What I hate about the current Singapore
Excuse me, according to this model, kids don't have a place. if your kids are just mediocre, they will be replaced by foreigners who can chalk up higher economic data for the government.
And your solution? Throw all the foreigners out of their posh Draycott and Aardmore condos, reclaim all the properties from Sentosa Cove, and turn them retirement villages?
The old folks will be extremely happy, I'm sure, as will I when I retire, but I doubt my kids would be if they are upkeeping the taxes or forgoing economic growth in order to sustain it.
Buy are using guilty of using hyperbole? Who say that we are going to use sentosa clove for retirement village? -
Look within ourselves first. Blame govt, that's what we do best.
And your solution? Throw all the foreigners out of their posh Draycott and Aardmore condos, reclaim all the properties from Sentosa Cove, and turn them retirement villages?WeiHan:
Is in the news, some homes, even commercial one are closing down because the price to renew the land is simply too high.
The old folks will be extremely happy, I'm sure, as will I when I retire, but I doubt my kids would be if they are upkeeping the taxes or forgoing economic growth in order to sustain it.
When govt try to build more facilities for old folks, what happen??
Petition !! Not in my backyard!!! Noisy, dirty, contagious disease, property value will drop.....what else?!!! So move lah, move until JB lah. Not in any Singaporean's backyard.
:mad: -
BeContented:
The best one, \"Block my breeze\" :sad:
Look within ourselves first. Blame govt, that's what we do best.3Boys:
And your solution? Throw all the foreigners out of their posh Draycott and Aardmore condos, reclaim all the properties from Sentosa Cove, and turn them retirement villages?
When govt try to build more facilities for old folks, what happen??
Petition !! Not in my backyard!!! Noisy, dirty, contagious disease, property value will drop.....what else?!!! So move lah, move until JB lah. Not in any Singaporean's backyard.
:mad:
As Liak said in the papers, Want entitlement for everything, Want responsibility for nothing. -
WeiHan:
According to your model, my kids, if they are mediocre, will be providing the lowly paid labour for the highly paid foreigners. They will still be paying taxes, directly or indirectly, and bearing the brunt of low economic growth.
Excuse me, according to this model, kids don't have a place. if your kids are just mediocre, they will be replaced by foreigners who can chalk up higher economic data for the government.3Boys:
Buy are using guilty of using hyperbole? Who say that we are going to use sentosa clove for retirement village?
Don't digress, how would you balance the competing needs of the young and the old? (don't shy now, this is faced by every graying society in the world, maybe it'll come out in your GP paper) -
Of coz if can use, pple will use it.limlim:
but, how likely is it for one to \"squander\" away CPF savings on healthcare? Is there really a big danger of abuse?
We don't know, do we? If its there, people tend to use it. Look at housing, who doesn't use CPF to finance their property? We have to be really careful here and not make knee-jerk decisions.
But, if you're not sick, why would you squander your CPF money away?
We can always impose restrictions on cosmetic procedures(unless it is the consequence of an accident)..
Like the current medishield restrictions(wrt cosmetic procedures).. I have no issues with that.
If you need to choose between CPF or Cash, of coz pple will use CPF. But, between to spend or not to spend, I believe most pple wouldn't want to see doctor and take medicine unless they are really sick.. -
Laura02:
I think it's possible to use medisave for some cosmetic procedures, not to pay for the full treatment, but part of the treatment. Like if you go to hospital for say nose or jaw surgery, some of the expense of staying in hospital can be claimed from medisave. If the govt allows medisave to be used for any medical treatment, than some may unwisely \"squander\" their medisave on unnecessary cosmetic procedures.
I meant, medical treatment non-cosmetic in nature.
conditions that have an impact on daily activities. -
Er ⦠I think that people who go for cosmetic procedures will swear that the improvement in their appearance will have a positive impact on their lives, or their psychological well being. Sometimes, its hard to decide what it a "necessary" cosmetic procedure, and what is not.
Where do we draw the line? -
And that, is the dumbest thing to do, since CPF pays 2.5% interest or more. You have no experience in this matter, and you are wrong. There is already plenty of abuse of present schemes. There are people who feel that that since medisave is 'their money', that they will squander it as quickly as possible. This, is FACT.
If you need to choose between CPF or Cash, of coz pple will use CPF. But, between to spend or not to spend, I believe most pple wouldn't want to see doctor and take medicine unless they are really sick.. -
http://www.straitstimes.com/PrimeNews/Story/STIStory_824112.html
[quote]Man hurt as neighbours fight over parking
Serangoon Garden visitor had parked in space claimed by another family...
Mr Goh Poh Ket, 65, claimed he was hit by a man and the latter's two sons after he parked his car outside their home on Tuesday evening....[/quote]Our society gone :siao: :siao: .... :faint: -
Our society gone :siao: :siao: .... :faint:[/quote]entitlement mentality gone berserk
http://www.straitstimes.com/PrimeNews/Story/STIStory_824112.html
[quote]Man hurt as neighbours fight over parking
Serangoon Garden visitor had parked in space claimed by another family...
Mr Goh Poh Ket, 65, claimed he was hit by a man and the latter's two sons after he parked his car outside their home on Tuesday evening....
Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.