Is your flat like this one ?
pinky:
Get a dryer ... saw some friends stack up the dryer above their washing machine to save space.
if you are referring to pte condo, then the balcony is meant for laundry purpose bec there isnt one at the kitchen/washing area. :slapshead:MMM:
What about the recent trend of super duper big balcony for all rooms but tiny bedroom???? Heard it's due to some change in government ruling/ computation that the developers are getting creative with balcony.
Saw a development where they have balcony across living room and 2 other bedrooms.... So big that it's like 50% of the bedroom size.... I personally prefer bigger bedroom to balcony.
Cannot tahan the sight of people hanging clothes on balcony...Saw one where someone put their washing machine there and their unit is facing the main road. :yikes:
the only space they provided is a teenyweeny one for a washing machine/dryer, not even hanging space is given. So the agent pointed to me the balcony or flower bed - there, you hang your laundry there lor :stupid:
Me, for one, prefer to hang my laundry to dry. But with limited space, it's either balcony or dryer lor. :roll: -
But dryer leads to high electricity consumption??? We got a 2 in 1 type (washer + dryer) at home and use that mainly for rainy seasons. But observed the clothes are not very dry.... :?Get a dryer ... saw some friends stack up the dryer above their washing machine to save space.
Me, for one, prefer to hang my laundry to dry. But with limited space, it's either balcony or dryer lor. :roll: -
Eh... i dont have a dryer at home so i can't comment regarding electricity consumption. I usually handwash my laundry unless full load then i use washing machine.
But dryer leads to high electricity consumption??? We got a 2 in 1 type (washer + dryer) at home and use that mainly for rainy seasons. But observed the clothes are not very dry.... :?fightingmom:
Get a dryer ... saw some friends stack up the dryer above their washing machine to save space.
Me, for one, prefer to hang my laundry to dry. But with limited space, it's either balcony or dryer lor. :roll:
i know of a friend who is recently newly wed - she didn't even do major laundry at home cos her current place that she and her hubby bought is really very small - about 377sqft .. so she sent all to dry clean ! :faint: -
i know of a friend who is recently newly wed - she didn't even do major laundry at home cos her current place that she and her hubby bought is really very small - about 377sqft .. so she sent all to dry clean ! :faint:
Really :faint: I thought those mickey mouse unit only meant for 1 but not 2... -
:oops:
I used to do that. Back when we were DINKs and we both travel a fair bit for our work. Send everything to the laundramat. But no need to dry clean all lah. Too ex.
I used to have a dryer too. Told my helper to use the dryer only during rainy seasons or for beddings and denims. But realise the dryer was running daily and the electricity bill is sky high. So when dryer konked, I refuse to get another one. We have ample space and we get ample sunlight to dry our laundry at our current place. -
Exactly ! she kind of regretted her initial impulse to buy then. She is planning for a bb in one to two years' time ... very headache for her and hubby. :slapshead:fightingmom:
i know of a friend who is recently newly wed - she didn't even do major laundry at home cos her current place that she and her hubby bought is really very small - about 377sqft .. so she sent all to dry clean ! :faint:
Really :faint: I thought those mickey mouse unit only meant for 1 but not 2... -
Really :faint: I thought those mickey mouse unit only meant for 1 but not 2...
In some developed cities like Tokyo, quite common to find young couples without kid staying in such shoebox unit. -
yah, especially if you wash big items like bedsheets/blanket, you got to spin dry twice, that's what my friend told me.
But dryer leads to high electricity consumption??? We got a 2 in 1 type (washer + dryer) at home and use that mainly for rainy seasons. But observed the clothes are not very dry.... :?fightingmom:
Me, for one, prefer to hang my laundry to dry. But with limited space, it's either balcony or dryer lor. :roll:
Also I feel the daily spin-drying process will spoil our clothes faster? -
maybe the neighbour's balcony has got the most sunlight for drying the laundry. Also some condos' backyard does not allow laundry to be pushed out. there was 1 project I visited that told me to hang the laundry directly above my head in the kitchen bec there is no backyard and the washing machine/dryer is at one corner in the kitchen :slapshead:
But.... quite unsightly to hang clothes at balcony. At my mum's place, there is a neighbour who put up those clothes hanging system in their balcony ceiling... This is actually against the house rule. But since it's a small project, they probably weren't sticky. But... I still find it unsightly.pinky:
if you are referring to pte condo, then the balcony is meant for laundry purpose bec there isnt one at the kitchen/washing area. :slapshead:
the only space they provided is a teenyweeny one for a washing machine/dryer, not even hanging space is given. So the agent pointed to me the balcony or flower bed - there, you hang your laundry there lor :stupid:
Mum's backyard is only good for 1 washing machine so we installed those hanging system that allows them to push out their clothes to get sunlight. -
pinky:
maybe the neighbour's balcony has got the most sunlight for drying the laundry. Also some condos' backyard does not allow laundry to be pushed out. there was 1 project I visited that told me to hang the laundry directly above my head in the kitchen bec there is no backyard and the washing machine/dryer is at one corner in the kitchen :slapshead:
That's the case for most, if not all, HDB 3 n 4 room flats. Either out the windows, or above head in kitchen. And washing machine in one corner of kitchen.
Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.