Real reason behind Singapore’s obsession with tuition

774 Posts 63 Posters 179.6k Views 1 Watching

BeContented:

[quote=\"ksi\"]
      Tuition is a must-have to solve a known problem. Enrichment solves future problems which may or may not exist but people still want to do it.

tuition is a must have to pull up grades.
      enrichment is for those who have spare cash and kiasu. 😓

Why u scold me kiasu??? Got spare cannot meh??

😆 :rotflmao: :rotflmao: :rotflmao:

Joking 😉
      That's why I say, there is no way to stop people from wanting more tuition/enrichment cos' of the desire to want to be better, headstart, future problem etc. Reduce perhaps maybe.

Truth is, my kids dun need tuition (mine should be enrichment under ksp definition) But I think they are not challenged enough & fact is, they do learn more. If they are overloaded or do not learn new stuff, I will stop. Whole day long full of energy fight, bicker, test each other....no tuition = bug me for tv, computer games = my blood pressure shoots up & I kept losing temper. Occupy their time learn useful things & give me chance to shop while waiting & a little 'date' time with hubby 😉[/quote]i got scold you meh? 😓
      i also a kiasu parent leh. 😓
      so are majority of the 63961 members sign up ba...no? 😓

:goodpost:

Hear hear, schweppes jie....

:udawoman:

Ok.

Concluded liao.

In a nutshell.

Close thread!

• FunzF Offline
          Funz

Hmmm… let me recall about the compo.

I know they do get back their compos both Chinese and English, that they do in class. With corrections and all. They are given the good compos written by their friends as reference as well.

For SA1, the compo was not returned. DD was absent for that period as well but according to her the class got to see their compos but had to return them to the teachers after the teachers have given them pointers.

tuition is a must have to pull up grades.

So in your case from A pull up to A* issit? :politebleah:

i got no excuse for my kiasuness. http://i216.photobucket.com/albums/cc18/jedamum/Ido%20Icon/curtsie.gif\">
            😓 :siam:

buy insurance means kiasi, so meaning i kiasi also ah... 😓 :faint:

i also a kiasu parent leh. 😓

so are majority of the 63961 members sign up ba...no? 😓
              Nope.

Not me..

Nuh-uh.. :please:

schweppes

Ok.

Concluded liao.

In a nutshell.

Close thread!

lucky... u didn't think that, in a nutshell to my post is kiabor

BeContented

BeContented:

Why u scold me kiasu??? Got spare cannot meh??

😆 :rotflmao: :rotflmao: :rotflmao:

Joking 😉
                  That's why I say, there is no way to stop people from wanting more tuition/enrichment cos' of the desire to want to be better, headstart, future problem etc. Reduce perhaps maybe.

Truth is, my kids dun need tuition (mine should be enrichment under ksp definition) But I think they are not challenged enough & fact is, they do learn more. If they are overloaded or do not learn new stuff, I will stop. Whole day long full of energy fight, bicker, test each other....no tuition = bug me for tv, computer games = my blood pressure shoots up & I kept losing temper. Occupy their time learn useful things & give me chance to shop while waiting & a little 'date' time with hubby 😉

So.. you're not kiasu.

You're alert to their needs.
                  How to better spend their time, rather than bicker, being tv-glued, gaming.. etc.

You're also alert to YOUR needs. :evil:
                  To shop.. to date.. ME time.. couple time.. all bao gao liao.. :salute:

Win-win situation from how i see it. :udawoman:

Plus.........................

You got a lot of the spare moolah. :moneyflies: :moneyflies: :moneyflies:

Lucky you lor. See.. different strokes for different folks. 😉

Contended lah 😄
                  Kiasu a bit lah, but very rational type....my kids' well-being takes priority. DH finds me too lax with them, with myself too (shop, date, ME, need lotsa teabreaks etc 😉 actually I find you are impressive, able to achieve a lot. I'm quite inefficient :oops: )

Spare moolah ...... Have some, give up some. No branded stuff for whole family etc. But things did get better last few years cos we managed to clear our loans Liao. For years we only go budget holidays nearby, damn happy to go Japan last year. So generally lucky, happy, contended. :rahrah:
                  But paisay, still seems to complain sometimes. 😆

:goodpost:

Hear hear, schweppes jie....

:udawoman:

Ok.

Concluded liao.

In a nutshell.

Close thread!

:goodpost: schweppes :rahrah:

wonderm

schweppes:
                      For whatever reasons we send our kids to tuition or enrichment centres, sometimes i think it boils down to survival. Be it to survive the system or to survive in society, we just want our kids to keep up with everybody else. True, there will always be some parents who want their kids to stay ahead of everybody else. But who are we to say otherwise?

Coz, we all know, that in Singapore, if we don't keep up, we lag behind and no one wants our kids to be left behind.

We compete for places - not just for P1 places in good primary schools, or Sec schools... but down the line in JCs and high demand courses in the polys and of course, a place in our local Unis. And when i say \"compete\", I don't even mean competing with foreign students (this is NOT meant to be another FT or govt bashing thread). As Uni places are limited, our kids will compete with each other's kids for places.

So, tuition becomes a need and want for many parents because they just want to help their kids to survive the system. Guess, call it what u will, be it kiasu, kiasi (or even kiabor... 😉 ), end of day, we just want the best for our children.

Which parent doesn't want their kids to enter the Unis and become a graduate, and be happy with their jobs and lives.

So... until that day comes, in the meantime, parents become desperate (some more desperate than others) to help the child survive the system.

Will having better textbooks, better trained quality teachers, holistic learning, smaller classroom size, et all make a positive difference? Definitely. Will it detract the need for tution? Doubt so.
                      :goodpost: :goodpost:

You just got another fan! :grphug:

Wonderm a new fan!

Wait, which club?
                        We are oredi in Schweppes notti club.

:offtopic:

*Miss the joy and laughter tt used to preside over this forum..*

:grphug:

Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.

• 66 / 78

InfoseekerI
                        Infoseeker
                        Lumiore_SupportL
                        Lumiore_Support
                        JoyceWangJ
                        JoyceWang