All About Autism
chibi:
Hi chibi, it's always encouraging and informative reading your post. According to teacher, my son's attention span is only about 10 mins, after which he will fidget and play with other things nearby or even walk away. However, he's always able to answer questions when asked. How did you gradually stop your gal from walking to the other class? For writing task at P1, is your gal able to sit through and complete her task? Can share tips on how to hold attention? The psychologist also highlighted my son should be sitting at the front so that he is within sight of the teacher.hi happystar,
KK helped me to pass my daughter information to the society for the physically disabled , as at P1, KK is not able to support them anymore, KK told me they can only support if the kids are still in kindergarten or for more serious case from what i remember.
The lady from the society for the physically disabled rang me to arrange for speech therapy for my daughter, but it has to be a once a fornight lesson, which i am not able to keep taking leave for it.
Hence decided to put it off. I spoke to my daughter's allied educator about it too, whether should i go ahead anot? He told me it might be a good support for my daughter if i were to go ahead but did mention that my daughter 's speech is clear and he can understand her speech well.
my daughter during K2 has very short attention span too, the teacher can be teaching maths , and she can wonder off to the K1 class room and sit there to listen in the chinese class. :yikes: She can even doze off in class .
Now she is much better.
I went to the school meet the parent sessions. Her form teacher actually told me how she manages my daughter, which i can share the experience with you here, might be of some help or idea to you
What happens is that her form teacher , fully aware of her condition, actually helps me alot. I saw the classroom arrangement during the orientation, and my daughter is actually sitting just infront of the teacher. The teacher every time whenever she sees my daughter daydreaming, she will tap on her table to bring her back to reality .Her form teacher told her classmates to always keep a lookout for my daughter , like don't let her wander off during class lesson if the teacher is not around, and help to guide her along if she needs help. I asked her form teacher, are her classmates aware of her condition? she told me, No, but she told them that my daughter needs more support from all of them
Her form teacher also assigned buddies to my daughter, Eg recess buddy, dismissal buddy . I actually asked her form teacher, does her buddies feel tired having my daughter tag along with them all the times? She actually told me that they are so happy with my daughter around, they always eat together during recess and walk around the school compound together talking. I saw one of my daughter's buddy when walking her to school one day.
Her buddy actually stopped when saw my daughter from afar and waited for us to walk nearer then hold my daughter' hand and walk in with her. :boogie:
I was so glad , my daughter has friends now!!!!! :rahrah:
There are still some hiccups now and then tho, like my daughter daydreaming at times in class, which is quite often, or her afraid to do some P.E activity like foward roll. but we will get through it somehow.
i am going to start readin social story to my daughter about starting school cause next week is start of a new term again! so fast!!!
Good to know your gal now has many friends. So does she still need to attend any therapy at all? -
Don’t give up so easily, helplessmum. All good things take time. Your son is a bright boy. Sure, he may have his issues and difficulties but I know you and your husband are also trying as best as u can. With your support and love, he will learn to overcome his challenges
Double E:
Aiyo Helplessmum, if you don't bring your boy to the therapist, how they do a 'custom-made' plan for him? They must have enough time to know him enough to come up with an individual plan for him mah.
Double E, tell u so far i met all the pp & Therapists at KKH really cant make it one.. they very prototcol one. they cant customized at all.
my pd @ kkh oso no good.
Physocologist oso no good
OT oso no good.
signpost oso no good..
finally we have met up with KKH SLT aftr long wait since April 12, she is good compare to those i met so far, she very observant and spot on.. Thank God, at least find some1 is good at kkh... BUT again.. 4 sessions only limited to per child, and its 2 weeks once & 1hr ?????!!!!! how how u tell me, suck right... poor parents with special needs child rally suck lor.. so she say she only guide us from her spot on.. until then see her again in Aug12,, tell me now end jun, then see her mid Aug.. it is $31 per hr.
my son full day with childcare, everyday reached home at 7pm,by then finished dinner at 8-9pm then do other chores, my son going to sleep soon, only have limited time to work w him only for weekdays. so only left weekends lor..
any way according to SLT she say my son rank at moderate with speech.. his speech is clear, jus need to work on & increase his understanding of more words & know how to related for exmple, if show a photo baby sleeping, he mus able to say , baby sleeping, or eating & etc..
Double E, is your son able to do these already?
i have asked the SLT , what does she mean by moderate, she say jus below MILd... gosh,, i still very confuse..hiaz.. -
schweppes:
Don't give up so easily, helplessmum. All good things take time. Your son is a bright boy. Sure, he may have his issues and difficulties but I know you and your husband are also trying as best as u can. With your support and love, he will learn to overcome his challenges
Hi Schweppes,
its been awhile i see you re appear..
All mummies here are so wonderful, as u all are facing the same challeng like me and yet, you are supportin & helping me.
with all mummies here, i will definitely never ever give up easily..
now is closed gap for his age group, once he grow older another older age group to closed, its long run until i die. no choice, my son & myself will just live each day just for God.. keep life to the basic & simple, no other hopeful already..
when the time before i die, i will see his situation again and ask for God help to look after him after i gone lor..
this disability will not go away...it is life time..
any idea why monsertorri child care benefit more to ASD rather then normal mainstream child care? -
Not all Montessori ctrs accept children with special needs. Some ctrs take in but depending on which spectrum acceptable to them. Montessori can offer a more personalized attention and a more personalized curriculum so children do not have to conform or follow a certain class/group progress where academics are concerned.
