peapot:
Actually I m not worried about stealing, nothing to steal in my Hse lah. Only worry about what she gives my girl. I m working full time.
Don't say also said. Now no choice, just have to be \"soft\" to her. Maybe tell her to do her job well during this few month and if her performance is good, you will give her a \"special\" bonus or Ang Pow before she leave.
Don't tell her the amount. By than you can give $50 to few hundred, depend on her performance and how much you can afford.
That is what I do for my ex-maid. I required her to train new maid, so I tell her if she can train my new maid well, I will give her extra bonus and everything go smoothly. End of the day I give her 1 month bonus + ang pow.
Agree with mrsseah. Time for damage control (since your girl is in her hands). tell her directly that if she keep you happy these few months, you will make her happy when she goes home. Flight timings, bonus packets are means you can use.
Don’t remind her so much the negative since you have more precious one in her hands. Anyway, why tell her so early leh? not like she’s looking for another job after ending stint in your place? For someone who is set on going home, about 1 week is ample time to go shopping and buy stuff. -
last night cannot sleep because of this! Keep worrying what she will do to my girl. Now I m so sleepy at work.
Thanks mrs seah and hquek, this morning I was very "soft" to her. I told her to work normally these few months and I will try to extend her stay till Nov. She seems calmer this morning and I hope she’s genuine.
I say try don’t know whether she believe.
The problem with me is beginning I will be very strict with the maid then after awhile, I will start become soft and slowly accepting her as part of the family and then giving in to most of her requests. After that things will start to happen just before the maid goes home. I never learn my lesson. A maid is still a maid. Cannot predict their behavior like our own family member.
I thought 3 months is good ample time. -
peapot:
Peapot - I think you did the right thing by giving her 3 month's notice but you do have to put yourself in her shoes as well. She has just lost her job. Maybe she had advance warning, maybe she should have seen it coming but it still isn't a pleasant feeling.last night cannot sleep because of this! Keep worrying what she will do to my girl. Now I m so sleepy at work.
Thanks mrs seah and hquek, this morning I was very \"soft\" to her. I told her to work normally these few months and I will try to extend her stay till Nov. She seems calmer this morning and I hope she's genuine.
I say try don't know whether she believe.
The problem with me is beginning I will be very strict with the maid then after awhile, I will start become soft and slowly accepting her as part of the family and then giving in to most of her requests. After that things will start to happen just before the maid goes home. I never learn my lesson. A maid is still a maid. Cannot predict their behavior like our own family member.
I thought 3 months is good ample time. -
Hi people, I have talked to my maid and told her that I will confirm let her work till Oct for sure. But these few days she is acting very strangely. She don’t bother to make milk for my girl, she don’t greet us in the morning, she also don’t bother whether my girl eats her meals or not and she has been very quite. All these is not her usual self. I asked her and she said nothing wrong. She was the one who doesn’t want to extend her stay here so why is she acting so strangely?
Infact, I told her I m looking for a new maid before I even start my search. So why is she still unhappy?? I didn’t even sacked her or anything?? I can’t fathom what she is thinking. -
peapot:
Probably because she's not the one 'sacking' you. Before, she had one up over you because she gave notice first. Now that you're asking her to go on your terms she's 'buay song'. Keep an eye on her and your things.Hi people, I have talked to my maid and told her that I will confirm let her work till Oct for sure. But these few days she is acting very strangely. She don't bother to make milk for my girl, she don't greet us in the morning, she also don't bother whether my girl eats her meals or not and she has been very quite. All these is not her usual self. I asked her and she said nothing wrong. She was the one who doesn't want to extend her stay here so why is she acting so strangely?
Infact, I told her I m looking for a new maid before I even start my search. So why is she still unhappy?? I didn't even sacked her or anything?? I can't fathom what she is thinking. -
jtoh, asking her to leave in Oct is according to her wishes leh. Why she still "buay song"?? Seriously, maids are very strange people. She was the one who wants to leave in Oct and I told her I will start a maid search early because I worry can’t find one in time. Now that I found one, I told her its ok she still can continue to work till Oct. I will pay both sides of the salary. When the new maid come, I will put her in my mum’s house first. So What more she wants hah?? I m also giving her bonus. So what more?? Headache…no wonder my mum say "maid qi buay siek"
peapot:
jtoh, asking her to leave in Oct is according to her wishes leh. Why she still \"buay song\"?? Seriously, maids are very strange people. She was the one who wants to leave in Oct and I told her I will start a maid search early because I worry can't find one in time. Now that I found one, I told her its ok she still can continue to work till Oct. I will pay both sides of the salary. When the new maid come, I will put her in my mum's house first. So What more she wants hah?? I m also giving her bonus. So what more?? Headache...no wonder my mum say \"maid qi buay siek\"
Hard to understand them sometimes. Their way of thinking is different from ours. I had a maid once who imagined things and created her own reality. :yikes: Was really happy to see the back of her. -
see whether u can get the new maid in earlier and ask her leave. I will feel uncomfortable with this type of maid at home!
Aiyoh, she probably wanted you to say that you can't manage without her. So please, please stay on, extend contract (and give big pay rise to convince her to stay!).

Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.