6 months' paid leave for mum?
Namie:
You may be amazed. I am in HR - Work-Life unit.[/quote] :rotflmao: :rotflmao: AMAZED would be an understatement. Can't something be worked out?
:goodpost: , Namie! I know of many relatives who also work in govt service, and even there, the companies do not have work-from-home arrangements, and worse, they DISCOURAGE THE WOMEN from giving birth!!!!!!concern2:
[quote=\"Namie\"]When I saw this proposal, my heart sank. My partner at work is due to deliver at year end and already my boss told me I am not allowed to take leave or MC during the time she is on maternity leave and until she is back. She is taking the whole 4 months + her annual leave + a few more days no pay leave. I have to cover all her work. Both of us work till 8-9pm every day so I might as well sleep in office during the time she is away. My boxes told me I can get a sleeping bag to catch up sleep during lunch. Now 6 mths!
Work-life for pregnant women. What about other co-workers?
We are working in a major government agency.
You'd get asked, \"When are you getting married\", followed by \"When do you plan to have children\". followed by \"When are you planning to have another child?\"
Yet, I empathize with the employers. Something else has to be done, like making work-from-home possible, shorter shifts perhaps, part-time work, in short, being more flexible. HRs, think of something leh...you're not paid so much for nothing leh... :siam: -
sleepy:
http://www.kiasuparents.com/kiasu/forum/viewtopic.php?f=1&t=38490
Skali this create a new trend: the most 吃香 job seekers are women in 40s with grown up kids. Low probability to give birth again & go on maternity :evil:Oppsgal:
I think those having one kid might be affected too during finding job?
Hopefully, not extend...
Find that is not helping at all.
Read Point 5?
Think will need some luck to be \"吃香\" when over that age? -
As a HR personnel myself, generally such ‘good’ benefit is not going to work for both the employer and female employee. I suppose our government should come up with something which is more on long-term basis such as heavier subsidy on caregiver or monetary support on the staff concerned than affecting the employer’s business operation. The impact of which will not be that great.
sleepy:
Lynn2010:
Hi sleepy, just to sidetrack a little - did you study in Australia?
Yes. Eh, got tell tale signs?
Hahahaha.... so far i only hear Aussie say \"not in a million years\"...... yah lah... some tell tale signs, i live & work in Aus for 5 yr mah..... -
In my boss's words \"You not happy, you resign. There are plenty of people out there looking for jobs.\"
:rotflmao: :rotflmao: AMAZED would be an understatement. Can't something be worked out?
In my department, our bosses always told us to look out for those staff who have to support young children and elderly parents. These are the ones we can stretch to the fullest and squeezed them because they can't afford to lose their jobs. I hate the hypocrisy! -
Namie:
Are these bosses \"expired\" (that means not married, left on the shelf, no one wants them) or divorced (mentally not quite balance) or orphans (dont know how to love parents.
In my boss's words \"You not happy, you resign. There are plenty of people out there looking for jobs.\"concern2:
:rotflmao: :rotflmao: AMAZED would be an understatement. Can't something be worked out?
In my department, our bosses always told us to look out for those staff who have to support young children and elderly parents. These are the ones we can stretch to the fullest and squeezed them because they can't afford to lose their jobs. I hate the hypocrisy! -
Namie:
Such terrible thinking! I wouldn't want to meet such bosses!
In my boss's words \"You not happy, you resign. There are plenty of people out there looking for jobs.\"concern2:
They are all female with primary school going kids. So like I said, long maternity can be harmful on other workers.
Namie:
They are all female with primary school going kids.
Yes, this is also my understanding, ironic isn't it? You'd assume they'd be more understanding.
How about appealing to her being in the same shoes, and try to work out something so it is a win-win? -
With such employers, who will want to give birth to more young children?
Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.