City Harvest's founder Kong Hee & 4 others arrested/charged
None of the above.Dear No Kidding,
are you a Pastor or Catholic priest ? -
GOSH! Sure is getting a bit too hot here!!
Perhaps we should not even talk about religious doctrine here, or bitch about KH’s prosperity gospel, or SH’s sexy video. Donch think he’s been charged for asking his congregation to give him more money, or she been charged for being too (ugh!) sexy. -
Let’s get back to the topic.
I had a close friend who confided in me her brother, the youngest in the family, had emptied his bank account to give to CHC. This family is not well to do.
As I follow the news on this group, somehow I’m reminded of a book I read for literature lessons during my school days - Animal Farm.
"Four legs good, two legs bad". -
kwcllf:
I merely put forth my point on what others brought up. If they have the liberty to do that, I should be accorded the same. I've also deliberately limited and straitjacketed myself to using only Bible verses.
But I have also realised that you have highlighted specific words (in red and Upper-case) to put your points across. If you merely tag along someone's statement, and as Dream has stated in this thread, without putting them in proper context, is misleading and it can cause misunderstanding. As I have mentioned, it is best to avoid this and just concentrate on KH and his deeds (or misdeeds)No Kidding:
Empressplace wrote (above): \"...for Christians, there is no rebirth to speak about.\" I merely quoted a single Bible verse here to show that what she said is indeed from the Bible. And not her own fabrication or personal opinion.
Elsewhere you find that I also quoted the relevant Bible verses to show that what Kong Hee preaches contradicts the Bible.
I have also seen you quoting Bible verses to contradict what KH has preached or said. If it is a direct refernce to him is fine. But please avoid comparing religions and their doctrines, especially if one is unfamiliar with other beliefs.
If people are interested in knowing more, they can easily google the verses.
If this is a forum on religion where I've a freer hand, I would have done a far more thorough exposition. -
GOSH! Sure is getting a bit too hot here!!
Perhaps we should not even talk about religious doctrine here, or bitch about KH's prosperity gospel, or SH's sexy video. Donch think he's been charged with asking his congregation to give him more money, or she been charged for being too (ugh!) sexy.
If everyone keeps an open mind, we should be able to endure a bit of \"hot weather\" (I hope lol).
Talking about religious doctrine should be fine, but perhaps not in this thread as this thread is more or less delegated to the famous 5 and the charges they are facing. Well, but if someone raise an issue which other's religion, then it warrants a reply lor when others thnk it is wrongly said.. what to do..
I have also highlighted 2 points in my previous post:
\"Some convincing words were said to the donors to convince the donors to part with their funds. These convincing words are not the issues on trial now, but it seems like it is on trial by the public in forums and coffee shops...\" (those convincing words can be referred to as his preaching which is heavily debated here)
\"I am not sure is this the best time for people to ride on the famous 5’s unfortunate situations to discuss and relate to their unfortunate case and talk/discuss about these comparisons..\" (seems to me like it is a bit of \"taking advantage\" of KH's situation to talk about his preaching when the charges are not even related to that and given his bad reputation now.. )
Finally, I think I may as well state that I am a Buddhist (Nichiren Buddhism - there are so many school of thoughts, so i better be specific), although I may sympathize with the famous 5's and their family's current situations..
SH -
cmm:
What is his motive for giving all? Is it because he bought into the idea that he will get more in return?Let's get back to the topic.
I had a close friend who confided in me her brother, the youngest in the family, had emptied his bank account to give to CHC. This family is not well to do.
As I follow the news on this group, somehow I'm reminded of a book I read for literature lessons during my school days - Animal Farm.
\"Four legs good, two legs bad\".
When a Christian gives to God, it is an act of worship. It is a way of saying \"thank you\" to God for what God has already given to him.
If he gives hoping to get more in return, that is no longer worship. But TRADING with God. -
No Kidding:
What other people do may not be right to discuss it openly in such a forum, especially about religion, which is a sensitive topic.I merely put forth my point on what others brought up. If they have the liberty to do that, I should be accorded the same. I've also deliberately limited and straitjacketed myself to using only Bible verses.
If people are interested in knowing more, they can easily google the verses.
If this is a forum on religion where I've a freer hand, I would have done a far more thorough exposition.
As I have mentioned, and not only me in this thread, if you want to quote other religions vis-a-vis your own, you should put it in the proper context.
Yes, people who want to know more can google for whatever verses they want. That's perfectly fine. But it is not when they put their verses together with other religions in such vague manners.
If you feel you have been straight-jacket about your religious belief, you can always start a new thread specifically for that and only that. Leave out other religions if one is not familiar with them. -
No Kidding:
What is his motive for giving all? Is it because he bought into the idea that he will get more in return?cmm:
Let's get back to the topic.
As I follow the news on this group, somehow I'm reminded of a book I read for literature lessons during my school days - Animal Farm.
\"Four legs good, two legs bad\".
When a Christian gives to God, it is an act of worship. It is a way of saying thank you to God for what God has already given to him.
If he gives hoping to get more in return, that is no longer worship. But TRADING with God.
What his motive was at that time, I seriously don't know. Only God can read man's true motives. But I do agree with your point about giving more and expecting to get more back in return. That's why I'm totally against Prosperity Gospel. -
Lilac66:
Now you understand why CHC bought a large share of SUNtec City?
Pls don't , soli soli :salute: I take back my words. We can't go without the Sun albeit the right SunSun_2010:
Dun worry :grphug: I am thick skinned, have all the fun with the sun.
I like the pun - \"Sun is getting scorched\"
BTW, my name in the real world is not Sun.
Ok, now I will become the silent lurker in the virtual world.

SilentHermit:
I also said \"Or for the sake of the discussion, whatever we believe in are all wrong and untrue? \"[/quote]The issue here is whether you'll have the peace of mind allowing your kids to run after another person who sounds convincing. Or they'll come and check with you for your take on the issue.
Very curious why only Buddhism is mentioned although you may be speaking hypothetically.kwcllf:
[quote=\"SilentHermit\"]
Hmmm.. yes imperative that we must build a close bond and trust with our kids.. so that they can trust us.. but what happen if our own beliefs are also wrong? What if we are believing in the wrong thing ourselves? Lets say we are a believer of Buddhist practice but in reality Buddhism is not true? Or we believe in God but there is no God? Or for the sake of the discussion, whatever we believe in are all wrong and untrue?
So shouldn't it be more important that we we look at what we are practicing first, whether it is right or wrong? Or can we? Are we open minded enough even to explore that? Or are our minds cast in stone already? Or should we just leave it to the kids to discover themselves and decide for themselves?
This is something you'll have to grapple with.
Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.