Asia spending billions on tutors: study

1.2k Posts 76 Posters 257.3k Views 1 Watching
      Augmum

Thanks Jedamum and Ksi for yr reponses to my question.

Augmum

Ksi,

Just wondering out loud - the article you posted was dated Feb 2009. I presume there is no changes to the 6hours per week ? 🤷
        I think the figure now shd exceed 40 % of sch teachers giving pte tuition...

MOE's response

[color=#FF0000]MOE's stand on the issue is that teachers are strictly not allowed to tutor students from the same school in private.
          Source: http://www.asiaone.com/News/Education/Story/A1Story20090225-124547.html

In truth, life is never fair. We are all born to different families with different fortunes, different parents with different skills. When I was in Primary 2, my form teacher's son studied in the same class as me. We took the same compo writing, spelling, dictation, etc which was marked by the teacher. Despite that, I was still good friends with him and outperformed him in other subjects not taught by his mother.

When we go out to work, we face the same kind of \"unfairness\". Colleagues who could be related to or very good friends with bosses. Colleagues who might be richer, better connected, or prettier than ourselves. Colleagues who might be more talented than ourselves. We can't all scream \"UNFAIR!\" and seek recourse.

Better that we prepare our children for these harsh realities of life, and teach them how to handle these situations than to look for someone to \"right the wrong\" for us.

Singapore: A tuition nation

July 23, 2012

SINGAPORE, July 23 — A recent online survey has reaffirmed the Republic’s moniker as a “tuition nation” with eight in 10 respondents saying that tuition and enrichment programmes help children do better in schools.

Almost three in 10 felt that children should start tuition in pre-school.

The survey was carried out in April by Blackbox Research and involved 955 Singaporeans aged above 18. The findings were published last Thursday.

It was conducted anonymously but duplication of responses was prevented by unique links sent to the respondents.

While the survey found that 27 per cent of the respondents currently enrol their kids in tuition, only 4 per cent of those in the lowest monthly household income bracket (S$4,000 — RM10,000(??? shud be S$???) — and below) do so.

This indicates that tuition “may be less accessible for those without the means”, the survey noted.

The survey also found that 40 per cent of respondents enrolled their children in tuition previously — which means that, overall, two thirds of the respondents have children enrolled in tuition at some point in time.

The survey also found that 37 per cent of respondents think children should start tuition while in primary school; 27 per cent think they should start even earlier — in pre-school. There are “strong indications that there is increasing systemic pressure on young children from an early age”, the study pointed out.

Among respondents whose children are receiving tuition, half spend more than S$500 a month on tuition.

According to the survey, the main reasons cited by respondents on why Singaporeans think their children should have tuition were “a need to stay competitive with peers” (46 per cent) and that “parents want their kids to succeed in their education” (43 per cent).

Speaking to TODAY, Blackbox Managing Director David Black said the results “highlight just how mainstream private tuition has become in Singapore”.

“It’s the new normal for families … Competition appears to be a big motivation — not wanting kids to fall behind their peers,” said Mr Black.

However, “what is not clear is the extent to which tuition makes a significant difference in terms of achievement”, Mr Black pointed out.

“What about families who cannot afford expensive tuition programmes or parents who prefer that their children lead more balanced lives with more time outside classrooms? Can they be confident that school curriculum is sufficient or are their children at risk of falling behind a generation of hyper-competitive, exam-toned classmates? It would seem that fewer and fewer are prepared to take the risk,” Mr Black said. — Today

Source : http://www.themalaysianinsider.com/world/article/singapore-a-tuition-nation/

Ksi,

Just wondering out loud - the article you posted was dated Feb 2009. I presume there is no changes to the 6hours per week ? 🤷
              I am yet to find a link to MOE website...on the latest.

Augmum

In truth, life is never fair. We are all born to different families with different fortunes, different parents with different skills. When I was in Primary 2, my form teacher's son studied in the same class as me. We took the same compo writing, spelling, dictation, etc which was marked by the teacher. Despite that, I was still good friends with him and outperformed him in other subjects not taught by his mother.