Double E:
Haha, yah even for scissors, u have to sit by his side and watch him cut, of course cannot leave him alone with sharp objects. Get those round tip ones from popular.
definitely know what you mean ... once my dd3 took the scissors that she was working with on some craft work and snipped off part of her hair. it was so fast that I couldnt stop her.
so horrific .. :yikes: -
Helplessmum,
My boy can briefly describe what the person is doing in the picture
if he can understand what they are doing. I m working on that now too.
And ask him what he can find in a picture.
Yes, I agree the Signpost is not effective. I attended too and the instructor is not good at giving effective suggestions. And the videos they screened are all staged, not realistic. The other Kkh course I attended is better, can see effect and they use real examples.
So far the Kkh ST and OT I hv seen are ok, of course they are not
as detail as private ones. But my point is since u say u can’t afford private therapiats, then Kkh ones are the next best option rather then totally no therapy to guide u.
Now I m also trying to get my bow overcome the fear of taking the MRT. He was terrified and trembling when we first brought him to take the train. Is our bad as we hardly expose him to public transport. This is One immediate goal that I hv for him. Hope he will overcome this fear soon -
Double E:
Helplessmum,
My boy can briefly describe what the person is doing in the picture
if he can understand what they are doing. I m working on that now too.
And ask him what he can find in a picture.
Yes, I agree the Signpost is not effective. I attended too and the instructor is not good at giving effective suggestions. And the videos they screened are all staged, not realistic. The other Kkh course I attended is better, can see effect and they use real examples.
So far the Kkh ST and OT I hv seen are ok, of course they are not
as detail as private ones. But my point is since u say u can't afford private therapiats, then Kkh ones are the next best option rather then totally no therapy to guide u.
Now I m also trying to get my bow overcome the fear of taking the MRT. He was terrified and trembling when we first brought him to take the train. Is our bad as we hardly expose him to public transport. This is One immediate goal that I hv for him. Hope he will overcome this fear soon
Did your son's SLT talk about rating like Average, mild, moderate & severve compare to his peer at his age? what you think of those words ending with \"ing\" will its confuse them? now i only teach him like pour rather then pouring.. i dun understand, things like action words, if i ask him to pour , he will pour, when i say sleep he know is sleep, when i say drinks water, he know wat is drinks, i say eat he knows too and i say bite he will also bite..i ask him to jump he will jump too, & etc...
when come to pix showing a kid eating, if SLT ask him what are this boy doing, my son duno how to say.. but i never teach him these b4, cuz i jus wan to work on his compliances never think this is needed too...
which course u attend at KKH is good, i tot they only have signpost & PECS only.
i think your son is not ASD. he is so good.. my son in 3 months time will be 3yo.very scare & kan cheong..
Double E, your son sure will overcome the fear of taking pubic transport.. is it becos of the sound?... my son last time is afraid of hair dryer he has already overcome, as he has more things to focus now as he is more awareness.. but another thing he still very scare, it is the vacumm cleaner.
Did your OT teach u how to let him overcome his fear of taking public transport. In the crowded bus my son will tends to touch pple bag if their bag interests him hiaz... so embrassing...
My son walk he never observe the crowds and keep on hiting on pple.. everywhere when i with him i have to keep saying sorry to passer by or bus pedestrian :'(.. some very fierce wan to scold or beat my son.. so scary.. esp those old old aunty... maybe she think my son did on purpose..
oh ya Double E, i know your son too knows all colours, jus wan to check with you, if you give him a red car, and if you ask him wat color is it, does he answer you red? my son use to tell me red color car but now he no more cuz he is too obses with the car or other objects , so when i ask him wat color is the objects he will not answer me although he already know how to recognise all colors...
why ah? any idea? -
Not all Montessori ctrs accept children with special needs. Some ctrs take in but depending on which spectrum acceptable to them. Montessori can offer a more personalized attention and a more personalized curriculum so children do not have to conform or follow a certain class/group progress where academics are concerned.
i guess they wil not accept my son la, any way montessori is expenses i cant afforrd, jus wan to understand how will benefit ASD child.
thanks Buds -
Don’t guess or assume… give each resource/support a chance. The low teacher:student ratio in a Montessori setting is helpful in helping special needs children slowly adjust to mainstream setting but yet the children can work at their comfortable pace. As long as your boy is not the extremely disruptive kind with frequent meltdowns, it shouldn’t be a problem. Not all children with special needs have extreme behavioral issues.
I’ve successfully supported a mom with a mild downs syndrome child to read cos the mom is positive and believes very very much that her daughter can fit in and adapt to mainstream formal education for primary level. We worked hand in hand together… three to four times a week with me at the centre coupled with home reinforcement (i guided the mom as well…) plus daily classes at Rainbow… the girl sat for a simple test of some sort plus submission of medical papers and endorsement from other teachers, she made it.
Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.