Asia spending billions on tutors: study

1.2k Posts 76 Posters 255.1k Views 1 Watching
    • O Offline
      oxyleo

Fear of failing?

97% of students pass PSLE.

Sleep well, parents πŸ˜‰
      Stellar results supported by the following parts of school, parent, tuition, child's diligence and child's intelligence. In what proportion per part we don't know. When arranged in ascending order, it will also differ between experiences.

U are too kind to be concerned about whether other parents fear so much they cant sleep well. For the most part, it's a clear conscience and physical exhaustion that makes one sleep extremely well. πŸ˜‚

• iRabbitI Offline
        iRabbit

BeContented:

Fear of failing?

Sleep well, parents πŸ˜‰

Ok ok. I admit. In my mind, 80% is fail. T-score 220 is fail.
        πŸ˜‰

Joking joking. Dun flame me πŸ˜† πŸ˜†

Caught in jam. Kids gonna be late for Sch.

haha Becontented. For a person blissed in \"contentment\", your std very high leh. It'll be interesting to create a poll on what's the minimum 'passable' T-score we parents expect from our kids. Mabbe 80% will vote >= 260 *sweat*

schweppes

schweppes:

:rotflmao: no charge lah

*ahem* [clears throat]

Class, pay attention now.....

Be good
          Be nice
          Play fair
          Grumble less
          Have fun

πŸ˜‚

Thanks schweppes! Fun to hv you around! πŸ™‚

Awww.... :politebleah:

Anyway... suddenly feel like having pearls for breakfast.

http://www.kiasuparents.com/kiasu/forum/viewtopic.php?f=1&t=32319&hilit=pearls+for+breakfast

Join me? πŸ˜‰

BeContented

FQW:
            BeContented:

[quote=\"3Boys\"]Fear of failing?

Sleep well, parents πŸ˜‰

Ok ok. I admit. In my mind, 80% is fail. T-score 220 is fail.
            πŸ˜‰

Joking joking. Dun flame me πŸ˜† πŸ˜†

Caught in jam. Kids gonna be late for Sch.

haha Becontented. For a person blissed in \"contentment\", your std very high leh. It'll be interesting to create a poll on what's the minimum 'passable' T-score we parents expect from our kids. Mabbe 80% will vote >= 260 *sweat*[/quote]Ha ha.....altho SAHM, got KPI also leh.
            Human expectation/desire is a tricky thing, that's why must always try to have some balance and be able let go. When we push and the child achieve it, what happens next? Expectation goes up, push further.....all these FULL Potential thingy. Good to stretch a bit.....but must know when to stop.

Lucky I am the more lazy and contented one....so my kids are quite safe :rotflmao: (tho definitely can do better if only I can be more ON). I guess, since they seem to be doing well in school currently, some basic expectation is there. But eventually, have to be realistic and accept their abilities.....just hope for the best πŸ˜‰ (but some people hope for more eg. my hubby :laugh: )

Actually it will be interesting to see how we as parents did for our psle previously. Then believing in our genes and the added advantage of better lifestyle and tuition or enrichment- add another five to ten marks to our scores and probably that will be our expectations of our kids. No? πŸ˜“

BeContended,

To quote what you mentioned earlier, \"altho SAHM, got KPI also leh.
                Human expectation/desire is a tricky thing, that's why must always try to have some balance and be able let go.
                \"

My boss at home does have some KPI for this SAHM. But I tend to go (very) easy on my younger one since she's only in P2 and has a long way to go. For her, I close one eye often...no need to score for spelling. A pass will do. No need to sweat for such small thing...rather heartache to push her also.
                For older one taking PSLE this year, I do need to push a little more. Hubby & I hardly pushed him when he was in P1...that's why we didn't get him tutors.

concern2

schweppes:

Just to side-track a little and bring in a commercial break from the flying ants and fruits. πŸ˜‰

Speaking of MBAs... want to share this Fedex ad taking a pot shot at MBAs.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=NcoDV0dhWPA

enjoy πŸ†’

:rotflmao: :rotflmao: :rotflmao: :rotflmao: Thanks, schweppes! That's my first good laugh today!

schweppes

schweppes:

Just to side-track a little and bring in a commercial break from the flying ants and fruits. πŸ˜‰

Speaking of MBAs... want to share this Fedex ad taking a pot shot at MBAs.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=NcoDV0dhWPA

enjoy πŸ†’

:rotflmao: :rotflmao: :rotflmao: :rotflmao: Thanks, schweppes! That's my first good laugh today!

