Asia spending billions on tutors: study

1.2k Posts 76 Posters 253.4k Views 1 Watching
      limlim

casino is legitimate biz…

so is enrichment/tuition…

is casino social ill or luxury/leisure?

is over reliance on enrichment/tuition a luxury or social ill?

• FunzF Offline
        Funz

I do think that the tuition market can be regulated a little. Right now, anyone and claim to be a tutor. Maybe should start 'licensing' tutors.

Imagine MCYS coming up with an ad about how tuition can tear your family apart like the gambling ad with the father asking his dd for her piggy bank.

You have a scene where the parent nag and shuttle the kid from 1 tuition to another. When the kid protest, the parent tell him/her it is for his/her future. Cut to a scene depicting the future, child rocking in a corner of a padded room, camera pan out, words come out, xxx, 25yrs old, xxx scholar, 1st in this and that, suffered a psychotic break when he/she failed to secure a promotion. Parent's words of regret, 'if only.......'
        Ominous warning, tution can ruin your child's future.

Or like that radio ad with the woman trying to buy grocery. Only thing is msg at the end is tuition led to the family ove rextending their finances.

jtoh

[quote=\"limlim\"]

I don't feel it is over-regulating when cigarettes manufacturers are required by LAW to WARN users of the potential adverse effects of smoking to their potential customer.

The same principle applies.

Cigarettes have been proven to cause cancer so a warning is deemed necessary.

But tuition? Tuition is necessary for those who are weak in their subjects. It isn't evil.

I'm talking about principles..

Adequate Regulation, when it is needed, it not evil. Of coz, the main question is, it IS a problem now?

If many don't see it as a problem, then no issue lor.

But if many sees it (Tuition phenomenon) as a problem, then, some regulation is necessary.

And, you're talking about advertisement rite..? maybe not banning.. but surely some regulation is necessary?..

Go to casinos, it's your choice. But why casino cannot advertise? why casinos cannot operate shutter services in the heartlands? That, I feel, is OVER regulation.. but still.. it was there.[/quote]I don't have a problem with tuition centres advertising, as long as it's not false advertising. What sort of regulation are you suggesting?

limlim

Imagine MCYS coming up with an ad about how tuition can tear your family apart like the gambling ad with the father asking his dd for her piggy bank.

You have a scene where the parent nag and shuttle the kid from 1 tuition to another. When the kid protest, the parent tell him/her it is for his/her future. Cut to a scene depicting the future, child rocking in a corner of a padded room, camera pan out, words come out, xxx, 25yrs old, xxx scholar, 1st in this and that, suffered a psychotic break when he/she failed to secure a promotion. Parent's words of regret, 'if only.......'
            Ominous warning, tution can ruin your child's future.

Or like that radio ad with the woman trying to buy grocery. Only thing is msg at the end is tuition led to the family ove rextending their finances.
            not bad leh....... :evil:

Just to add.. the first case one.. show the student getting 80+ marks.. to show that the kid is already doing well.. key point is excessive or unnecessary enrichment/tuition..

limlim

I don't have a problem with tuition centres advertising, as long as it's not false advertising. What sort of regulation are you suggesting?
              casinos cannot show their customer in advertisements making BIG money rite...... or anything that suggests that their customer can potentially be RICH.

so, tuition center cannot show their students scoring As etc.. or suggestion that going to their center can potentially produce good results.

Lilac66

casino is legitimate biz....

so is enrichment/tuition..

is casino social ill or luxury/leisure?

is over reliance on enrichment/tuition a luxury or social ill?
                I agree a little regulation will do good. Just like beauty and slimming centres, they can make unrealistic claims and successes with their methods, but who knows if it's true. Same goes for tuition or GEP preparation centres that claim a high percentage scored A* or got through GEP after enrolling in their centres. The relevant authorities should ensure these centres back up their claims with statistics .
                If parents don't get \"swindled\" by alot of such claims , maybe they'll not jump on the bandwagon that tuition is the cure-all for all the academic woes.

