Asia spending billions on tutors: study

1.2k Posts 76 Posters 254.9k Views 1 Watching

Imami:

However, I wonder why the need to ask about the child's school and the class? Sterotyping here, isn't it? If my child is from atas school, then got hope. If neighbourhood school, no need to bother?
      The above is your original post to put things in context
      Imami:
      [quote=\"verykiasu2010]

Perhaps you have too much stereotyping yourself about school and tuition and so-called atas schools? Time to remove the tinted glass
      I read this post a few times and thought about it. I still feel that, no leh –
      1.\tI don’t see why knowing the school and class is important and
      2.\tI don’t think I have a discrimination against neighbourhood schools. I came from neighbourhood schools.

My niece and nephew were from a neighbourhood primary school and they are now in an IP school (best class some more and btw, they are twins). My best friend from primary school scored 282 in PSLE, went to NYGS but ended up with only 2 O Level credits (i.e. English and MT) whereas me, scored 245 in the same paper, went to a neighbourhood pai kia school but ended up with 6 distinctions.

I have personally seen examples to prove that going to the atas schools may not guarantee success and that being in a neighbourhood school may not mean being a mediocre. Hence, I don’t think my opinion is that closed and narrow about neighbourhood schools.

No matter what school/class the children come from, at TLL (or other establishments) don’t they sit for the same proficiency tests? If yes, the results would speak for themselves.

Any comments anyone? I may not have enough experience to shape a wholesome and healthy perspective. Appreciate your comments.[/quote][/quote][/quote]

the various posts after you are self explantory, no need to elaborate further from me

I know of a kid who went for \"tuition class\" for physics because just want to learn ahead : kiasu. First month, the kid was put in the same class as the standard sec 3 class for physics, and after two months, the kid got promoted to sec 4 class, and after another 2 months, the kid \"dropped out\" of the \"tuition\". If there is no fore knowledge of the kid's ability, the kid will be bored stiff with the tuition and the parent will be paying needlessly for the next 2 years

It is highly irresponsible of a tutor if he/she does not find out the standing of the student and just simply embark upon the tuition....and just go on and on and on ....yeah, good money....and parent like janet won't find it ridiculous why the tutor din ask about the kid's school and class....

and why you need to discriminate against schools ? atas vs neighbourhood, when it is the responsibility of the tutor to assess the kids' ability ? why do you think kids from neighborhood school is no hope ? just because you came from neighbourhood pai kia school and you carry such emo baggage ? it is obvious you are trying to proof pai kia school got good output (you) and nygh produces only 2 O level credit .... this is totally out of topic.. :scratchhead:

Imami

it is obvious you are trying to proof pai kia school got good output (you) and nygh produces only 2 O level credit .... this is totally out of topic.. :scratchhead:

No. What I am saying is the schools the children are from are irrelevant. What is relevant is where each child stand.

Imami

Imami:

My best friend from primary school scored 282 in PSLE, went to NYGS but ended up with only 2 O Level credits (i.e. English and MT) whereas me, scored 245 in the same paper, went to a neighbourhood pai kia school but ended up with 6 distinctions.

This is off-topic, but I'm curious to know how your best friend can go from scoring 282 at PSLE to only 2 O level credits. 282 means she's one of the top scorers for that year?

Yes you are right. She should be within the top ten scorers in my batch.

As she moved out of the neighbourhood and we went to different schools, we only met up twice after PSLE. When I met her after our sec 2 year end exams, she mentioned failing 6 out of 9 subjects. I thought it was normal, since I was in the same boat hahahahah oops.

the next time we met, it was after our O level prelims. Her mum expressed concern on her poor performance. I thought it was because the school kept high standard, not that my friend was seriously not doing well.

But well, when the O levels results were released, I knew better.

Because we had drifted apart, I never really felt comfortable to ask her about her results. I could only suspect it might be a case of mixing with the wrong company.

Mychildren

KSP:

Agree with that KSP, cos when I inquired at Mindstretcher thinking to perhaps sign up for DD2 last year for Math they asked the same questions. To me, it's more like filling up the blanks in a Personal Particulars form, no biggie at all. Upon hearing that DD2 has been scoring 90s to full marks range... the lady advised that I bring in her last semestral exam results and encouraged me to allow her to sit for a test. If she can manage that test she should go for HA (Higher Ability) class where concepts won't be repeated but instead children will be exposed to more challenging Math, rather than be stuck in their Achiever class which is more tutoring than enriching her already good foundation in math concepts. They also showed samples of their worksheets.

