All About Autism

Scheduled Pinned Locked Moved Special Needs & Learning Difficulties
    7.9k Posts 414 Posters 2.2m Views 3 Watching
      helplessmum3

Double E:
      Helplessmum

Actually, your boy seems to be doing ok at his age and I read from earlier thread that you mentioned he will ask other kids at playground to play with him. ASD kids usually will not initiate play with peers but your boy is doing that.

Was he formally diagnosed as ASD by kkh? What signs did he display to warrant the diagnosis?
      Double E, yes by kkh physiologist. Ya, he will wave bye bye to his friend in cc. but still quite poor in social interaction, dance & movement. In school he will not do, he will see then go home he try to practice the song & movement himself. If classes have imitation of animals sound, he go home then he do, like Meow for cat, Moo for cow & tiger & so on.. at times he dun show in school , also if school sing song like London bridge is faling down, he will go home then sing. Chinese song too.

Double E.
      so I only can depend on them but eventually give up. If u read back , I have bad experience with their physiologist too. Very sad, as I hope I can say good things about them, we I have been hopeful too..
      Duno how may out of 6, he is ASD already. He is ASD , maybe his IQ is above average & he use his iQ to overcome some ASD signs.
      He know who he can bully too.. he is good manipulator too.. he acting is vary from person to person & even teacher to teachers.
      Nowsaday, scold him he feel very upset. He noe when we angry when we are happy.. he share interest too.. if we never pay attention he will bring tat item near to our eye & show us.

But still duno about comprehensive conversation. He will not what is this , what they are doing lor.
      If he duno wat item is that, he will try to make up the words for it, example if its look like triangle he will say I wan triangle pls, hahaha

helplessmum3

Double E

Your boy’s condition is very similar to my boy.

During song and dance session in school, sometimes he will just observe or only do the last part of the song, but at home, he will sing the whole song to us.
          My boy also makes up words if he can’t find a word to describe what he wants.

But I think, you should still send him for OT and ST at HPB while waiting for placement in EIPIC centre. I think it will do him more good than harm.

helplessmum3

Double E:
            Your boy's condition is very similar to my boy.

During song and dance session in school, sometimes he will just observe or only do the last part of the song, but at home, he will sing the whole song to us.
            My boy also makes up words if he can't find a word to describe what he wants.

But I think, you should still send him for OT and ST at HPB while waiting for placement in EIPIC centre. I think it will do him more good than harm.

Double E, ok, maybe i will reconsider again..

your son ask question , its started all by himself?

mashy

Helplessmum

I agree with double e. should continue sending. so now your boy isn’t attending any therapies whether pte or kkh? Pte is also an hour only. If u are not happy with kkh, try pte. See what’s the difference. If not much, then go kkh. It also took more than a year before I saw results in my boy. U gotta have more patience.

Double E

Helplessmum

No lah, we train him and keep asking him What’s this Whats that, then slowly he picked it up.

Now I am trying to teach him to describe what he can find in a park, so tough.

helplessmum3

mashy:
                  Helplessmum

I agree with double e. should continue sending. so now your boy isn't attending any therapies whether pte or kkh? Pte is also an hour only. If u are not happy with kkh, try pte. See what's the difference. If not much, then go kkh. It also took more than a year before I saw results in my boy. U gotta have more patience.

my son need custom made. :stupid: hiaz.

Double E

Aiyo Helplessmum, if you don’t bring your boy to the therapist, how they do a ‘custom-made’ plan for him? They must have enough time to know him enough to come up with an individual plan for him mah.

happystar

chibi:
                      hi happystar,

KK helped me to pass my daughter information to the society for the physically disabled , as at P1, KK is not able to support them anymore, KK told me they can only support if the kids are still in kindergarten or for more serious case from what i remember.
                      The lady from the society for the physically disabled rang me to arrange for speech therapy for my daughter, but it has to be a once a fornight lesson, which i am not able to keep taking leave for it.
                      Hence decided to put it off. I spoke to my daughter's allied educator about it too, whether should i go ahead anot? He told me it might be a good support for my daughter if i were to go ahead but did mention that my daughter 's speech is clear and he can understand her speech well.

my daughter during K2 has very short attention span too, the teacher can be teaching maths , and she can wonder off to the K1 class room and sit there to listen in the chinese class. :yikes: She can even doze off in class . 😓
                      Now she is much better.
                      I went to the school meet the parent sessions. Her form teacher actually told me how she manages my daughter, which i can share the experience with you here, might be of some help or idea to you 😄
                      What happens is that her form teacher , fully aware of her condition, actually helps me alot. I saw the classroom arrangement during the orientation, and my daughter is actually sitting just infront of the teacher. The teacher every time whenever she sees my daughter daydreaming, she will tap on her table to bring her back to reality .Her form teacher told her classmates to always keep a lookout for my daughter , like don't let her wander off during class lesson if the teacher is not around, and help to guide her along if she needs help. I asked her form teacher, are her classmates aware of her condition? she told me, No, but she told them that my daughter needs more support from all of them 🙂
                      Her form teacher also assigned buddies to my daughter, Eg recess buddy, dismissal buddy . I actually asked her form teacher, does her buddies feel tired having my daughter tag along with them all the times? She actually told me that they are so happy with my daughter around, they always eat together during recess and walk around the school compound together talking. I saw one of my daughter's buddy when walking her to school one day.
                      Her buddy actually stopped when saw my daughter from afar and waited for us to walk nearer then hold my daughter' hand and walk in with her. :boogie:
                      I was so glad , my daughter has friends now!!!!! :rahrah:
                      There are still some hiccups now and then tho, like my daughter daydreaming at times in class, which is quite often, or her afraid to do some P.E activity like foward roll. but we will get through it somehow.
                      i am going to start readin social story to my daughter about starting school cause next week is start of a new term again! so fast!!!
                      Hi chibi, it's always encouraging and informative reading your post. According to teacher, my son's attention span is only about 10 mins, after which he will fidget and play with other things nearby or even walk away. However, he's always able to answer questions when asked. How did you gradually stop your gal from walking to the other class? For writing task at P1, is your gal able to sit through and complete her task? Can share tips on how to hold attention? The psychologist also highlighted my son should be sitting at the front so that he is within sight of the teacher.
                      Good to know your gal now has many friends. So does she still need to attend any therapy at all?

schweppes

Don’t give up so easily, helplessmum. All good things take time. Your son is a bright boy. Sure, he may have his issues and difficulties but I know you and your husband are also trying as best as u can. With your support and love, he will learn to overcome his challenges

Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.

• 139 / 794

P1 Registration 2027 Changes
                        DSA Discussions and Strategies
                        SkillsFuture course recommendations