All About Parent Volunteers (PV)
To PV experts,
I have a doubt, hope someone can enlighten me through this forum.
Is it true that I should give up being a PV if I stay more than 2km from the school. I hope to get a place into Poi Ching / Temasek, both more than 2km. Which school stand a higher chance? or should I look at other school instead.
Thanks -
dolphin:
Usually PV able to get a place in Phase 2B provided in past balloting history does not require balloting. Some PV are staying like 1lm, 1-2Km or more than 2Km.To PV experts,
Is it true that I should give up being a PV if I stay more than 2km from the school. I hope to get a place into Poi Ching / Temasek, both more than 2km. Which school stand a higher chance? or should I look at other school instead.
Thanks
I suggest that you should not give up & act as a backup plan. -
Hi Titank,
hmmm, my backup plan will be Phase2C where all the anxious parents go for the final ‘shopping’ where people living with 1-2 km will have advantage.
I hope I will get away those scary moment, that why I am planning to work for school as PV. But the constraint is time, dont think I can serve more than 1 school for PV… so now would like to hear from PV experts for the higher probability school. So Poi Ching / Temasek leh (btw, I stayed more than 2km from these schools)?
Dont think I can afford to buy a house near to these school since the property market now is so so hot. $610k for a 15yr old 4rm HDB. wah, this price can buy pte 2rm apt liao. -
dolphin:
From past balloting history, u would not need to ballot if u PV in Poi Ching. That is, staying out of 2km will still guarantee u a place if u qualify under 2B.To PV experts,
Thanks
For Temasek Primary, there was only balloting in 2B for year 2008, and none for the other years.
Hence it seems that Poi Ching has a higher chance to get in without balloting for 2B. However what I said above is all based on past years history, anything can change during the year of ur child's registration.
Hope it helps. -
Thanks Luanee for the pointer.
//Moderator's note: Topics merged.
Dear Lovely Parents,
You are lovely parents, trying your best to get your kids into good schools by doing parent volunteers.
You take leave from works for every 1-2 hours assignment given to you by the school's PV commitee members, assuring you that every PVs are fairly informed of the assignments.
However, you found out that the commitee is actually b-------tting you with obvious ambiguity in giving assignments, i.e. they award/inform those long hours events to their own kakis. This means that you run into a risk of not obtaining the required hours to fulfill your duty while others come late & yet clocked the hours needed - just b'cos they are kakis to the PV commitee.
What would/can you do . . . your value advice needed....? -
VooVoo:
Anyone who has been called up for the NYPS PV interview? According to website, they should be shortlisting PVs for the 2005 batch...
i sent in my resume to NYPS PV in oct, but no news yet... does it mean that i am rejected? what shall i do? shall i call them up and ask? anyone has received call from NYPS? -
Ask the comm for a clear transparent set of criteria for allocating PV hours, and then hold them to it. Do you have clear evidence of misdemeanour?
shyanshan:
I remember the closing date was 31st July 2009 so i never apply as PV at NYPS.VooVoo:
Anyone who has been called up for the NYPS PV interview? According to website, they should be shortlisting PVs for the 2005 batch...
i sent in my resume to NYPS PV in oct, but no news yet... does it mean that i am rejected? what shall i do? shall i call them up and ask? anyone has received call from NYPS? -
QY:
Hi,Am very delighted when NHPS accepted my application as PV for my daughter's enrolment for P1 in 2012. However, me now staying >2km (at CCK)...thus am contemplating very hard on whether to shift house. Have checked the property prices (both HDB and pte) in Clementi area (especially within 1 km of NHPS) and it is quite high...or should I enrol in a decent neighbourhood sch within my resident vicinity and then enrol her for tuition and enrichment classes instead??
At CCK, I am considering South View Pri (within 1km to 2km from where I stay) and Yew Tee Pri (within 1km from where I stay)...however, for both 2008 and 2009, South View Pri has balloting even in Phase 2B for those residing within 1km, while for Yew Tee Pri, balloting was applicable for phase 2C only.
Thus far, NHPS only has balloting for phase 2B in 2008. For 2009 and a few years before 2008, there was no balloting in phase 2B.
Haiz...really in a dilemma...any advice from gurus and kakis here??
Many thks!!
u r so lucky to be PV at NHPS. My application was rejected. My child was also a 2005 gal.
Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.