Asia spending billions on tutors: study

1.2k Posts 76 Posters 254.1k Views 1 Watching

[quote=\"Imami\"]

Yes definitely! No trashing someone's sharing/postings/questions. No describing someone's comments as rubbish or nonsense.

Our experience shapes our opinions. Sometimes we realize another perspective of thing when someone shares another point of view. May not be correct or factual but there is no need for hostility.

a nonsense is a nonsense and please don't pretend to be the truth. be mindful of other readers who are trying to find the right information

it is difficult to survive in this world if 'rubbish' and 'nonsense' is deemed hostile...to much mollycoddling

I feel it would be better if we can focus more on sharing information, whether factual or unverified (yet), and sharing/voicing opinions.. and not so much on judgement (w/o justification/evidence/proof/fact).

When Janet posts, she shares her experience/information and opinions. She does not appear to trying to influence or convince others of her opinion.

But when you post, you pass a judgement (so and so post \"rubbish/nonsense\") without justification. Sure, if you can produce HARD evidence/proof that what was posted is \"rubbish\", by all means, use that term \"rubbish\". But if it is only your own \"opinion\" that it is \"rubbish\", then, it demonstrates lack of respect, civility and gentleman to discredit/trash others contribution as such.

When one voice opinion or share information, it may not be necessary(or possible) to support with facts/proof. But when you pass judgement on someone's post, it is better to support with hard facts, if not, you risk losing respect.

For example.. (sorry, I don't want to post this but need to substantiate what I'm talking about).. Janet mentioned she heard that there are cases of non-NIE trained teachers (reader can decide themselves to believe or not). You discredit it as \"rubbish\" (or something along that line).. but later, other have somehow (if I follow correctly.. too much text to read..) proven that it is indeed possible (with links to MOE sites etc..). In this case, isn't it too early to just dismiss her comment w/o verification?

\"a nonsense is a nonsense and please don't pretend to be the truth. be mindful of other readers who are trying to find the right information\" - What is nonsense to you may not be nonsense, to others or in fact. You must be able to substantiate your judgement if you decide to pass one.

As long as one cannot prove that the information is factually wrong, one should not willfully pass a judgement and dismiss it as \"rubbish\".

JMHO..

I won't say I am not guilty of it.. but I try not to.. πŸ˜‰[/quote] :rotflmao:

you are right. why don't you say it to janet who seems likes to parrot others' teacher/MOE bashing without basis ?

well, she does not have to take it as \"hostile\" if she (or whoever) can stand on it, and defend it (which is expected). what she said regarding untrained teachers or teachers to be selected for NIE training is utter nonsense based on MOE guideline on NIE trainee teachers.

if she can't stand the heat and don't defend, than don't cry \"hostility\"
      Teachers are not NIE trained when they start teaching in schools...they are untrained teachers until the principals decide whether they deserve that chance. Some of these untrained teachers may never get that NIE training. This was what I heard from a reliable source :censored:
      \"until the principals decide whether they deserve the chance\" is utter nonsense and rubbish. No where in MOE and NIE websites say it is principals' decision. If MOE accepts the applicant, they will go for NIE training and be bonded since it is applied through MOE and presumably the applicant agreed to be sponsored by MOE. There are also other NIE students who are self-paying and not to be bonded to MOE. It is possible that the teachers may be untrained prior to NIE course, but it is also possible that new teachers sent to schools have prior NIE training because they were self-paying NIE students.

to make a sweeping statement (and frequently) without being pointed out as untruth will eventually render most info on this kiasuparents.com as mere gossips, even when other useful may be around.

I know, people usually does not like to be challenged

limlim

to make a sweeping statement (and frequently) without being pointed out as untruth will eventually render most info on this kiasuparents.com as mere gossips, even when other useful may be around.