Am glad πŸ˜‰

BeContented

BeContended,

To quote what you mentioned earlier, \"altho SAHM, got KPI also leh.
                      Human expectation/desire is a tricky thing, that's why must always try to have some balance and be able let go.
                      \"

My boss at home does have some KPI for this SAHM. But I tend to go (very) easy on my younger one since she's only in P2 and has a long way to go. For her, I close one eye often...no need to score for spelling. A pass will do. No need to sweat for such small thing...rather heartache to push her also.
                      For older one taking PSLE this year, I do need to push a little more. Hubby & I hardly pushed him when he was in P1...that's why we didn't get him tutors.
                      Hi Janet,
                      guess this whole parenting/education is a tricky thing. No one is perfect, just go along the flow & try to do what's best for the child. A little push, a little hardship, a little setbacks ..... builds resilience. Actually my kids have not encountered much setbacks, so I do wonder how will their Sec school be like....I'm quite sure they will not top their cohort anymore, just how far will they drop. Can they bounce back, can they handle, will they lose motivation etc....when the time come, I will know. :nailbite: What I try to inculcate is to try their best, no regrets, persevere etc.....hope it sticks in their brain.
                      Fail also worry, dun fail also worry..... πŸ˜“

On tuition......different strokes for different people, all of us have our own different reason.....not necessarily due to school.

For DS (P6), he started Berries from mid-P2 cos' he started expressing dislike and I think I was the cause. Started Berries since it's supposed to be more lively/interesting than the mommy πŸ˜‰
                      He likes Maths & after his sch sent him for NMOS competition in P4, we 'confirmed' that he's actually quite good...so started him on MO in Aug P4. He started creative writing and sci during P5. So you see, he wasn't really 'pushed' when in lower primary. All I did was to make sure he does his work consistently, understand what he's taught in sch and just gave him assessment books to do and explain what's wrong. I was blessed that he was easy to handle as he has a want-to-win streak in him πŸ˜‰

Similarly for DD (P5), Berries from P1 and the rest, she start everything together with the elder bro, so 1 yr earlier for her.
                      DD was more challenging, but as long as their foundation are strong enough, they can progress. Again fortunately for me, the bro is her role model.....

Spelling....I only monitor in P1&P2. What I do emphasize is.....do not ζ­»θƒŒοΌŒlearn the words, understand what it means, know how to apply. Dun just remember the strokes (for chinese). That's the whole purpose....not the score.
                      Do badly, more corrections lah == less time to play :rotflmao:

Just another 10+ weeks to PSLE , 加油 :rahrah:
                      PS : Actually I also starting to feel a little worried...... πŸ˜‰

BeContented:

Actually my kids have not encountered much setbacks, so I do wonder how will their Sec school be like....I'm quite sure they will not top their cohort anymore, just how far will they drop. Can they bounce back, can they handle, will they lose motivation etc....when the time come, I will know. :nailbite: What I try to inculcate is to try their best, no regrets, persevere etc.....hope it sticks in their brain.
                        Fail also worry, dun fail also worry..... πŸ˜“

Spelling....I only monitor in P1&P2. What I do emphasize is.....do not ζ­»θƒŒοΌŒlearn the words, understand what it means, know how to apply. Dun just remember the strokes (for chinese). That's the whole purpose....not the score.
                        Do badly, more corrections lah == less time to play :rotflmao:

Just another 10+ weeks to PSLE , 加油 :rahrah:
                        PS : Actually I also starting to feel a little worried...... πŸ˜‰

Son has not experienced setbacks until last year...he was 3rd in class in P2 and that motivated him a little. This year, gotta push him because it's last year in primary school. Work very hard, do your best and most importantly do not have regrets...do not say 'if only I had...\"

Spelling...will only monitor up till P3 for daughter...understand the 词语 tested. Seeing my son so stressed, I want to take it easy for daughter...but she has tests every 9 weeks, so important thing is to be consistent in revision. Actually consistency is very important...not last min which is sure to backfire.

With PSLE just ROUND the corner, I am not pulling the strings too tight. Like today, we are going for a nice lunch to relax. Hopefully this will help lah...加油 all the time also will go nuts. Like yesterday, I had a panic attack suddenly.

Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.

• 41 / 120

Sabrina CheyS
                        Sabrina Chey