation who surely can clear their own plates?

I concur with you, toddles, really need to appeal to the government to handle and manage this fairly for the elderly.

Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.

• 17 / 65