I know, people usually does not like to be challenged
        It could be a genuine oversight.. right..? Not everyone writes \"very carefully\".. πŸ˜‰

And, for \"teacher don't teach well\".. well, 1 of my kids teacher is like that. We just share our experiences. You can't prove that it is untruth isn't it? of coz, sweeping statements is not good, but I am quite sure most reader don't read it as \"all teachers are like that\" (sweeping statement).. right? or mebbe.. YMMV........

You have a valid point that untruth statement should be pointed out.. but it doesn't necessary have to be done in a demeaning way right..?

Maybe a bit of sparks here and there is ok lah.. but if use too much heat too often will cause \"burnt\".. then the atmosphere not so \"fresh\" liao.

Mychildren

Mychildren:

I do have a friend who is a degree holder. But now at this age, still complaining about his parents and his colleagues. In fact, in whatever jobs he was in, he was always complaining about how he don't like his colleagues. He was in a reputable company in Singapore before. In the end, he left Singapore and migrated oversea.

I quote this example is that, I would rather my children be happy adults when they grow up instead of been the top 10 or one who win a lot of medals. Of course, they need to know how to make a living to feed themselves and their families. Riches or high achievements does not necessary bring happiness.

Its more important to teach them how to stand up again when meet with setbacks and overcome problems in a cheerful way.

Happen to know someone just past away when his kids are so small to know how to speak in proper sentences. Life is short, learn to treasure what we have. Now, I treating everyday as my last day on earth so that I would use my time wisely. :offtopic:

been the top 10 or one who win a lot of medals cannot be happy also meh ?

Oops, I should have written the above like this,\" I quote this example is that, I would rather my children be happy adults when they grow up instead of been the top 10 or one who win a lot of medals and not happy with their life.\"

Wow, its true to be very careful to write something here, if not others will be real :mad: !

No offense, be happy...... πŸ†’
          Nice weekends to all & don't let all these affect your mood.
          πŸ•Ί

It’s scorching hot…time for some American ginseng.

Cheers? :celebrate:

• iRabbitI Offline
                iRabbit

:hugs: for you janet_lee88..

I guess it's not easy to understand where you're coming from when you share your son's teachers practically doesn't teach at all and your son just doesn't learn anything in school (a VERY reputable school at that too!) and yet he can score when tutored. To be fair the teachers teach a class of over forty n the other is one to one tutoring.
                That's why janet said she needs to spend a whopping $2,000 a mth on her son's many tuitions, bcos they are the ones that EDUCATE her son. And she also posted that teachers giving tuition will keep 'special skills' for tuition alone. It's a good thing that her dd is in a diff sch from her ds, which means that she doesn't need to spend another $2,000 on her dd's tuition. Phew!

Whoa Janet,
                Paying this type of serious $, the all-boys sch down the road is all but in-the-pocket liao. Let us know the good news at the end of the year ok? :rahrah:

Cheers? :celebrate:

Take watermelon to cool down and cool off...American ginseng instead of chicken essence. Not to forget prickly powder.

Imami

Liddat not full calibre potency yet hor. :evil:

Yes, agree - not in full force yet.

Imami

[quote=\"Imami\"]

Sorry KSP, don't quite understand your comment. What is the linkage between parents paying and the parents expectation?

Do you mean if one expects more, one probably will need to fork out more?

are you a kid posting in this forum ?

I am not sure if her hubby/parents view her as a kid..

But I'm pretty sure she is a mummy by fact based on various postings.. πŸ˜‰[/quote] :rotflmao: :rotflmao: :rotflmao:

Limlim, u want to get poked? :pokeeye:

Imami

Imami:

Sorry KSP, don't quite understand your comment. What is the linkage between parents paying and the parents expectation?

Do you mean if one expects more, one probably will need to fork out more?

are you a kid posting in this forum ?

if I am paying for your tuition with my blood money, i expect you to improve the grades, whether you like it or not. That is my expectation of you and of the tutor to deliver it

Your kids are like that har? Because mine is not and I think many folks' kids are not too.

And I am not as jialat, I don't earn by selling or puking blood.

Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.

• 113 / 120