2c worth.

jtoh

I don't have a problem with tuition centres advertising, as long as it's not false advertising. What sort of regulation are you suggesting?

casinos cannot show their customer in advertisements making BIG money rite...... or anything that suggests that their customer can potentially be RICH.

so, tuition center cannot show their students scoring As etc.. or suggestion that going to their center can potentially produce good results.

I see what you mean. But parents should also not fall prey so easily to this form of advertising. Just because tuition centre A produces XX% of A* scorers doesn't mean that if I were to send my child there he/she would be assured of an A* too. I'm assuming that parents are rational adults who do their research before buying into any advertisement they see. Or have parents become so insecure that they allow themselves to be mislead by such advertising.

• 3 Offline
                    3Boys

but anyway, what do you suggest to deal with the kiasu parents attitude? you or me educate them? No right?
                    Another term to look up <Learned Helplessness>

I suggest we beat kiasuparents into submission, preferably with a very large stick.....

A tuition centre tax perhaps, to be recycled back to schools to help the weaker students?

but anyway, what do you suggest to deal with the kiasu parents attitude? you or me educate them? No right?

Another term to look up <Learned Helplessness>

I suggest we beat kiasuparents into submission, preferably with a very large stick.....

A tuition centre tax perhaps, to be recycled back to schools to help the weaker students?

penalise the students where it hurts

anyone scoring more than 100% or more than full marks will have the excess disregarded .....

tutormum

[quote=\"janet_lee88\"]I have not made any personal attacks on anyone...purely voicing my view on why billions are spent on tutors. To have my views 'rubbished' is utterly unfair.

I try not to make personal attacks. But I take issue with broad sweeping statements that denigrate persons or organisations, without substantiation. A statement like \"It is MOE who makes parents kiasu\" is so out of left field that it is deserving of a sharp rebuttal, and far from being unfair.

Talking about fairness, have you considered whether your statements are fair on the MOE?

Fine, teachers aren't able to teach a class of 40. So that's why we need tutors. AGREE ?

We did not need tutors back then...teachers could teach the kids...it was also about the same number of students in the class too. Why aren't teachers today able to do that ?

Who trains the teachers ? MOE or schools ?[/quote]There are many reasons why teachers could not teach a class of 40.
                        1. Teachers are not effective in their coaching.
                        2. Students are inattentive.
                        3. Students can't be attentive cos there are others who are disruptive.
                        4. The lessons are beyond the child's understanding and makes him lost interest and give up.
                        5. The lessons are beneath the child's understanding and makes him bored.
                        6. Lack of substantial materials.

I taught a class of 20+ in a school. I heard that most of the children were from the 'naughty' class. A handful of boys were very disruptive that it was almost impossible to teach. They were literally playing and fighting in class. I heard that they were better behaved in their actual class cos they had a very fierce teacher. One boy even told me that he wouldn't think of misbehaving in her class. :sick: :faint: It took me about 3 sessions with them before they become manageable.
                        I have a class of P6 in my tuition centre now. There are 6 of them, 5 of which are boys. 1 is so disruptive that I have to get him to 'behave' every 5 mins before the rest of the boys :pokeeye: :nunchuk: I have to tell them not to react to him but being children, they'll :pokeeye: :razz: Besides teaching, teachers are also disciplinarians, administrators, caregivers etc. It's a tough job and I'm thankful that I don't teach in a school cos having 2 classes with a disruptive student drains all my energy already. :imdrowning:
                        Unless you have experience teaching a class, it's unfair to make sweeping statements. I mean unfair cos you may not know that the teacher must have been very passionate in delivering her lessons but have students who are not cooperative. I have a father who :stompfeet: :stompfeet: without giving me a chance to explain. :slapshead: :mad: His child was inattentive and I went through the lessons very thoroughly explaining every question. After his wife asked me to pay attention to her son, I noticed that his problem was inattentiveness. When I explained to his father, he refused to accept the fact that his child was inattentive and insisted I was not good in teaching and I put the blame on his son. :slapshead:

Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.

• 17 / 120

rinsiderR
                        rinsider