6 months' paid leave for mum?

111 Posts 31 Posters 18.5k Views 1 Watching
      sleepy

More than a decade ago...

Shortly after I returned from my studies, I went for an interview at a medium size company. A male interviewer asked me. 'Are you married?' I replied 'not yet.' And he immediately threw me a disdained look & said 'so you planning to get married? Then you will be busy with wedding preparations.' I think he was more interested in my possible wedding plans :siao: than my capablities and qualifications.

As expected, I didn't get the job. Not that I would ever work for people with this sort of mentality in a millon year anyway. Fortunately I received 8 other job offers (bloom time then!) and none of the other hirers asked me that stupid irrelevant question.

My point is employers who harbour this sort of mentality, not to mention 6 months maternity, even planning to get married as well as married yet to have kids interviewees will be discriminated. They can just refused to hire this group of job seekers (with the looming possiblity of paying for their maternity). And there's no way to prove discrimination since they can simply said this group of job seekers' experience are not suitable for the role they are hiring.

limlim

Why would an employer want a "highly capable" person who is "NOT Around" for 50% of the time in a year?

No matter how capable you are, it is useless if you can’t "work".

• FunzF Offline
          Funz

And if you are single, you are not supposed (unwritten rule in my sis's place) to take leave during the school holidays. These are meant for parents to spend time with the kids.

I do have this arrangement with my staff. Those with school going kids will get priority when they apply for leave during the school holidays. Muslim staff gets priority during Hari Raya, Hindu staff during deepavali, Chinese during CNY.

sleepy

During my time, it was merely 2 months maternity. And I didn't even get any maternity for 2nd child since I already quit my job to stay home during 2nd pregnancy. Lugi le πŸ˜‚

Anyway, this 6 months maternity is a double edge sword. This will never work. For both employers and employees.

Perhaps it might be more feasible to introduce a bond, somewhat like an agreement to stay in same company for another 2 years after returning from maternity. Otherwise, which employer would have to risk writing off that 6 months salary. When my brother got a scholarship to study overseas, he also signed a 2 year bond to work for the same company upon returning. Similar concept la.

With that 'bond', probably mums to be would face less discrimination and employers also feel more reassured that it's not money down the drain? Of course, there's still the very practical issue who will covering the duties while madam is on maternity.

• O Offline
              Oppsgal

sleepy:

Shortly after I returned from my studies, I went for an interview at a medium size company. A male interviewer asked me. 'Are you married?' I replied 'not yet.' And he immediately threw me a disdained look & said 'so you planning to get married? Then you will be busy with wedding preparations.' I think he was more interested in my possible wedding plans :siao: than my capablities and qualifications.

As expected, I didn't get the job. Not that I would ever work for people with this sort of mentality in a millon year anyway. Fortunately I received 8 other job offers (bloom time then!) and none of the other hirers asked me that stupid irrelevant question.

My point is employers who harbour this sort of mentality, not to mention 6 months maternity, even planning to get married as well as married yet to have kids interviewees will be discriminated. They can just refused to hire this group of job seekers (with the looming possiblity of paying for their maternity). And there's no way to prove discrimination since they can simply said this group of job seekers' experience are not suitable for the role they are hiring.
              :rotflmao: Elaborate dream wedding plans from how many tables to invite, at which place, till how old then plan to give birth, naming babies?

Daddy D

http://www.channelnewsasia.com/stories/singaporelocalnews/view/1215454/1/.html

[quote]SNEF against extending maternity leave, proposes other incentives...
                The Singapore National Employers Federation (SNEF) said legislating more and different types of leave will add to labour costs and have other unintended negative effects.... feels the current four months leave is already generous, compared to regional countries and economic competitors.
                One suggestion is to have \"baby bonus for bosses\", where tax incentives are given to employers, whose employees go on maternity leave....[/quote]Haha... The bosses kbkp Liao....
                WTH is \"baby bonus for bosses\"?.... :faint:

Namie

Namie:

When I saw this proposal, my heart sank. My partner at work is due to deliver at year end and already my boss told me I am not allowed to take leave or MC during the time she is on maternity leave and until she is back. She is taking the whole 4 months + her annual leave + a few more days no pay leave. I have to cover all her work. Both of us work till 8-9pm every day so I might as well sleep in office during the time she is away. My boxes told me I can get a sleeping bag to catch up sleep during lunch. Now 6 mths!

Work-life for pregnant women. What about other co-workers?

We are working in a major government agency.

:goodpost: , Namie! I know of many relatives who also work in govt service, and even there, the companies do not have work-from-home arrangements, and worse, they DISCOURAGE THE WOMEN from giving birth!!!!!!

You'd get asked, \"When are you getting married\", followed by \"When do you plan to have children\". followed by \"When are you planning to have another child?\"

Yet, I empathize with the employers. Something else has to be done, like making work-from-home possible, shorter shifts perhaps, part-time work, in short, being more flexible. HRs, think of something leh...you're not paid so much for nothing leh... :siam:

You may be amazed. I am in HR - Work-Life unit.

Namie

Namie:

When I saw this proposal, my heart sank. My partner at work is due to deliver at year end and already my boss told me I am not allowed to take leave or MC during the time she is on maternity leave and until she is back. She is taking the whole 4 months + her annual leave + a few more days no pay leave. I have to cover all her work. Both of us work till 8-9pm every day so I might as well sleep in office during the time she is away. My boxes told me I can get a sleeping bag to catch up sleep during lunch. Now 6 mths!

Work-life for pregnant women. What about other co-workers?

We are working in a major government agency.

And if you are single, you are not supposed (unwritten rule in my sis's place) to take leave during the school holidays. These are meant for parents to spend time with the kids.

We don't have the rule that singles cannot take leave during school holidays. As long as our buddy at work is around. So now my buddy going on maternity leave + no pay leave, I can't take leave until she returns.

• O Offline
                      Oppsgal

Daddy 😧
                      http://www.channelnewsasia.com/stories/singaporelocalnews/view/1215454/1/.html

[quote]SNEF against extending maternity leave, proposes other incentives...
                      The Singapore National Employers Federation (SNEF) said legislating more and different types of leave will add to labour costs and have other unintended negative effects.... feels the current four months leave is already generous, compared to regional countries and economic competitors.
                      One suggestion is to have \"baby bonus for bosses\", where tax incentives are given to employers, whose employees go on maternity leave....
                      Haha... The bosses kbkp Liao....
                      WTH is \"baby bonus for bosses\"?.... :faint:[/quote]\"tax incentives\" money comes from where?

Lynn2010

sleepy:

Hi sleepy, just to sidetrack a little - did you study in Australia?

Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.

• 9 / 12

jeancwJ
                        jeancw