When we go out to work, we face the same kind of \"unfairness\". Colleagues who could be related to or very good friends with bosses. Colleagues who might be richer, better connected, or prettier than ourselves. Colleagues who might be more talented than ourselves. We can't all scream \"UNFAIR!\" and seek recourse.

Better that we prepare our children for these harsh realities of life, and teach them how to handle these situations than to look for someone to \"right the wrong\" for us.
                同人不同命,同事不同运。
                Sad but it's true.... 🤷

FQW:

I strongly suspect teachers keep their 'weapon' or special skill for private tuition. Teachers are paid standard amount in school but paid many times more giving tuition.
                  I'm going to be shot for saying that but it is the truth.

Psst Janet, don't suspect lah. Why don't you go ask your son's many tutors whether they keep 'secret weapon' for tuition alone, kekeke. :evil:

My son's tutors are not teachers. They are private tutors.

As for screening, I feel that it's ridiculous. The reason why my son needed tuition is because he is failing. Wanted to register my son at a tuition centre last year when my son flunk P5 Math...my boy was told to sit for a test and asked questions like what school he attended and what class. :slapshead:

BeContented

Wrt screening by tuition centers…seriously I dun know which side to take. Like any commercial product or service, providers would target a certain market - niche or mass. TC would as well. If they are targeting the top students, their material & speed may be too challenging for the average. Screening in this case would save the parents’ money & won’t demoralize the child. This would seems valid to me, no??

I knew a parent who complaint about her DD losing interest in Maths & has been slipping since P4. She wanted MO & some of us advised against it as what her DD needed was enforcement in sch syllabus Maths. She ignored & tried to sign her DD for high achiever MO class. Was rejected & eventually persuaded by TC to take up syllabus Maths. If no screening was done & her gal was admitted into MO class, can imagine their frustration when child cannot cope & parent see no improvement.

Imami

BeContented:
                      Wrt screening by tuition centers.......seriously I dun know which side to take. Like any commercial product or service, providers would target a certain market - niche or mass. TC would as well. If they are targeting the top students, their material & speed may be too challenging for the average. Screening in this case would save the parents' money & won't demoralize the child. This would seems valid to me, no??

I knew a parent who complaint about her DD losing interest in Maths & has been slipping since P4. She wanted MO & some of us advised against it as what her DD needed was enforcement in sch syllabus Maths. She ignored & tried to sign her DD for high achiever MO class. Was rejected & eventually persuaded by TC to take up syllabus Maths. If no screening was done & her gal was admitted into MO class, can imagine their frustration when child cannot cope & parent see no improvement.
                      What is MO? Maths Olympiad or something?

This friend seems to see her daughter's performance through tinted lens hor? as a parent, I think it is very impt to be realistic about the child's ability and to be able to pin point the child's learning problem.

FQW:

[quote=\"janet_lee88\"]
                        I strongly suspect teachers keep their 'weapon' or special skill for private tuition. Teachers are paid standard amount in school but paid many times more giving tuition.
                        I'm going to be shot for saying that but it is the truth.

Psst Janet, don't suspect lah. Why don't you go ask your son's many tutors whether they keep 'secret weapon' for tuition alone, kekeke. :evil:

My son's tutors are not teachers. They are private tutors.

As for screening, I feel that it's ridiculous. The reason why my son needed tuition is because he is failing. Wanted to register my son at a tuition centre last year when my son flunk P5 Math...my boy was told to sit for a test and asked questions like what school he attended and what class. :slapshead:[/quote]what is wrong with taking a test ? and asking what school he is from ? without knowing the background and the standard of the child, how to expect the tutor to know where to start & how to start to help ? I believe your son's tutor is not God and won't know unless there is some form of assessment to find out what your son knows and does not know.

if the tutor does not find out, you would next post in this forum that the tutor is so terrible and useless to repeat what your son already know and not helping him what he does not know and blame him for not finding out ....

Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.

• 106 / 120