What I hate about the current Singapore

650 Posts 81 Posters 149.9k Views 1 Watching

Buds, just pun the word oni …

I do think many are curious as to the term SAHM or housewife..

One person I came across asked this, \"Stay home all the time, not bored arh?\"
        I may be staying at home, but I have work to be done...still have boss to answer to.
        Making sure household stuff like toilet roll, detergent, cooking oil, eggs be avail and have stand by. Wash/change bed sheet, curtain, clean fans, see that hubby/kids have clothes to wear. I am like logistics person. All these are work. How to be bored?
        If kids need tutor, I have to find. Then ask 'boss' if he is ok...but in this area, usually I get my way. Go shopping is also bcos of their stuff.

My weakness is for mobile phone and handbags. So I do drop obvious hints when I like a particular thing.

Dreamaurora

I may be staying at home, but I have work to be done...still have boss to answer to.
          Making sure household stuff like toilet roll, detergent, cooking oil, eggs be avail and have stand by. Wash/change bed sheet, curtain, clean fans, see that hubby/kids have clothes to wear. I am like logistics person. All these are work. How to be bored?
          If kids need tutor, I have to find. Then ask 'boss' if he is ok...but in this area, usually I get my way. Go shopping is also bcos of their stuff.

My weakness is for mobile phone and handbags. So I do drop obvious hints when I like a particular thing.

Wow. I told my mom that I wanted my future wife to be able to cook, take care of house, etc. My mom just said marry a rich girl and get a maid lor. :rotflmao:
          Unfortunately, I totally disregarded her advice :rotflmao:

Imami

Ehemm.. peeps..

Should be contented right?
            Right right! I keep wondering each time I see \" contended\"...

Imami

BeContented:

Asking u bored or not still can swallow & pretend (actually really) we lucky worrrrr, got such option.
              Telling u zho bo Liao bee (do nothing, waste rice) & try to insinuate u very free :nunchuk: :rant:

Wah.... :mad: :rant: :stompfeet: :nunchuk:

Liao wo eh bee mah, um si yi eh bee(waste my rice, not your rice)

metz

BeContented:

Telling u zho bo Liao bee (do nothing, waste rice) & try to insinuate u very free :nunchuk: :rant:
                Tell them no choice loh.
                Not as if we can choose, unlike them.
                Hubby says must stay at home, what to do? 🤷
                Must make hubby happy mah. šŸ˜‰

Imami

We do not live for others. So what if people tell me I am just a housewife. As long as I am happy. Some people chase the 5Cs and put others down just bcos they stay in condos. But both husband and wife have to work to be a slave to maintain the condo. What for?

I did think of getting another flat like DBSS. But the cost is way too high. Also, I must like the location.
                  Janet Jie Jie, being a housewife is not easy. Especially if this housewife is a Sahm in this age. When I was a kid, housewives did not need to drive kids around... These days many Sahms need to shutter around to fetch/send kids to different places.

I always think to myself about these housewives/Sahms - they may not be able to change the world, but they can make a difference to their children's lives. These children may one day change the world.

Imami:

We do not live for others. So what if people tell me I am just a housewife. As long as I am happy.

Janet Jie Jie, being a housewife is not easy. Especially if this housewife is a Sahm in this age. When I was a kid, housewives did not need to drive kids around... These days many Sahms need to shutter around to fetch/send kids to different places.

I always think to myself about these housewives/Sahms - they may not be able to change the world, but they can make a difference to their children's lives. These children may one day change the world.

being a housewife in the past was easier...at least no need to stress over children's education. now when the child is sitting for psle, it's like I am the one :slapshead: my mum didn't coach me...planned own revision...one assessment book used from jan to dec. now ? i dropped more hair at popular than at takashimaya.

then again, last time study not so jelak...after homework is done, it's play time. i am not superman, no need to change the world...but making sure my kids are well brought up, know manners and bonding with them is important.

Imami

i dropped more hair at popular than at takashimaya.

:rotflmao: šŸ˜†

limlim

Imami:

But I'm just saying.. the lesser the income, the more likelihood of being unhappy with the current Singapore.

I get what you mean - in short I (or anyone in the same situation) am not complaining because I have enough (if not have in excess). Sure, I agree with you that someone who has enough or have excess is definitely in a happier position than someone who has insufficient. But it's all relative and more importantly, the idea of \"enough\" is subjective. As soon as one is beyond the staples, it is all a state of mind. By any standard, I would be deemed as \"have enough\".

Can we have a show of hand here how many is < $2k/mth household income and contented?

Can we have a show of hand here how many is < $5k/mth household income and contented?

Do give some encouragement here that you do not dislike the current Singapore..

This is not to prove anything.. just to add more positive mood.... anyone?

Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.

• 26 / 65

thebottomsupblogT
                        thebottomsupblog