Wow!!! People may ask 90+ still need tuition? :yikes:

Just to share that you are not alone. TOP Branded tuition centres reserved all their weekends' slots mostly for GEP students!!! They make it easier for these top students so that more can join them. Most mainstreams are allocated on the weekdays.

Nowadays tuition services are not just to help those with poor grades to improve from FAIL to PASS. It does way way more than just that.

It provides services for students with different abilities and parents with different ksi© who want their children to imrpove
            - from Good to Better (gooder for vk2010)
            - from Better (gooder) to Best
            - and for the Best to stay at the Best

Ya, its really scary. 90+ still need tuition. I would be very happy if my children can score this kind of results.

Now, I understand, its really about what is our expectation, not what the children really need to have. Sorry, I don't mean to offend anyone. Just stating what I feel. :lightrod:

Imami

[quote=\"Mychildren]Now, I understand, its really about what is our expectation, not what the children really need to have. [/quote]

well said 😄

tutormum

I usually check which schools my students are from not cos I only take atas students. 😉 That will enable me to gauge the abilities of the child and expectations from their schools. Students from branded schools will need more help to meet their schools' standard. Students from neighbourhood schools will need more explicit teaching and guidance to handle basic concepts. There is a difference in standards whether you accept it or not. If the gap is too big, some students will be bored while others will be struggling.

Also, knowing which schools the students are from, I will know what worksheets to prepare for them and plan my lessons according to what they would have learnt or not learnt in their own schools. I know which schools use which assessment books and won't want them to do exactly what their schools are doing.

There is no discrimination on my part cos in the end I would have forgotten which students are from which schools. 😆

I have a father who insisted that I put his son in the HA class cos his son was from the best class in his school. Later, I realised that his school was one of the bottom in Singapore. :roll: :faint: Moreover, his son was not able to follow my lesson cos he was inattentive not to mention that he was weak compared to the other students. I have a girl who readily go to the LA class and managed to move up to the HA class after her grades shown good progress.

As a tutor, my main responsibility is to make sure that students show improvements in their grades and do well for their PSLE. If a student has been an A student all along and comes for tuition to remain competitive and did well, honestly there's nothing for me to boast. However, when a student who failed all along but did well (beyond his/her ability), that's something for me to boast of. :boogie: :boogie: 🕺 🕺

Imami

[quote=\"Imami\"]

However, I wonder why the need to ask about the child's school and the class? Sterotyping here, isn't it? If my child is from atas school, then got hope. If neighbourhood school, no need to bother?

Maybe to allow them to haolian and say \"So & So from Atas So & So School's Atas So & So Class Attended our classes\".. and print BIG BIG in advertisements..

if not for advertisement purposes, I don't see the need to ask for the school. What to evaluate standard, just take a test. Period.

It could just be data collection so that the business head knows which school most of their kids hail from and from there plan their next branch location ? Expansion ... 🤷[/quote]then address shd do the job. Not all students stay near the schools they attend.

KSP

Imami:
                    Mychildren:

Now, I understand, its really about what is our expectation, not what the children really need to have.

well said 😄

at the end of the day parents are the ones paying for it.....

Imami

KSP:
                      I feel it is perfectly acceptable to ask for the child's background. So far i have made enquiries at 3 reputable Maths tuition centres. All asked for dd's school, level, last SA marks and 1 centre requires dd to sit for a test (i think all know who lah).

From these info they gathered, they can stream the child accordingly and most importantly can track how much improvement after the child has attended their tuition. KPI again....
                      If they have their own proficiency tests, do you still think it is necessary to ask about the school/class they attend?

KSP

Imami:
                        KSP:

I feel it is perfectly acceptable to ask for the child's background. So far i have made enquiries at 3 reputable Maths tuition centres. All asked for dd's school, level, last SA marks and 1 centre requires dd to sit for a test (i think all know who lah).

From these info they gathered, they can stream the child accordingly and most importantly can track how much improvement after the child has attended their tuition. KPI again....

If they have their own proficiency tests, do you still think it is necessary to ask about the school/class they attend?

i don't think is necessary but i will still give if they ask coz there is nothing to hide...

Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.

• 109 / 120